We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes to your Saves list
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
King, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Place to Stay - Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great place to stop and spend a few nights. Room was clean, quiet, and the staff was very great, personal and professional. Parking was free and convenient. There were plenty of restaurants in the area, and some shopping close by if you're into that type of stuff. Nice area for friends to gather and have some social time together. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Dwight D,

Thank you for providing comments with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time as our guest. Our associates will be recognized for the professional service provided to you. Your referral is greatly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Fairfax.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    80
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
64
30
14
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Fairfax as it was very close to where we were having a training course. I found that the staff in the Hyatt were extremely friendly and helpful, and especially those working on the front desk. The room I had was on the 10th floor and was nice and quiet so I was well able to recover from my long haul flight. The room was clean and was nice and comfortable.

It's close to Dulles as well (taxi was $30) but not so close to any public transport. A Taxi to and from the Metro was costing around the $25 mark each way so that was an added expense that we didn't foresee in our trip planning.

There is a shuttle service available but it need to be booked early and we managed to use the service for a very local trip to a restaurant but it was not available for us in the mornings when we needed to get to the metro.

As a base for my training course in Fair Lakes I though it was excellent but as a center or a base for tourists wanting to get about without any rental car or transport of their own it is not ideal. There was also a lack of any visitor information leaflets in the lobby (metro maps, city maps, amenities, attractions etc..) A few of these would certainly have helped me choose a tour as the city of DC is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter or so it seemed when i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This Hyatt is located outside of DC, but still close enough to be convenient (and certainly a great value for the price). Rooms are spacious enough for our family of 4 (2 younger kids), and have good amenities (bath, flat screen TV). Plenty of parking in the parking lot as well.

It is located close to a retail mall in case you may need supplies during your trip.

It is also located within 10 or 15 minutes from the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center NASA Smithsonian museum, which has a great exhibition of planes, space shuttle, U-2, etc. The boys in the family loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the Hyatt Fairfax as the site for a 50th High School Reunion. The venue was perfect for our needs: hospitality suite, reception, dinner/dance, farewell breakfast. The guest rooms are roomy, mostly suites and clean. The food was great! The hotel's Nova Bar and Restaurant were perfect and a nice gathering place for participants. The hotel is located within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shopping. In addition, the hotel will provide transportation to Vienna metro and short distances from the hotel. Special thanks to Theresa King and James Lao for making it happen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kitty H,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your 50th high school reunion! Theresa and James will be recognized for the excellent service you experienced during your visit to our hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the area!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the Hyatt Fair Lakes taking advantage of their cheap summertime rates. The hotel is a little bit older than most Hyatt Hotels, the furniture in the rooms is quite worn as is the carpeting in the hallways but aside from that the quality is very good, with the usual comfort that you come to expect with a Hyatt hotel. My only critique was that despite asking for help with our luggage, no bellman ever showed up and we had to unload our quite substantial amount of luggage ourselves. The walls are rather thin, I could hear the person next door to me coughing so if you need 'dead quiet' this might be an issue, for us though it was no big deal. The breakfast is very good and well worth the value. We ended up booking 3 more nights there later in the week at the back end of our stay in the Fairfax area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and noise which on the weekends is considerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Traveled for the first time to Virginia was not used to traveling alone but Rebecca and the staff at Hyatt made me feel at home. The room was very nice and comfortable; sitting area with a rotating flat screen and a queen bed on the other side with a separate area with a desk for catching up with my work. The staff member Emmanuel (hope I got your name right) was very nice and polite when I would go order my dinner/snack from the market which was very convenient. The hotel is close to the Vienna Metro (2 miles) and with the shuttle service provided by the hotel made it possible to go and visit the National Mall. I definitely will be back but next time with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi vrosina,

Thank you for going out of your way to share with us your feedback from your most recent stay with us at the Hyatt Fairfax at Fair lakes. We are so happy to hear your experience in Virginia was comfortable and relaxing, and we are so excited our staff made you feel so welcome as if you were at home. Rebecca and Emmanuel will surely be recognized for their above and beyond customer service. We hope you will join us again for your next visit to Virginia!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.- Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Since this is mainly a business location, many families also utilize the facility for weddings, family reunions, etc. Very young (toddlers) children are left to run around in halls unsupervised between rooms (apparently family members are separated) very late at night disturbing business-people. This is not Disney so I was quite angry at these families and their lack of consideration for other guests. These type of guests should be limited to a "family" floor and travelling family members should be in rooms next to each other with the internal lockout door, to preclude this type of disturbance to the business guests

However, overall great service from all the staff. Rebecca and Andrew did a really great job, especially when the complementary ride service (not Hyatt affiliated) did not show up for a ride to the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.