We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Centrally Located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10860 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Centrally Located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from a Thanksgiving week vacation and stayed part of the time in Fairfax. This hotel is not too far off the 495 freeway and close to many frequently travelled highways. The room was nice - clean, but couldn't control the heat. It was pretty stuffy and the air conditioning unit wouldn't work if the outside air was colder than the inside. The fact that it's November makes it obvious that the outside air would be colder. However, this was the only drawback. Staff is friendly, room was very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We particularly appreciate that all of the bedding (not just the sheets) are freshly cleaned. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. Nothing fancy, but gets you going. This hotel is worth the stay if you're trying to economize and want something not too far from DC, but away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    59
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
74
26
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the second time in 6 months, my husband and i were forced to leave our home because of power outages. In June it was the Derecho and in October the eastern storm. My calls to Hampton Inn, Fairfax City produced immediate help for scheduling a room with a kind, friendly and efficient staff,. In October we were lucky to find Rid U. who reserved a room with a soothing, gracious manner. I thought the price was high(it was). He explained that corporate set the rates and he did his best to discount in the best manner possible. When we arrived, Anne S was with him. She too was the soul of helpfulness and perfect customer service. She called for take away at the Anita's restaurant next door and when I went to pick it up, Anne's price quote saved me a mistaken over charge by the waitress. Sandy who is morning chef and breakfast coordinator is wonderful. The menu could use a dress-up (not Sandy's fault-she serves what corporate orders), but most of it is edible. The plastic utensils make us unhappy, but we see the reasoning for them. Maybe a discreet choice for older visitors?
Sandy handles it all with wit, grace and style. We thank her in so many ways.
The warm feel of a European style hotel with caring staff is a guarantee for visitors to return. The one thing that drove me crazy was the noise in the room of the heating generator. Whenever we turned the heat up or on it roared like an engine coming into town. The faucets in the bathroom were both running hot water at one point. One finally cleared and the other remained warm. Bottled water in the rooms would be nice. Valet staff to help with baggage and rolling carts is non existent at night. One person was on in the morning. We understand the no frills aspect, but late night help is important. A price point adjustment might be in order.

Room Tip: Simply suggest the type of room and floor level you want. The staff will comply.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my husband, and my in-laws stayed one night while we were in town for a funeral. Check in was smooth and quick. Room was large, clean, modern, and well-appointed. The bedding was clean and luxuriously cozy. Breakfast was a diverse buffet of options- not fancy but something for everyone. My only complaint in a minor one- the a/c in our room (220) was not working quite right and the fan wouldn't stay on. Other than that, and a bit of a hot water shortage in the morning, everything was great.

Also, check out the Italian place next door. They're great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clean, well managed Hampton Inn. Rates are more than reasonable for DC area. Internet was faster than most, health center was clean and equipment reasonable for a Hampton. Traffic around area is a nightmare, so use side street to cross main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff here are wonderful and a match for any 5-star hotel. They are friendly and accomodating. We spoke with the front desk a couple of times about some maintenance issues and each time got a knock on the door within 10 min. In truth, because of those minor issues, this should probably be a 4.5 rating but unfortunately, 4 or 5 are my choices.

Pros: Good breakfast with some hot items, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, lots of stuff nearby, fast Internet, well-maintained fitness room

Cons: Traffic around here is usually bad, even on weekends. No cold water in our room, only warm/hot water would come out. This only seems to be a problem at night, perhaps from too much hot water on tap. Also, the mini-fridge in our room acted more like a freezer. After realizing it was freezing everything, we turned it down to 1-2 which fixed the problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stay in Hampton Inns frequently and this one did not disappoint. It was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the woman making breakfast in the morning was very nice and friendly. The room with free WIFI was clean, smelled good and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in Fairfax, Va for business. I had a terrible stay and will never stay at this hotel again. I checked into the Hotel and my credit card was declined, the hotel staff stated that it was declined and had to call for authorization. I immediately called my credit card company and they had no record of the transaction. The card was declined before it was even set to Bank of America. I guess that Hampton Inn uses an internal credit card service and that service denied my card. I also had to change rooms in the middle of my stay due to a water leak. The gym was in a hotel room on the first floor, they said they were remodeling the gym. The traffic outside the hotel is terrible, expect to sit in traffic for 10-15 minutes to get anywhere 1-2 miles from the hotel. A terrible stay and the staff was not helpful in any way. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Recommend Hilton Garden Inn in Fairfax. I would also recommend the Marriott Residence Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am sorry your time with us wasn't more pleasant. I am not sure what the exact problem was with your credit card at check in, perhaps a line of communication was down and that is why we called directly and your bank had no immediate record of the request for authorization. This is not something that has happened in the past. I can certainly understand your frustration knowing that there is not a problem with your card and being asked to wait while we work the problem out. We were in the process of renovating our fitness center, which is now complete with all new equipment. In the interim we relocated all of our existing equipment to two converted guest rooms. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Regarding the water leak from the room above you, again I am sorry. I spoke with you directly regarding relocating your room and I was under the impression you understood the situation and it was not a problem for you to move rooms. However, when you couple the other issues together I certainly understand your overall frustration. I realize these issues may have caused us to lose you as a return guest, but we would love another opportunity to serve you and prove that what you experienced was not typical of the service and product we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Address: 10860 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fairfax City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fairfax City Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.