We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short Business trip to Fairfax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Grove, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“short Business trip to Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My work took me to Fairfax for a short two day work trip. The ride from Dulles International airport was not excessive; however it is easy to see that traffic can be a major problem in the greater DC area. The check-in staff was efficient and courteous. My plan did not include breakfast and I did not use the spa, work-out room or pool so I cannot comment on the worth of quality of these. The location is convenient as a Giant grocery store is adjacent. For those not familiar with the Kroger branded Giant grocery chain the stores cover the full range of grocery and pharmacy needs. The hotel property was very well maintained and the trees, grass and shrubs were nearly perfect in all cases. The main building is brick and blends into the area and theme/style of the adjacent buildings very well. The parking lot is well paved and appears to have good drainage. There are a few restaurants in the area, notably Wendy’s which is only a five minute walk to the south. There are also an abundance of gasoline filling stations which make it easy to procure gasoline for a car should you have driven one to the property.

Room Tip: sits off the busy Jackson-Lee road so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
28
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The good - The room was clean, plenty of towels, good TV. The not so good - The bed needs to be replaced. 'Twas a king size and both of us awoke with back aches. No complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, they do have a breakfast but it's a bit pricey for what you get. We might consider this again vbut we'll check around first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomba4u
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are a family of five and stayed here one night over this past Memorial Day weekend for a family trip to DC. Saturday morning we drove from NY to DC area and parked for the day in downtown area ($12). After a long day we drove the 25-30 minutes to this hotel for our one night stay.

Check in was fine without any issues. They accommodated our request to have our room adjoined with the friends we were traveling with. The hotel is clean and quite. For the price point ($129) my opinion it is well worth the drive out of DC for a nice rest before another fun filled day in DC. Especially with the kids. We would have spent double the money to stay in the DC area. There were no parking fees or internet fees here either which was nice.

We booked a king suite which has a pull out couch in one room and a king in a separate room. The little guy (six) slept in the bed with us and the two older ones (9 and 11) slept on the pull out. The mattresses on the King was very comfortable. Normally my back would bother me after a night on these hotel mattresses.

Friends of ours had the same sleeping arrangement without the separate room for $20 less. (Their room adjoined ours which was also nice as the kids all killed each other in one room and we hung out living area of the suite.).

As stated above for the price point well worth the stay and drive back and forth to DC. Would stay here again for our next family trip to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice stay, friendly staff.
Room was standard king bed room which we got for $109 through hotels.com. There's a grocery store next door and a nice shopping plaza close by. We didn't have any problems except that one of our keys stopped working but that was not a big deal. We ate breakfast at the cafe in the morning. $20 for 2 breakfast sandwiches and two drinks and they come with fresh fruit cups. They close at 10am, which caught some late comers off guard. Check out is at noon. It seems like each room has a balcony which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was on business trip staying Sunday through Thursday. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was superior in customer service and satisfaction from sunrise to midnight! The breakfast bar and service was a great way to start the day as well as dinner dining. Conveniently located in walking distance to the Fair Oaks mall which offers excellent dining experiences as well. If you must be home away from home, the staff of this hotel insures a elegant, pleasant and memorable stay. The service warranted a personal thank you to management on the way out....

Room Tip: As a courtyard, I was on the interior side which was great. One side of motel faces busy Rt. 50 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is a great location for a family trip to Washington, DC. We stayed here both trips we made to DC and found it easy to access I-66 for a quick 25-minute drive into the city. It was easy to find our way back to the hotel too. Plus, being right next door to Giant Foods made it easy to pick up snacks and a light breakfast if needed.

Jennifer at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. We had a long drive, and I requested extra towels, shampoo, etc. after we got to our room. She was quick to respond and help us out.

Also, Jesus in Engineering, unfortunately, had to be called to our room a couple of times because of plumbing issues. He performed his job quickly and with a smile. I know that is difficult job, but he does it well. Maintenance issues are just part of operating a hotel, but it's the quick response by staff members like Jesus that keeps the problem from getting out of hand.

Ciara (did I spell that right?) in the Bistro was so nice. When I came down on Sunday to get some coffee, she saw that the free coffee was empty. So she just took it upon herself to pour me a cup of Starbucks from the Bistro and send me on my way. Great customer service!

We'll definitely return to this property because of these three people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been staying here for almost 10 years beginning when our son started at GMU. We've tried most of the hotels in Fairfax but for now, this is our choice. Nice building and landscaping. There is a Metro Bus stop in front and a CUE bus (to Metro) on the nearest side street. Clean and comfortable. Nice, safe business park behind to walk in the morning. Food is available in the lobby area. Supermarket right next door. Shopping mall and restaurants nearby. We love it. NOTE: You need to stay Th, Fr, Sat, Sun or Th, Fr, Sat to get the best rate. Any other time, WoW, you get blasted with the business rate and it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Third floor inside facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.