We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing its age but solid product” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes to your Saves list
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Showing its age but solid product”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel definitely shows some age, but it's still a Hyatt both on hard product and customer service.
It does have accepted way too many tourist groups, however. If that's the way it survives, let it be...but it does leave bad impressions for the guests.

Basically, the building is old, the lobby is nice, the hallway of the rooms is wide and has high ceilings, but obviously they are pretty old. The rooms, however, are nicer, which newer stuff. They are large and comfortable. I think all of them are suite sized.
Still, the appliance side is a bit out of date. The shower/tub combination is old, the bathroom is small.
The front desk agent was very nice. The system somehow passed my e-standby upgrade even if they sold out that day. So I got breakfast for two for 4 bucks more, which is money well spent.

The biggest problem with this hotel is that there are way too many "groups" staying here. Apart from tourist groups, I also see high school kids here for whatever reason. Anyways, this makes everything full, the pool, etc. They were having a pool baseball there using a foam stick as the bat and some sort of floatable bag as the ball -- a great fun for them but pretty much banning everyone else from using the pool...

The breakfast here is really, really nice. It's a full breakfast with quite a few hot items and lots of choices on the cold spread. Again, tour group was separated to use another room but they had been noisy, and...it just didn't feel right...

Overall very solid hotel, though showing its age, it is a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
64
31
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If this is one of signature Hyatt properties, it's not.

Pros:
1. Rooms are of a good size.
2. Clean

Cons:
1. Staff attitude. I felt like it's just a normal motel.
2. Walls are thin. I've called the reception 3 times the first night, because you can basically hear people from two sides. You hear doors banging.
3. Location. Well it's not really Fairfax Fairfax (It's Fair Lakes).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear vodkacran23,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Fairfax. The housekeepers do a great job with keeping the spacious rooms neat and clean! We hope you were able to enjoy your stay despite the noise disturbance you may have encountered. Thank you for taking the TripAdvisor survey and hopefully you will visit us again on your next trip to Fairfax.

Thanks again from the staff at Hyatt Fairfax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a tough hotel to rate. Hyatts are often older properties that really show their age (while demanding a premium price) and the newer Hyatt Place properties are very inconsistent. I am not entirely sure with this place if the glass is half-full or half-empty -- or both.

My room itself passed -- but barely -- my basic test of "Is it clean and does everything work as it should." Basically clean, yes. Not quite fresh and inviting and certainly you can't get any fresh air in your room here. Refrigerator but no microwave, as other have noted, and also as noted the bathroom is pretty small but certainly workable. Internet service was not only a horrible ripoff at $10/day but if you go to what passes for their "business center" you'll only get 15 minutes per day free before you are gouged. Bush league all the way here.

The so-called "business center" is a joke. Two computers (15 minutes free per day--ugh) and one printer that didn't work stuck in the lobby. Few name hotels today have business centers this bad. I lost a half-hour on a busy Saturday trying to print a shipping label with malfunctioning equipment. The daytime desk staff really tried to help me -- one young lady E-mailing the file to herself so she could print it at the desk -- but this was something that should not have happened in the first place had the business center been properly stocked and maintained. The nightside desk staff needs to be reminded that they work in the hospitality industry.

Lots of kids, sports teams and events here. Certainly OK for a night but really not much better than a new Fairfield Inn and in some instances not as good. Hyatt really struggles and it shouldn't have to. If they'd stop nickel and diming and focus more on delivering a consistent quality product, the reviews might be better. Frankly. there are Hyatt properties not as good as this and that isn't saying much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback through the TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through guest’s feedback such as yours that we can improve our customer service.

We are excited that we recently purchased refrigerators for all of our guest rooms and offer a microwave for guest usage in the Nova Market which is open 24 hours a day.

We appreciate you bringing to our attention that the Business Center printer didn’t work during your stay but the Front Desk agent was able to assist you in this instance. We will definitely have someone come out to fix that.

