We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice, but small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here on business right after the Gov't shutdown ended and all the rooms closer to D.C. had their Priceline rates jacked up. I paid the "standard" rate through Marriott.
Located near lots of shopping, eateries, even a WalMart!!. Rooms were smaller than a lot of Marriotts, and the "Free" WiFi in the room was good only for email (that's what the sign-up page said, and they were absolutely right! Pages were very slow to load, and any graphics really bogged it down.) The "Premium" WiFi connection costs five dollars and is supposed to handle streaming video. I didn't try it.

Bistro sandwich was acceptable, but pretty dry.
TV was very good with some HD channels.
Service rating I gave is low, because the girl at the desk was on the phone when I arrived and never acknowledged me for over 3 minutes (I timed it). I am of the opinion that a customer at the counter should be serviced before the 'phone calls. She should have politely asked the caller to "hold" while she checked me in. Just my opinion, you understand, but that should be the protocol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay with our hotel. We appreciate you reviewing your stay. We take all reviews and share them with our team as areas of improvment. We strive to pride warm and caring service to all of our guests, I am sorry you did not receive that during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
23
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall a very good stay. the reason for the 4 star rating is the lack of continental breakfast. the blow was greatly softened on our stay since the rate was only $59. since I think that rate was an anomaly, normal rates with no breakfast makes it 4-star. the check in and check out was smooth, the lady at the desk told us where to park for easiest room access, a nice detail to include without being asked. bed was comfy, internet worked well. all was good! grocery store next door as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your most recent stay. We hope to host you again upon your return to Fairfax, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Surprising interior design - looked more like a boutique hotel than your average chain hotel. Food bar was very good, a little expensive but good proportions, freshly prepared and delicious. Starbucks coffee. You could eat in the lounge area or take the food to your room. Rooms were nicely decorated with intelligent space planning. Lots of thoughtful touches and comfortable, separated shower and toilet from sink area, and an extra level above the sink to keep the space more organized. Extra pull out table under shelf in room to give you more space for a computer or eating. Was just there for a quick night so did not check out the rest of the amenities but it was a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel I enjoyed the photos you took during your stay. We hope to host you upon your return to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My work took me to Fairfax for a short two day work trip. The ride from Dulles International airport was not excessive; however it is easy to see that traffic can be a major problem in the greater DC area. The check-in staff was efficient and courteous. My plan did not include breakfast and I did not use the spa, work-out room or pool so I cannot comment on the worth of quality of these. The location is convenient as a Giant grocery store is adjacent. For those not familiar with the Kroger branded Giant grocery chain the stores cover the full range of grocery and pharmacy needs. The hotel property was very well maintained and the trees, grass and shrubs were nearly perfect in all cases. The main building is brick and blends into the area and theme/style of the adjacent buildings very well. The parking lot is well paved and appears to have good drainage. There are a few restaurants in the area, notably Wendy’s which is only a five minute walk to the south. There are also an abundance of gasoline filling stations which make it easy to procure gasoline for a car should you have driven one to the property.

Room Tip: sits off the busy Jackson-Lee road so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The good - The room was clean, plenty of towels, good TV. The not so good - The bed needs to be replaced. 'Twas a king size and both of us awoke with back aches. No complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, they do have a breakfast but it's a bit pricey for what you get. We might consider this again vbut we'll check around first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomba4u
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are a family of five and stayed here one night over this past Memorial Day weekend for a family trip to DC. Saturday morning we drove from NY to DC area and parked for the day in downtown area ($12). After a long day we drove the 25-30 minutes to this hotel for our one night stay.

Check in was fine without any issues. They accommodated our request to have our room adjoined with the friends we were traveling with. The hotel is clean and quite. For the price point ($129) my opinion it is well worth the drive out of DC for a nice rest before another fun filled day in DC. Especially with the kids. We would have spent double the money to stay in the DC area. There were no parking fees or internet fees here either which was nice.

We booked a king suite which has a pull out couch in one room and a king in a separate room. The little guy (six) slept in the bed with us and the two older ones (9 and 11) slept on the pull out. The mattresses on the King was very comfortable. Normally my back would bother me after a night on these hotel mattresses.

Friends of ours had the same sleeping arrangement without the separate room for $20 less. (Their room adjoined ours which was also nice as the kids all killed each other in one room and we hung out living area of the suite.).

As stated above for the price point well worth the stay and drive back and forth to DC. Would stay here again for our next family trip to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice stay, friendly staff.
Room was standard king bed room which we got for $109 through hotels.com. There's a grocery store next door and a nice shopping plaza close by. We didn't have any problems except that one of our keys stopped working but that was not a big deal. We ate breakfast at the cafe in the morning. $20 for 2 breakfast sandwiches and two drinks and they come with fresh fruit cups. They close at 10am, which caught some late comers off guard. Check out is at noon. It seems like each room has a balcony which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Courtyard Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#13 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.