We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10860 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Stratford, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We will never stay anywhere else when in Viginia! Hampton is the place for us! We go to Virginia to see our Daughter who is in college in Virginia. It has been so nice to return there and the employees actually remember you! Thank you Hampton, for that family feeling!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
25
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I came for a short visit to my ailing brother, but he died while we were there. Since it was a Monday night, and the memorial service was on the following Saturday, we had to stay 5 days longer than we anticipated. While we waited, I threw my back out on Tuesday, and caught a stomach virus on Thursday. We were supposed to leave on Sunday morning, but my husband started up with the virus, and we couldn’t drive until Monday. During our unexpected, physically and emotionally uncomfortable 9-day stay, we found the staff to be friendly and competent, not to mention very sympathetic and helpful. The rooms were in good shape, surprisingly quiet and comfortable. For a hotel that size and price, the exercise room was impressive, with 4 brand new exercise machines, a universal gym and free weights. The free breakfast was pretty good in quality and variety, although after 8 days of their breakfast and then leftovers for lunch, I was glad to go home to cook. Considering what a crummy week we had on a personal level, I’ve got absolutely no complaints about this Hampton Inn and its staff! If I ever go to Virginia again, I’ll be happy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I rated this hotel "Poor" only because of the A/C units. This is a nice hotel with a good staff and location. However, the room air conditioners are too loud in this Hampton Inn and many others like it. Hilton has purchased and installed units that engage with a din that rivals Mac Trucks. The units have no way to allow the guest to enable the "always on" fan. The fan is only on when the unit responds to a call from the thermostat. When the unit compressor engages, there is a loud guttural grunt and bang. The result is a loud engagement sequence that sounds like a truck starting in your room. At 2.30 AM on the 8th cycle of on-off, the sound is more like a jet fighter. Good luck sleeping here or other Hampton Inns until they replace these units. You might as well try sleeping at the pump of a truck stop or the flight line of nearest jet fighter base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am sorry that it was not a positive one. We will take a look at the unit associated with your stay and make the necessary repair. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to provide you an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

almost a self-serve hotel. staff very unprofessional furniture falling apart, ... if you just want clean sheets and towels I guess this would make the cut. desk chair is not functional for desk -- so if you are planning to do any work it is uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing great service and an excellent product. I am sorry that we did not meet that goal with respect to your recent stay. We would love another chance at earning your business. If business or pleasure returns you to the Fairfax area please contact me directly and I will personally see to your reservation needs. Jim Fowler, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

the hotel is not horrible, but is not up to hampton inn standards in my opinion. the halls and rooms have a smell to them. I arrived late (midnight) and there were several guests ( men ) outside the entrance doors smoking, which felt awkward, especially when i had to bang on the door to have the hotel attendant /front desk guy release the lock.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am sorry you did not have a great experience at our Hampton Inn. We pride ourselves on providing an outstanding product and excellent service to all of our guests. The front desk agent should be on alert and available to all of our guests, even after hours. After hours we do utilize an intercom/buzzer system for arriving guests and folks that otherwise do not have their room key ready for entry. There is a sign to indicate how to gain access to the building after hours, but perhaps we should consider adding a larger one. I was unable to notice a smell in the halls or room where you stayed, but I received your comments days after your departure so the smell you noticed must have dissipated. Perhaps the smell was caused by the guests that were gathered outside in the designated smoking area upon your arrival. Again, I am sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one for you and we would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you that The Hampton Inn-Fairfax City is a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Hampton Inn beds are unusually comfortable. rooms well laid out. this one was "crisp"clean. shower head
very good but would have liked more pressure. hope there wasn't a water saver used. restaurants nearby.
breakfast was neat ,clean and friendly but have had more variety in other Hamptons as well as more space.
would stay again if in area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stay was normal, rooms were clean, but the breakfast was subpar. The items were barely warm, but the attendant quickly took care of it when we asked them about it. Front desk personal was especially helpful in navigating the area. Location is kind of weird.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Address: 10860 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fairfax City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fairfax City Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.