We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy to get any sleep & no wi fi or refrigerators without additional charges make the price less attractive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes to your Saves list
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too noisy to get any sleep & no wi fi or refrigerators without additional charges make the price less attractive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are actually quite nice in layout for families. But they do not offer wi fi unless you pay $13 per night and refrigerators must be requested and paid for at $15 per stay. These are typical amenities at 2.5 star hotels so it makes no sense for a 3.5 star not to have them. They also pre auth your card for incidentals at a much higher rate than normal...$50 PER NIGHT. They apparently take in schools and other young adult trips but do not separate them from other guests and do not enforce decent behavior. I can not sleep due to noise although I've reported to the desk several times. I also have a sick child who has been woken twice, once by several people screaming very obscene words and running up and down the hall. Not a family hotel. It's geared more towards business travelers and large (obnoxious) groups.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
64
31
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Room was comfortable and spacious. Evidently they forgot to vacumn carpet as I kept picking up pieces of broken pretzel and throwing in trash. Bar area is really nice. Food was OK not great but numerous resturants in area. Entrance to hotel is actually on back side of parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a hotel that does the job of providing a reasonable standard of accommodation but there is not much else to recommend it. Seemed to cater for business and meeting delegates and when I stayed was full of large school groups. Public areas are comfortable and the bar food menu was very tasty. Generally the hotel lacked any real service " vibe". People were just doing their job. This was particularlly evident at breakfast where some of the staff seemed grumpy at best. The doorman was the exception to this he was positive, helpful and happy to go the extra mile. the hotel does have a shuttle that will take guests to the small shopping area nearby. Generally adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel offers consistent quality and staff is always ready to help with any issues. Rooms are older but well designed. The NOVA bar and grill, located in the lobby is one of the areas that could use some attention, food was not particularly good and bartender, though friendly, lacked communication skills and command of the english language. Location of the hotel is excellent, plenty of restaraunts, cafes, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a comfortable stay. My room, on the 14th floor, was laid out like a little mini-suite. There was an island in the middle of the room that separated the sleeping area from the sitting area, which included a desk, a sofa and an ottoman. The tv was on a pivot stand so it could be viewed from the sofa or the bed. The room was clean and comfortable, though I was surprised at how thin the walls were. I could hear the neighbors laughing and talking. Maybe they were being especially loud, but I was surprised. The lobby was very pretty, but I thought the hallways to the rooms had an institutional feel. Unfortunate choice of wallpaper that made it feel like cinderblock walls. The food in the restaurant wasn't bad, but I didn't appreciate being consigned to the bar to eat, just because I was dining alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hyatt Hotels seem to have lost their luxury factor. "The environment" has become an excuse for cost cutting. When we arrived at the hotel it was very difficult to find the entrance. We drove all the way around the building and the adjacent construction site twice, seeing the well marked employee entrance and "shuttle buses only" drive before finally parking four rows out into the rear lot and entering through what appeared to be the back guest entrance. There is no parking reserved for arriving guests and no bell stand or luggage assistance offered until you get inside all the way to the front desk (at the other end of the hotel) and by then it is much too late. It appears that the original lobby and motor court has now been converted to function space. The very nice indoor pool that sold us on the property was also rented out to a private function (a water fitness class) all day on Saturday leaving only 3 hours when it was open to the general public. Only problem, one of the students vomited in the pool so it was closed at night as well. Rooms could be very nice and were well laid out but showed excessive wear and tear. There was a small card on the vanity in 10 pt. type that said if you wanted your sheets and towels changed you needed to call to request it. Bathroom amenities were minimal. A bottle of Aquafina water had a $5 tag. In room "food delivery" was "modern" room service with items served in brown cardboard boxes with no lining and food appeared to be thrown into the box--imagine a slice of pie, whipped cream, and fresh fruit presented this way. Imagine a disassembled "club sandwich" with no lettuce or tomato but with a fried egg! Internet use also brings another fee. Breakfast buffet prices seemed high. In short, there is now no advantage to a 3.5 star property when you figure all the added fees, lack of proper hotel arrival area, conflicting private function rentals and no free breakfast. Companies like Courtyard, Hampton Inn, and Holiday Inn Express are a better value now.

Room Tip: There will soon be a major construction project on one side of the hotel. As for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt for a business meeting. I stayed on the 12th floor. The rooms were very nice. There is an island between the bedroom and the sitting area so it seemed like 2 different rooms. It was a very cozy setup. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The person that checked me in had a conversation with me during which time I found that he had stayed 5 hours past his shift. (He wasn't complaining, it was just part of our conversation) Even so, he was very pleasant and extremely nice. My company paid for it so I'm not sure how much the rooms cost so I can't comment on value but everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. It sounds like you had a great experience and found your room to be very comfortable. Your feedback regarding the staff is greatly appreciated. I’ll be sharing your comments with the staff letting them know you found their service to be very helpful. I hope that we can welcome you back to our property in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.