We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give 2 1/2 Stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes to your Saves list
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wish I could give 2 1/2 Stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Great
Awesome Front desk staff!!! Very nice. Genuinely interested in taking care of guests.

Check in was fairly simple since there was no one else in the lobby, and I'd already taken advantage of their online check in.... I actually messed up the process by asking for a different room than what the system assigned me prior to check in. Problem with the online check in is that the system pays no attention to your special requests.... I asked for a room on a high floor. It assigned me a room on the 2nd floor.

They did give us a fridge for free. It's usually a $15 /day fee which I think is outrageous.
Great view from upper level room.

Restaurant staff was also very helpful. Choung (?) sat and talked with my 7yr old daughter and her friend for several minutes. Very personable. Also the french toast was quite dry not long after breakfast started so he had some fresh ones brought right out. Very good and tasty.

Bathroom in the room was surprisingly good. I thought I'd find all sorts of problems after seeing the rather mundane bedroom area but it was ok.

The Disappointing
The rooms are definitely outdated compared to the lobby. I wouldn't call it run down at all but definitely a few steps down from the VERY nicely renovated lobby. Several scratches on furniture.

Many reviewers said these rooms are spacious. I thought that they were surprisingly small.
Recommend the management invest in a couple of new luggage carts. The ones they have seen better days... quite beat up. Doesn't leave a good impression.

The Ugly
Pool area looks ALOT more inviting online than it actually is. Obviously not well kept or recently renovated. Made me think I was in a totally different hotel! The ceiling panels in the pool room were cracked and broken, several were missing. Not a good look! What hotel doesn't do some general maintenance to prepare for the busy upcoming pool season?
And can you say FILTHY FLOORS?! The pool itself was fine but the sitting area was horrible. Literally dirt and hair all over the floor. It was there the night we went and also the next morning when we came again. I know it's a big hotel but can the housekeeping Staff spend just a few minutes paying attention to the pool?

Also has very few chairs. Didn't seem that important when me, my daughter and her friend were there alone but as the evening wore on additional people came in and it was painfully obvious how small and unequipped the pool area is. I would HATE to be here on a busy vacation week!

Lastly, we had a very weird and rather disgusting issue when we asked for extra blankets and the housekeeping staff brought two blankets that we dubbed ‘homeless blankets’ because they looked like the hotel staff yanked them off of homeless people before bringing them to us. They were DISGUSTING! We of course immediately rejected them but thought maybe there was something illegal about hotels handing out blankets that disgusting looking. Thankfully Rebecca (awesome front desk, NOT rude housekeeping) brought us 2 brand new down blankets after we brought it to her attention.

Overall I really don’t think we’ll return

Room Tip: Upper level rooms not facing the ongoing construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
64
31
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

All staff members were really nice and helpful. We were happy to know that Rebecca (front desk ) knew how use sign language for deaf. so we can communiate very well Thank you Rebecca.
very nice housekeeping and close to restaurant and shopping.
we were there for my daugthers wedding so all my families and friends enjoyed staying there.
we love the bed matteress and pillows. we slept good! Please give me the name of matteress and pillow too

Room Tip: we satisfy where we stay at 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

All staff members were really nice and helpful - from checkin to checkout ... Guest rooms are a little worn but are modernized at the moment. Lobby, bar and restaurant were remodelled 1.5 years ago and they look great and have a great atmosphere.

Also available: outdoor patio with umbrellas and the permission to smoke.

Quite a few restaurants and the Fairfax mall nearby (5 mins walking distance)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money.
No negative issues at all.
Rebecca (front desk) was fantastic and very helpful.
The elevators were fast and always available.
I would definitely stay there again in the future.
Unfortunately, there were no safes in the rooms. Not a huge deal but somewhat inconvenient. Overall, good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decent price through Priceline for 1-night stay. Very nice housekeeping & front desk staff. Close to restaurants & shopping (Target, Walmart, Kohl's, Starbucks, smaller stores). Nice room with desk, sofa, king size bed. Won as 3.5* hotel, next time would probably bid on 3* as that level seems more likely to include free in-room wi fi and free breakfast, neither of which was included at Hyatt Fairfax. (wi fi $9.95)

Room Tip: construction adjacent to hotel, rooms on other side of hotel probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overall this is a good property, probably one of the better hotels in Fairfax. Rooms are rather large, and are more like suites than actual rooms-a definite plus. The hotel entrance is a bit dated, especially for a hotel of this caliber. Showers and bathrooms are ample.

Room Tip: Choose a room up top to have a nice view of the Fair Lakes area. View from the top is very nice, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Awesome and friendly staff! Thank you to: front desk staff: Erin ,milissa, Heidi , tony! You go above and beyond the call of duty! Assistant front desk Rani a big thank u. Cuing ( Food & Beverage Supervior) and staff. Awesome job! Gabriel. Rooming blocks are excellent!! :). Dennis Rorex. WorldStrides OSC

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback. Please know I have shared all of your kind words with the staff you mentioned in your review. I am excited that you had terrific experience. I look forward to your next stay at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.