We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9700 Fairfax Blvd., Fairfax, VA 22031 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Sykesville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. I stayed 2 nights and this recently renovated hotel was great and inexpensive. Very quaint. Rooms very well maintained. Bathrooms must have been recently upgraded. Very clean and staff extremely helpful. Only downside was the t.v. in my room had shaky reception on some channels. I would stay here again. Very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mayodan, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were looking for a lower cost motel in the Washington DC area for a one-night stay while traveling on motorcycles. Having your door open up right to your motorcycle was a plus. Rooms were clean and the beds comfortable for an older motel. No amenities - except wifi, which was nice to have. We brought our own hair dryer, so no problem for us. Don't need an alarm clock when they give you wake up call and we have cells and ipods. The owners/staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

For a place to sleep and not much else, this place is okay. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable even though the wallpaper was peeling off one of the walls. Price was okay and the parking right outside the room is convenient. The rooms are nice sized but the TV needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel price is somewhat lowards the cheaper end in Washington DC area, but considering the really lack of amenities (not even have an alarm clock, or hair dryer,) the cost is not that cheap.

Breakfast was minimum, just some bread and donuts. The hotel advertises "free coffee", but it was only available during breakfast time. It may not be available for the remaining of the day. The sole coffee pot we saw at the lobby in the evening we arrive was nowhere to be found the next evening. The staff was not welcoming.

The hotel changed to be a Rodeway Inn. Location is so so, a short drive from the Vienna Fairfax station where you can park your car. However, the weekend we stayed there, Metro shut down the line a couple more stations back before arriving Vienna Fairfax, so we ended up driving a lot more distance to a different station. Also, the restaurants around the area are more scattered and harder to find, so looking for food was not as convenient as in other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The staff is very friendly, but hotel is old motel..they are trying but it's just not going to work. Looks like they are in process of changing to another brand or just changed to Econo Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Was there for the Cherry Blossom Festival in DC. Stayed here and took the metro at Vienna Fairfax station (10 mins).

I like:
- the friendly, helpful and accomodating reception staff.
- convenient location (Asian restaurants,McD and 7Eleven nearby)
- availability of hot water/coffee/chocolate drink all the time at the lobby area
- the clean room, new bathroom
- free wifi

The only thing that I was not happy with is the fact that the non-smoking room is reeked with tobacco smell. But you can change to another room within 20 mins upon check-in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This just about passed muster but was very expensive considering the lack of amenities. The breakfast was awful so we went back to the room to eat our own food. The desk clerk was not particularly welcoming which doesn't set a good tone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#11 of 22 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 9700 Fairfax Blvd., Fairfax, VA 22031 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Fairfax
Econo Lodge Fairfax
Fairfax Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.