We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, comfortable accomodations for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes to your Saves list
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice, comfortable accomodations for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were most impressed with the room layout of a full size and king size beds separated by a low wall with a swivel tv. Sleeping was comfortable! We really miss a complimentary breakfast!

Room Tip: When we first arrived there was a Mexican soccer team of adolescent boys practicing in the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    108
    62
    20
    11
See reviews for
88
49
18
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed here for business at a conference.

The Good
Great Bathroom! Lots of room in the tub for placing shampoos, soaps and razors. Good towels and plenty of room on the vanity. A hair dryer, ironing board and iron are so helpful. I always love Portico soaps. The staff was incredibly friendly. There is a Whole Foods within walking distance. Good desk with work space in the room. The bartender (young guy, thin, brown hair...can't remember his name) was so personable, helpful, cool under pressure and just plain awesome! The layout of the bar area is wonderful for big groups. Plenty of light and places to talk and curl up on a couch.

The Bad
The coffee was bland and awkward to get at in the layout of the room. The food and bar closed early so the only option was ordering pizza for me after a late meeting. The blankets are really thin and they only provide a very thin extra blanket. You can control your heat/cooling but it took a while for the room to warm up. You might have a hard time figuring out where the front lobby is and, for that matter, where the entrance is located. Their signage is confusing. I got dropped off at the wrong entrance.

The Ugly
The water bottle prices were absurd! I think they wanted something like $8 a bottle for water. I mean, c'mon, Hyatt, really? A 850% mark up? That's ridiculous. Travelers: remember you can just get tap water which is safer than most bottled water in the US and use the ice from the hotel ice machine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a 3.5 star hotel with 2 star prices in a very expensive area. It is near all the shopping you could want! My only negative is that they charge for putting a fridge in the room :(

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location. We have a great property that is conveniently located near Fair Oaks Mall and the Fair Lakes shopping center. We do have a fee if a guest wants to request a refrigerator for their stay. However, this fee is waived if the refrigerator is needed for medical purposes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel during the Thanksgiving holiday. It was well priced and not terribly busy. Overall we had an excellent visit. The room was spacious and comfortable (if a bit awkwardly designed). Lounge staff was helpful and the drinks were good. It's not the nicest Hyatt I've ever seen, but it was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing away from the freeway. You can select the "quiet room" option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The internet here is so slow at times as to be unusable. A bandwidth test showed the speed at 40 Kbps (dial-up is 56). For an expensive hotel that many business travelers stay at, this is totally unacceptable! GET IN THE 21ST CENTURY! Would never stay here again. Hyatt lost a valuable customer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with our internet. Please rest assured this is not normally the case with our internet speed, however in times of high demand the internet may slow down as the company is trying to accommodate a large number of users. Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After a stay of few days, you may be tempted to rate this place as a variety of clinic for tired members of the Hyatt's group.

There you will meet with many kinds of employees with light disabilities: deaf-blindness, never-smilingness, congenital-laziness, wearing-old-clothesness, ....

Remember that room's cleaning remains an option you have to recall every morning to the reception... but if you are ***lucky*** the sheets could be changed one day out of three... Also, prepare to beg the waitresses on the knees if you like some 'extra' for breakfast, like a fresh orange juice instead of the acid like thing they usually serve.

Book this place immediately if you have some nostalgia of the Addams Family!

E;-°)))

Room Tip: Never book the hotel, under any pretext!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We appreciate you sharing this feedback from your stay. We're sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. This is not the level of service we strive for at Hyatt. We hope that you don't let this experience deter you from stay at Hyatt in the future as we would like the opportunity to show you the true Hyatt touch. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel. First, no hotel should still be charging for internet. Other hotels that have much nicer amenities include free internet and free breakfast. If this is allegedly a "full service" hotel, why aren't these included? Hyatt seems to think "full service" means overpriced restaurant in the hotel lobby. If the rate is so much higher at these supposedly top-tier hotels, then it should be inclusive of these basic amenities. Many other hotels such as Hilton Garden Inn and Marriott Residence Inn also have microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms (I guess that isn't "full service" worthy of a huge room rate).

The rooms at this Hyatt aren't even particularly nice: the air conditioner/heater is decades old and makes a rumbling noise, the windows make a cracking expanding noise when the sunlight hits them, the shower had hair on the ceiling, the shower curtain was about a foot or two too long and I was stepping on it in the tub, no microwave, no fridge, the buttons on the TV do not work, and the bed was like a hammock (sunk in the middle). I woke up with a back ache. Also, most of the rooms have adjoining doors and I had to move to one that was not adjoining because I could hear everything said in the adjoining room (including arguments and cursing). If I had to travel regularly for business, I would never stay at a regular Hyatt (or "full-service" Hilton or Marriott), and would also choose someplace like Residence Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Hyatt Place... new, comfortable, and with free basic amenities like internet, breakfast, and cookies in the evening.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, at least get a room that is not adjoining. The west-facing side is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear T W:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at our Hyatt Fair Lakes. We appreciate you sharing these details about your experience & we're sorry to learn this stay did not meet your expectations. Hyatt strives to make sure our guests have a good stay while in our hotels. We will make sure to pass a long your feedback to our General Manager, whom can review the process for housekeeping with making sure the bathroom is cleaned appropriately, along with maintenance checking the air conditioners for loud noises.

We hope this experience doesn't deter you from joining us at a Hyatt property again. We would like for you to give us a second chance to host you. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
#11 of 21 in Fairfax
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes

Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Circle, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.