We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Better than your average Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was tempted by the $60 (!) per night rate so stayed a bit further out in the suburbs than usual. More convenient than I would have suspected. Right off I-66 on RT 50 and ~ 30-40 minutes from DC depending on traffic and some extensive road work related lane closures on the highway. Lots of restaurants of all types within a few minutes drive and a Giant supermarket is right next door.
The hotel itself was in fine condition. No mold/mildew or other unpleasant surprises encountered. Wi Fi was a bit slow but not intolerable. Cleaning staff were as pleasant as I have encountered in quite some time. Coffee was always filled and hot- very fresh tasting as well. Plenty of parking.
Most certainly on the list when I return to the DC or Northern VA area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    63
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
28
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newland, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed here with my fiance and one of our friends on a spur-of-the-moment trip to DC for one night. We chose this hotel based on its great rates and the reviews here on tripadvisor, and we weren't disappointed. The service was prompt and friendly when I was checking in and out, and we were highly impressed with the rooms - very clean and up-to-date. The furniture was comfy, the tv was the best I've seen at a hotel in the past couple of years, and the AC worked well and quietly. I was especially impressed with the ethernet cables provided in a little bag in the (roomy) closet and the spacious, well-lit shower with a massaging shower head. My fiance and I took a quick dip in the pool and hot tub before we left - the pool is small, but it's well-kept and heated, and this is the ONLY hotel I've ever been to with a lifeguard on duty! The pool room was really pretty - towels draped and folded in aesthetically pleasing ways on tables and loungers, great view of the courtyard, great hot tub. All the common areas, like the hallways and lobby, were neat and fresh-looking. If we're back in the area any time soon, we'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a great place to stay while visiting DC. The breakfast was the best. The rooms clean and beds comfortable. I highly recommend this place. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The room was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. There were 5 feather pillows on each bed! There was free internet! The staff was extremely accommodating. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The staff was very helpful and explained to us the best way to get to DC from the hotel. The hotel is about an hour away from DC depending on the traffic. We found it best to take the subway to DC from here. The breakfast was ok with french toast and other cooked items for a fee. We will be staying here again the next time we visit DC.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed here while attending the US Open. I had a ground room floor with a small patio. The hotel was quiet and I never heard the people above me. The indoor pool was taken over by kids which was fine. There is a nice outdoor fireplace that I found relaxing at night. There is a small restaurant/bar that was pleasant and the food was fine. There are many good restaurants around although I found the hotel's list a little limited. I ate at Mazadar Khabob Restaurant about 1 mile away and it was excellent. This hotel was a bit better than many Courtyrads I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room (balcony/patio)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Physically, this hotel is lovely. The new, Asian-inspired decor is gorgeous. The staff is also fabulously friendly. But I booked this hotel as a conference attendee who needed to get a good night's sleep, and that's the one thing I didn't get. Every time the a/c unit kicked on, it was so loud -- like hearing a jet take off in your room -- I simply couldn't fall back to sleep. The management told me "that's just the way they sound," but in case I had an especially noisy unit, all I can say is: Do NOT sleep in Room 310.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.