We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when visiting Northern VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when visiting Northern VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We usually try to stay at this Marriott Courtyard because of the great location. Weekend rates are very good, although they have continued to climb as the last couple of years have gone by. They have a nice work out room, a small restaurant and coffee in the morning. They recently stopped having coffee available in the lobby since they want to sell their Starbucks coffee in the restaurant. That was a disappointment. The rooms are always fresh and clean. Often times high school or college sports teamss stay at this hotel, so it is best to ask at the front desk when checking in to ask for a room on a quiet floor.

Room Tip: There is a Giant grocery store just across the parking lot which is nice to grab some carry out food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
28
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in Marriott Courtyard in Fairfax, VA for 3 weeks and found it a curse to hospitality industry since there are no exhaust fans in toilets. The front desk dont want to listen to you and behave like sheriffs of the hotel. Hotel has no shuttle service at all, breakfast serving to guests is upto the front desk if they like to add you or drop you in the morning breakfast list.Even Laundry is not free. Whenever i approached the front desk i found it empty and after awaiting if they show up they take the customer as a pain to them. I encountered everyone of them and no bodys approach was different from other towards guests. i think the the upper level management must visit it atleast once and put things right there otherwise the disgrace of the guests visting there will go forever. On checking out day i was told by the front desk that hold up amount from my credit card will be released in 10 days as i have to call my bank regarding the release of my hold up amount. I dont know who to blame of this staff attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here for a college visit to George Mason as well as visiting family/friends in DC area as well as sight seeing. Was a quick 10 minutes to Mason (primary reason for visit). We could have stayed closer to DC to be closer to our friends/relatives, but the cost/room increased exponentially as well as parking fees, etc. We were never more than a 25-35 minute drive to Arlington Cemetery, National Mall, or our other destinations, even with the ridiculous traffic closer to DC. It was also short 3 or so miles to metro stop to avoid the traffic. Location was excellent for us, rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable, quiet, and spacious, the Bistro was very good for our meals there, and the staff was excellent. Many other food choices/shopping close by as well. The only ding was the two teenagers with us for college trip wanted to swim to relax/cool off and the pool had very limited hours (5pm-10pm) open that didn't coincide with our plans. Otherwise an excellent choice and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the perfect Courtyard for the price and location to DC. The rail system was about 3 miles away and driving into DC was about 20 minutes. We took the rail one day and decided for the price it was better to drive into DC over the course of 3 days. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. There was plenty of restaurants and shops near the hotel. The site had free parking and a restaurant. The only weird thing for us was seeing a lifeguard on duty for such a small pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent one night here before moving to another property (a night was added to my trip at the last minute, and I got this property for a very low rate on an opaque bidding website). Impeccably clean, free parking, encounters with staff very friendly, good location.

The one-star reduction? For one major user-unfriendliness that affected others though not me. As others noted here, the pool is not open during the day on weekdays, which I haven't seen in any other property. Think about it: you book this hotel for a summer DC-area stay with kids. It's a down day, so you get the kids all ready to swim, only to find the door locked and have the clerk say "opens at 5." (I saw this happen with a family before I checked out.) These unusual hours are only noted deep within the Marriott website, and not at all on third-party sites, which say things like "features an indoor pool with jacuzzi and a well-equipped gym." While I recognize that Courtyards are primarily business hotels, this one is not only in the DC area with its many tourists, but near a major university (George Mason), which also would draw visitors with families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel while on a business trip. The room was very spacious and clean.The room consisted of a comfortable king size bed, a sitting area with a sofa and desk, and a 40-42" Flat panel high def TV. The air condition was so quiet that I didn't realize that it was running. The hotel had an indoor pool and workout room which were nice. The onsite restaurant was nice, but somewhat expensive. I had a breakfast sandwich and coffee and the tab was around $10.00. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay was very nice. We had the king bed suite and it was awesome. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It had a mini-refrigerator and microwave.We thought a sink in the bar area would have been nice. The bathtub and toilet were a bit tight when the door was closed. They even Paul Mitchell products.We were told the whirlpool was broken but we noticed that it was working with people in it. The sign was still posted. We loved the comfortable bed. There was ample lighting in the rooms.

It's a nice hotel near I-66. There are no Metro stations near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.