We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Courtyard.com
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for business travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stay here quite a bit when traveling to NoVA. The hotel has a great work space in the lobby and has quick breakfast and dinner options when you don't want to go out, and you can even grab a cocktail to unwind. Rooms are very clean and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent stay. We are glad you were able to experience our Bistro and lobby, we love seeing guests come out of their rooms to use the Bistro area. We invite them to Eat, Drink and Connect! We hope to host you again soon on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
23
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Years ago, when Marriott first introduced their Courtyard brand, I was blown away by heir commitment to a hotel that resembled a resort but went one step further by getting the ideas for what to offer there directly from business travelers.
It has been years since I stayed in one of the original floorplans of Courtyard, and although I do really like the newer Courtyards, when my wife and I stayed at this Fairfax Courtyard, it was a real treat. Best of all, I really love the Bistro and the Starbucks. Great food, great coffee! What can I add to that?
The service, the amenities, and the staff are top notch. And if you happen to be coming to Fairfax to visit your student at George Mason U, this is the closest hotel to both the university and to Fairfax's downtown (and you really should visit downtown if you haven't already).

Room Tip: Definitely get the upper floor for more quiet , less traffic (foot and vehicle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel. We are glad you were able to take a few moments to experience our Bistro. Our associates strive to provide excellent service, to all guests visiting our hotel. We appreciate your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. The rates were very reasonable and the staff was very friendly. The lobby is a nice place to relax and enjoy some Starbucks. The hotel was also close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the Fair Oaks Fairfax Courtyard by Marriott. We are so pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to host you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here on business right after the Gov't shutdown ended and all the rooms closer to D.C. had their Priceline rates jacked up. I paid the "standard" rate through Marriott.
Located near lots of shopping, eateries, even a WalMart!!. Rooms were smaller than a lot of Marriotts, and the "Free" WiFi in the room was good only for email (that's what the sign-up page said, and they were absolutely right! Pages were very slow to load, and any graphics really bogged it down.) The "Premium" WiFi connection costs five dollars and is supposed to handle streaming video. I didn't try it.

Bistro sandwich was acceptable, but pretty dry.
TV was very good with some HD channels.
Service rating I gave is low, because the girl at the desk was on the phone when I arrived and never acknowledged me for over 3 minutes (I timed it). I am of the opinion that a customer at the counter should be serviced before the 'phone calls. She should have politely asked the caller to "hold" while she checked me in. Just my opinion, you understand, but that should be the protocol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay with our hotel. We appreciate you reviewing your stay. We take all reviews and share them with our team as areas of improvment. We strive to pride warm and caring service to all of our guests, I am sorry you did not receive that during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall a very good stay. the reason for the 4 star rating is the lack of continental breakfast. the blow was greatly softened on our stay since the rate was only $59. since I think that rate was an anomaly, normal rates with no breakfast makes it 4-star. the check in and check out was smooth, the lady at the desk told us where to park for easiest room access, a nice detail to include without being asked. bed was comfy, internet worked well. all was good! grocery store next door as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your most recent stay. We hope to host you again upon your return to Fairfax, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Surprising interior design - looked more like a boutique hotel than your average chain hotel. Food bar was very good, a little expensive but good proportions, freshly prepared and delicious. Starbucks coffee. You could eat in the lounge area or take the food to your room. Rooms were nicely decorated with intelligent space planning. Lots of thoughtful touches and comfortable, separated shower and toilet from sink area, and an extra level above the sink to keep the space more organized. Extra pull out table under shelf in room to give you more space for a computer or eating. Was just there for a quick night so did not check out the rest of the amenities but it was a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel I enjoyed the photos you took during your stay. We hope to host you upon your return to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Courtyard Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.