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Fairfax. We hope you will think of us on your next visit to Fairfax and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week while my husband was working in Fairfax. First, the PROs: very clean (someone was always mopping, vacuuming, gardening, etc), location is good (easy drive or even walk to restaurants, groceries), there was a fridge in the room (no microwave); there is free laundry on the top floor; the internet is free & worked well for 'hotel internet.' The CONs: you have to arrange in advance to get breakfast in your room rate (call hotel directly), otherwise it costs $18 for adults and $9 for children; the pool does not open until 5pm most days and you may only swim when the lifeguard is there, and Mon-Thurs, the lifeguard pulled out a big box of pool noodles & toys for my three children, but a different lifeguard on Friday told my son they had no toys (which was clearly a lie and as we were the only guests using the pool, I'm not sure why he lied about this); the doors SLAM if you aren't very careful, and we could hear anytime someone on our floor came or went. Overall, fine for business travel but not at all good if you have children with you. Kids like to swim, and their parents like free breakfasts, especially when all a kid eats is a half of a bagel (not worth $9!).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Greetings from the Hyatt Fairfax!

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hyatt Fairfax and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and let us know where we can make some improvements.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us but we are also disappointed to hear that you experienced some inconveniences. We offer an enhanced breakfast buffet which can be purchased as a package and may be included in your room rate. We also offer our child-friendly pool to all guests, however due to Fairfax County ordinance, a lifeguard must be present during pool hours. It is through guest’s feedback such as yours that we can improve our customer service.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Fairfax. We hope you will think of us on your next visit to Fairfax and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am staying at the Hyatt now. Room on floor 7. Room is a mini suite that is divided by a TV to a sitting area and desk. Great room layout, small bathroom. Coffee machine and brew needs to be upgraded. Great bed with a restful night. Walked a block to Jason's Deli. Great stay, nice hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and stayed in a block of rooms reserved for wedding guests. We thought that breakfast may be included so we went downstairs. As we walked towards the lobby, there were no signs indicating the price of breakfast. There were no signs ANYWHERE. We saw some friends of our sitting and as we approached the table, the waitress asked us if we would be joining our friends. She said nothing about the price, never showed us a menu. We said okay. We sat and got our food and realized that our friends had been given a check. We asked the waitress and she said, "You have to pay for breakfast unless it is included in your room stay." We said that we were in a wedding block so it probably was. She went to check. It wasn't and she said we had to pay $17 per person for breakfast. 20% gratuity was automatically added and the bill came out to about $100 for the four of us.

We went to the front desk to make sure this was right. We talked to the manager right away. She was rude, had NO people skills and basically told us that we had to pay. The waitress came over and said that she had asked us prior to seating whether or not we had the breakfast package. This NEVER happened. The manager basically said we were in the wrong and that we had to pay. Even though the waitress never said a thing about any package and there was not a single sign anywhere about the price of breakfast. And the spread looked like a normal, basic continental breakfast -- nothing special.

After packing, we decided to try again. We spoke to the manager again and she abruptly left in the middle of our conversation to go get the food and beverage manager. He was much more reasonable and said he was sorry that we were not informed and took off 50% of our bill. The manager came back while we were mid conversation and when the food and beverage manager informed her of his decision, she said, "They were told multiple times that their breakfast was not included by different people," and walked to the back.

This manager should not be in the hotel industry. I wish I got her name. I would call corporate and complain about her. She did not try to appease us in any way and was rude during the entire conversation. Not a single smile. I will NEVER be returning to this Hyatt again, let alone any other Hyatt. And I will not be recommending the Hyatt to any of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hyatt Fairfax and we appreciate you taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey to share your experience and letting us know where we can make some improvements.

I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience regarding breakfast. Breakfast is offered to all of our guests and may be included in your rate if it is booked with a package. We value you as our guest and your feedback is being used as a training and development tool so that our staff can provide outstanding customer service from this time forward.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback through our TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through guest’s feedback such as yours that we can improve our customer service. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Fairfax. We hope you will think of us on your next visit to Fairfax and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I like Hyatts and stay at them when I can so was a little surprised when the room weren't quite what I was used to and laid out a bit awkwardly. I was also surprised that most of the very few available TV channels were not HD (which may sound petty, but as a high volume traveler, it's the little things that make the difference). Bed was excellent and there was plenty of storage for my clothing. The biggest downside was that the kitchen was constantly out of menu and bar items, and that you had to wait in the front desk check-in line in order to pay for anything out of the coffee bar in the morning. I expected more from Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, Manager at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey. We are very happy to hear that the beds and the spacious closets were to your liking. I would also like to take this time to apologize for the deficiencies you experienced with food service during your stay.

We do appreciate your feedback and will certainly use it to improve the experience for our future guests. On behalf of everyone at Hyatt Fairfax, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to host your next visit to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.