We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was on business trip staying Sunday through Thursday. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was superior in customer service and satisfaction from sunrise to midnight! The breakfast bar and service was a great way to start the day as well as dinner dining. Conveniently located in walking distance to the Fair Oaks mall which offers excellent dining experiences as well. If you must be home away from home, the staff of this hotel insures a elegant, pleasant and memorable stay. The service warranted a personal thank you to management on the way out....

Room Tip: As a courtyard, I was on the interior side which was great. One side of motel faces busy Rt. 50 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is a great location for a family trip to Washington, DC. We stayed here both trips we made to DC and found it easy to access I-66 for a quick 25-minute drive into the city. It was easy to find our way back to the hotel too. Plus, being right next door to Giant Foods made it easy to pick up snacks and a light breakfast if needed.

Jennifer at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. We had a long drive, and I requested extra towels, shampoo, etc. after we got to our room. She was quick to respond and help us out.

Also, Jesus in Engineering, unfortunately, had to be called to our room a couple of times because of plumbing issues. He performed his job quickly and with a smile. I know that is difficult job, but he does it well. Maintenance issues are just part of operating a hotel, but it's the quick response by staff members like Jesus that keeps the problem from getting out of hand.

Ciara (did I spell that right?) in the Bistro was so nice. When I came down on Sunday to get some coffee, she saw that the free coffee was empty. So she just took it upon herself to pour me a cup of Starbucks from the Bistro and send me on my way. Great customer service!

We'll definitely return to this property because of these three people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been staying here for almost 10 years beginning when our son started at GMU. We've tried most of the hotels in Fairfax but for now, this is our choice. Nice building and landscaping. There is a Metro Bus stop in front and a CUE bus (to Metro) on the nearest side street. Clean and comfortable. Nice, safe business park behind to walk in the morning. Food is available in the lobby area. Supermarket right next door. Shopping mall and restaurants nearby. We love it. NOTE: You need to stay Th, Fr, Sat, Sun or Th, Fr, Sat to get the best rate. Any other time, WoW, you get blasted with the business rate and it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Third floor inside facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Paper thin walls, I could hear laughing and talking all night from the room next door, then the guests decided to take their antics to the balcony. The balcony door to my room was not secure, even when locked. It could still be opened to the noise outside. I was on the third floor, but still unsettling. I checked in late, so trying to change rooms after a long day was not in my interest in the least bit. Sirens blaring all night seemed to be in the parking lot. Not a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is an older one that has been remodeled. They gave me a key to my room that didn't work when I first checked in and had to go back to the front desk for a new one. The new key sent me to a room with propped open door and wet floors. Back down for a new room, the new room was so-so until the next morning when a mouse ran across my foot and two more scurried across the room! Thy did comp my room and took care of my stay at another hotel, so I was taken care of.

Room Tip: Go to the residence inn right around the corner. Very very very nice with nice finishings throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend getaway to DC (and also to see the NRA Museum). We were able to check in early, which was nice. The room was very clean, however, had the same problem with the light switches at the Courtyard we stayed at in Richmond- they are really awkwardly placed for the toilet/shower area and sink/closet area.

There must have been a large group of girls' sport teams or something staying here, because there was ALOT of children's noise from running in the halls, banging on doors, shouting, etc. The walls are PAPER THIN. Luckily, it stopped around 10:30 pm, but it started again at 7:30 am the next day!!!

Also, the housekeeping came into our room (WITHOUT knocking) at 9 am. . ..luckily, the security latch stopped here! Really? 9 am on a Sunday? She also came by at 9:30 am. . .at least, this time knocking.

One of the reasons we booked this particular Courtyard was that they had a pool and hot tub. . .the pool is advertised to open at 10 am. Well. . .it wasn't, and the hot tub was broken/under construction- we could see lots of yellow construction tape around it.

The housekeeping lady was waiting outside our room when we left. It made us feel really, really rushed. . .and we left at 10:30 am! Come on!

Definitely would not stay here again, when there are so many options in the area. The hotel was packed, though.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second or third floor, away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here to attend a dance competition. It was a very nice and clean hotel. Very quite and located near plenty of stores. The staff was very friendly and the starbucks inside was very helpful for early mornings. I would recommend this hotel. Check in and check out was easy. It look older on the outside but was definitely updated on the inside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.