We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for the Metro DC Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the Metro DC Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Marriott Courtyard has been at this location for a number of years. The hotel has undergone several renovations and is in pretty good shape. The staff is friendly and helpful when requested.

The rooms are quiet, comfortable and the bedding and linen were adequate.

This Courtyard offers a limited service bar/restaurant that is reasonably priced. However as noted in other reviews, service is slow.

The location is excellent, adjacent to I-66 and State Route 50. This is convenient for a visit to Washington, DC or the near by George Mason University. Fair Oaks Shopping Mall is a short car ride away.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room facing the courtyard. Rooms 117, 118 and 119 are located near the exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family & got 3 rooms for an overnight stay. We had a day trip to visit the memorials in DC & stayed at the hotel to rest so we can tour the Smithsonian museums the next day.
Pros
- Room and bathroom was spacious & clean.
- bed & pillows were comfy
- free starbucks coffee in the room for brewing. Starbucks Brewed coffee was also served in the lobby in the morning.
- climate control on the room
- just 10 miles from DC
- free parking near the lobby
- free wifi
Cons
- not a lot of food options, we had to go out & ate at a food complex a few minutes away
- breakfast service was too slow, it looked like they only had 2 people getting the orders & cooking at the same time.

Overall, we were able to rest well for our DC trip when we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Perhaps arriving very late tainted my view of the room. The sink had a large crack, the toilet required multiple flushes to fully engage, its seat was smaller than the bowl and the mustard yellow wallpaper left the impression of age. The 1960s modern decor added to the impression the room needed remolding.

On the other hand, the service was impeccable, and the selection of food for breakfast healthy and quick. The choice of the Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal and USA Today was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms and the facilities were nice, clean, and reasonably priced and I wanted to give 4 stars but several of the employees at the front desk were kind of rude, hence the 3 stars instead of 4. There were two of us here on business (separate rooms) and we each stayed two nights. One of the evening front desk employees would not answer simple questions in a straightforward manner and had an attitude. (A simple "I don't know" would have been ok, but rudeness is not.) The day we left we asked for a late checkout of 12:30pm and they were nice enough to grant it (the hotel was not busy), but didn't let us know that the key cards automatically stop working at 12 noon whether you have a later checkout or not. I had about 30 minutes to spare before my taxi arrived so I walked around the facility but then couldn't get into my room to get my luggage. I had to have the front desk reset my card but the way the employee spoke to me it sounded like I should have known that would happen. Bottom line is stay here if it's very close to where you want to be or you have a car. If not, it's not very conveniently located and you may end up paying a lot in taxi fares.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We usually try to stay at this Marriott Courtyard because of the great location. Weekend rates are very good, although they have continued to climb as the last couple of years have gone by. They have a nice work out room, a small restaurant and coffee in the morning. They recently stopped having coffee available in the lobby since they want to sell their Starbucks coffee in the restaurant. That was a disappointment. The rooms are always fresh and clean. Often times high school or college sports teamss stay at this hotel, so it is best to ask at the front desk when checking in to ask for a room on a quiet floor.

Room Tip: There is a Giant grocery store just across the parking lot which is nice to grab some carry out food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in Marriott Courtyard in Fairfax, VA for 3 weeks and found it a curse to hospitality industry since there are no exhaust fans in toilets. The front desk dont want to listen to you and behave like sheriffs of the hotel. Hotel has no shuttle service at all, breakfast serving to guests is upto the front desk if they like to add you or drop you in the morning breakfast list.Even Laundry is not free. Whenever i approached the front desk i found it empty and after awaiting if they show up they take the customer as a pain to them. I encountered everyone of them and no bodys approach was different from other towards guests. i think the the upper level management must visit it atleast once and put things right there otherwise the disgrace of the guests visting there will go forever. On checking out day i was told by the front desk that hold up amount from my credit card will be released in 10 days as i have to call my bank regarding the release of my hold up amount. I dont know who to blame of this staff attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here for a college visit to George Mason as well as visiting family/friends in DC area as well as sight seeing. Was a quick 10 minutes to Mason (primary reason for visit). We could have stayed closer to DC to be closer to our friends/relatives, but the cost/room increased exponentially as well as parking fees, etc. We were never more than a 25-35 minute drive to Arlington Cemetery, National Mall, or our other destinations, even with the ridiculous traffic closer to DC. It was also short 3 or so miles to metro stop to avoid the traffic. Location was excellent for us, rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable, quiet, and spacious, the Bistro was very good for our meals there, and the staff was excellent. Many other food choices/shopping close by as well. The only ding was the two teenagers with us for college trip wanted to swim to relax/cool off and the pool had very limited hours (5pm-10pm) open that didn't coincide with our plans. Otherwise an excellent choice and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.