We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here to attend a dance competition. It was a very nice and clean hotel. Very quite and located near plenty of stores. The staff was very friendly and the starbucks inside was very helpful for early mornings. I would recommend this hotel. Check in and check out was easy. It look older on the outside but was definitely updated on the inside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend business trip. The location was a bit difficult to find, and when my GPS was having issues, I called the hotel. The woman who I spoke with was unable to assist with directions, and ultimately I was only five minutes from the hotel.

It does appear that the rooms have been somewhat remodeled, although as another reviewer mentioned, the AC system leaves a lot to be desired.

The rate was quite reasonable, especially for being that close to D.C.

Room Tip: It's much quieter with higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is an older property that has definitely been remodeled with a modern design. From what I can tell they have new wallpaper, new furniture, and new carpet. The room I stayed in had an air system that was below par. When I switched the fan to high and put the thermostat on 68, it took almost an hour to get the room to that temperature (mostly because the high fan was like a stiff breeze). The bathroom needs work as well. The toilet was old and did not work well. The shower was old with little place to put toiletries and the ventilation did not work well.
On a positive note, the bed was comfortable. I almost wish I could have taken it home with me. The internet was free and fast. The staff was friendly and efficient. If you book on the weekend, you can get a rather cheap rate (around $76/night).
I wish they would make the repairs so I could give them a 5/5. Even though this place needs some work, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, otherwise you'll end up looking at the grocery store or bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Marriott Courtyard has been at this location for a number of years. The hotel has undergone several renovations and is in pretty good shape. The staff is friendly and helpful when requested.

The rooms are quiet, comfortable and the bedding and linen were adequate.

This Courtyard offers a limited service bar/restaurant that is reasonably priced. However as noted in other reviews, service is slow.

The location is excellent, adjacent to I-66 and State Route 50. This is convenient for a visit to Washington, DC or the near by George Mason University. Fair Oaks Shopping Mall is a short car ride away.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room facing the courtyard. Rooms 117, 118 and 119 are located near the exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family & got 3 rooms for an overnight stay. We had a day trip to visit the memorials in DC & stayed at the hotel to rest so we can tour the Smithsonian museums the next day.
Pros
- Room and bathroom was spacious & clean.
- bed & pillows were comfy
- free starbucks coffee in the room for brewing. Starbucks Brewed coffee was also served in the lobby in the morning.
- climate control on the room
- just 10 miles from DC
- free parking near the lobby
- free wifi
Cons
- not a lot of food options, we had to go out & ate at a food complex a few minutes away
- breakfast service was too slow, it looked like they only had 2 people getting the orders & cooking at the same time.

Overall, we were able to rest well for our DC trip when we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Perhaps arriving very late tainted my view of the room. The sink had a large crack, the toilet required multiple flushes to fully engage, its seat was smaller than the bowl and the mustard yellow wallpaper left the impression of age. The 1960s modern decor added to the impression the room needed remolding.

On the other hand, the service was impeccable, and the selection of food for breakfast healthy and quick. The choice of the Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal and USA Today was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms and the facilities were nice, clean, and reasonably priced and I wanted to give 4 stars but several of the employees at the front desk were kind of rude, hence the 3 stars instead of 4. There were two of us here on business (separate rooms) and we each stayed two nights. One of the evening front desk employees would not answer simple questions in a straightforward manner and had an attitude. (A simple "I don't know" would have been ok, but rudeness is not.) The day we left we asked for a late checkout of 12:30pm and they were nice enough to grant it (the hotel was not busy), but didn't let us know that the key cards automatically stop working at 12 noon whether you have a later checkout or not. I had about 30 minutes to spare before my taxi arrived so I walked around the facility but then couldn't get into my room to get my luggage. I had to have the front desk reset my card but the way the employee spoke to me it sounded like I should have known that would happen. Bottom line is stay here if it's very close to where you want to be or you have a car. If not, it's not very conveniently located and you may end up paying a lot in taxi fares.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.