We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Let The Cats In?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Who Let The Cats In?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The first room that was assigned to us smelled horrible. It had a very pungent cat box odor that literally snapped our heads back upon entering the room.

The second room that we were given had a similar odor, but not as strong. So we reluctantly accepted that room; assuming that all other rooms in the hotel were going to possess the same odd smell. Not sure if it was from the wall paint that was used, the cheap rope-like twine carpeting, or the padding beneath the carpet. We never could not pinpoint the source of it because the odor just hung there throughout the entire room.

The wireless Wi-Fi connection was very poor in the rooms. Almost as enjoyable as having the old dial-up connections. Only two out of the five "business center" desktop computers were functional. Evidently, the Front Desk staff doesn't know a thing about rebooting them or whatever the hotel's Admin password is to fix things.

Room Tip: Get a room located closer to the main lobby if you want to improve your odds for having a decent Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent stay with our hotel. Reading what you have described greatly concerns me as General Manager. I know our team works hard to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable. We review all reviews with our team, positive, negative and neutural to take an opportunities as learinings. Our hotel is Pet free so I can assure you that we have not had any cat or dog guests, in our rooms.

Our internet in the hotel was upgraded this past January to allow more bandwith into the building, we do offer two levels of internet. Our complimentary internet is available for email browsing, and general web use. We do reccomend our 2nd tier service for more data heavy browsing, such as media sites, and browsing video sites, such as Netflix, this is available for a nominal fee of $4.95 per day.

Again, thank you for your reviewing your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
23
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Made overnight reservations for 2 rooms for this past Saturday into Sunday for $94 plus taxes, etc for each room INCLUDING a breakfast. I found out that a brunch had been arranged at a relative's home so I called to cancel the $10 per room breakfast charge. Spoke to a polite young man who then said the price would be $84. While checking in on Saturday was told that price was $94 and would not be changing. Is $10 a big deal, of course not, I just get annoyed when I feel I am getting ripped off. My suggestion is if you need to stay here and make any changes via email or phone to your reservation get them to send a copy of said changes and the new price to your email or phone so you have a copy to show the front desk personnel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Greetings from the Fair Oaks Fairfax Courtyard by Marriott, thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent stay. We read and review all feedback with our team, so that we can improve on any experiences that may not have been ideal. While our rates do change based on our occupancy and market conditions it does not sit well with me that you felt you were being "ripped off". We have reviewed this with our team and we hope to be able to host you the next time you are in Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stay here quite a bit when traveling to NoVA. The hotel has a great work space in the lobby and has quick breakfast and dinner options when you don't want to go out, and you can even grab a cocktail to unwind. Rooms are very clean and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent stay. We are glad you were able to experience our Bistro and lobby, we love seeing guests come out of their rooms to use the Bistro area. We invite them to Eat, Drink and Connect! We hope to host you again soon on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Years ago, when Marriott first introduced their Courtyard brand, I was blown away by heir commitment to a hotel that resembled a resort but went one step further by getting the ideas for what to offer there directly from business travelers.
It has been years since I stayed in one of the original floorplans of Courtyard, and although I do really like the newer Courtyards, when my wife and I stayed at this Fairfax Courtyard, it was a real treat. Best of all, I really love the Bistro and the Starbucks. Great food, great coffee! What can I add to that?
The service, the amenities, and the staff are top notch. And if you happen to be coming to Fairfax to visit your student at George Mason U, this is the closest hotel to both the university and to Fairfax's downtown (and you really should visit downtown if you haven't already).

Room Tip: Definitely get the upper floor for more quiet , less traffic (foot and vehicle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel. We are glad you were able to take a few moments to experience our Bistro. Our associates strive to provide excellent service, to all guests visiting our hotel. We appreciate your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. The rates were very reasonable and the staff was very friendly. The lobby is a nice place to relax and enjoy some Starbucks. The hotel was also close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the Fair Oaks Fairfax Courtyard by Marriott. We are so pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to host you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here on business right after the Gov't shutdown ended and all the rooms closer to D.C. had their Priceline rates jacked up. I paid the "standard" rate through Marriott.
Located near lots of shopping, eateries, even a WalMart!!. Rooms were smaller than a lot of Marriotts, and the "Free" WiFi in the room was good only for email (that's what the sign-up page said, and they were absolutely right! Pages were very slow to load, and any graphics really bogged it down.) The "Premium" WiFi connection costs five dollars and is supposed to handle streaming video. I didn't try it.

Bistro sandwich was acceptable, but pretty dry.
TV was very good with some HD channels.
Service rating I gave is low, because the girl at the desk was on the phone when I arrived and never acknowledged me for over 3 minutes (I timed it). I am of the opinion that a customer at the counter should be serviced before the 'phone calls. She should have politely asked the caller to "hold" while she checked me in. Just my opinion, you understand, but that should be the protocol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay with our hotel. We appreciate you reviewing your stay. We take all reviews and share them with our team as areas of improvment. We strive to pride warm and caring service to all of our guests, I am sorry you did not receive that during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Courtyard Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#13 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.