We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Returning to the Original Courtyard Floorplan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved Returning to the Original Courtyard Floorplan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Years ago, when Marriott first introduced their Courtyard brand, I was blown away by heir commitment to a hotel that resembled a resort but went one step further by getting the ideas for what to offer there directly from business travelers.
It has been years since I stayed in one of the original floorplans of Courtyard, and although I do really like the newer Courtyards, when my wife and I stayed at this Fairfax Courtyard, it was a real treat. Best of all, I really love the Bistro and the Starbucks. Great food, great coffee! What can I add to that?
The service, the amenities, and the staff are top notch. And if you happen to be coming to Fairfax to visit your student at George Mason U, this is the closest hotel to both the university and to Fairfax's downtown (and you really should visit downtown if you haven't already).

Room Tip: Definitely get the upper floor for more quiet , less traffic (foot and vehicle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel. We are glad you were able to take a few moments to experience our Bistro. Our associates strive to provide excellent service, to all guests visiting our hotel. We appreciate your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. The rates were very reasonable and the staff was very friendly. The lobby is a nice place to relax and enjoy some Starbucks. The hotel was also close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the Fair Oaks Fairfax Courtyard by Marriott. We are so pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to host you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here on business right after the Gov't shutdown ended and all the rooms closer to D.C. had their Priceline rates jacked up. I paid the "standard" rate through Marriott.
Located near lots of shopping, eateries, even a WalMart!!. Rooms were smaller than a lot of Marriotts, and the "Free" WiFi in the room was good only for email (that's what the sign-up page said, and they were absolutely right! Pages were very slow to load, and any graphics really bogged it down.) The "Premium" WiFi connection costs five dollars and is supposed to handle streaming video. I didn't try it.

Bistro sandwich was acceptable, but pretty dry.
TV was very good with some HD channels.
Service rating I gave is low, because the girl at the desk was on the phone when I arrived and never acknowledged me for over 3 minutes (I timed it). I am of the opinion that a customer at the counter should be serviced before the 'phone calls. She should have politely asked the caller to "hold" while she checked me in. Just my opinion, you understand, but that should be the protocol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay with our hotel. We appreciate you reviewing your stay. We take all reviews and share them with our team as areas of improvment. We strive to pride warm and caring service to all of our guests, I am sorry you did not receive that during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall a very good stay. the reason for the 4 star rating is the lack of continental breakfast. the blow was greatly softened on our stay since the rate was only $59. since I think that rate was an anomaly, normal rates with no breakfast makes it 4-star. the check in and check out was smooth, the lady at the desk told us where to park for easiest room access, a nice detail to include without being asked. bed was comfy, internet worked well. all was good! grocery store next door as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your most recent stay. We hope to host you again upon your return to Fairfax, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Surprising interior design - looked more like a boutique hotel than your average chain hotel. Food bar was very good, a little expensive but good proportions, freshly prepared and delicious. Starbucks coffee. You could eat in the lounge area or take the food to your room. Rooms were nicely decorated with intelligent space planning. Lots of thoughtful touches and comfortable, separated shower and toilet from sink area, and an extra level above the sink to keep the space more organized. Extra pull out table under shelf in room to give you more space for a computer or eating. Was just there for a quick night so did not check out the rest of the amenities but it was a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel I enjoyed the photos you took during your stay. We hope to host you upon your return to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My work took me to Fairfax for a short two day work trip. The ride from Dulles International airport was not excessive; however it is easy to see that traffic can be a major problem in the greater DC area. The check-in staff was efficient and courteous. My plan did not include breakfast and I did not use the spa, work-out room or pool so I cannot comment on the worth of quality of these. The location is convenient as a Giant grocery store is adjacent. For those not familiar with the Kroger branded Giant grocery chain the stores cover the full range of grocery and pharmacy needs. The hotel property was very well maintained and the trees, grass and shrubs were nearly perfect in all cases. The main building is brick and blends into the area and theme/style of the adjacent buildings very well. The parking lot is well paved and appears to have good drainage. There are a few restaurants in the area, notably Wendy’s which is only a five minute walk to the south. There are also an abundance of gasoline filling stations which make it easy to procure gasoline for a car should you have driven one to the property.

Room Tip: sits off the busy Jackson-Lee road so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The good - The room was clean, plenty of towels, good TV. The not so good - The bed needs to be replaced. 'Twas a king size and both of us awoke with back aches. No complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, they do have a breakfast but it's a bit pricey for what you get. We might consider this again vbut we'll check around first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.