We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Nice Stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Have stayed here several times either visiting in the area or en route to Florida. The hotel was clean, comfortable and secure. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. The breakfast and coffee hit the spot. The location is convenient to I-495 and there are plenty of restaurants and shops close by.

Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
29
23
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Elmhurst, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Although the hotel was very clean and the staff extremely nice and polite, there were a few things that I noticed.
1. As a priority club member, I didn't receive a goodie bag upon check-in(as is usual at an HIExpress and I've stayed at other ones before where they've done it)

2. There is only one ice machine in the whole building, so you have to go to the third floor for ice.(I was on the second floor).

3. And I figured that they'd have a microwave in the vending area on the third floor, but they didn't. So with ice bucket and food needing heating in hand, I jabbed the elevator button to get down to the main floor where the one microwave is at. Thank god there was at least a mini fridge in the room.

4. I feel that any hotel that can afford to put plasma tv's in every room as well as a minifridge, should at least add a microwave for convenience.

5. Housekeeping was very good, and all staff was exceedingly pleasant so I had no problems there.

6. There was a large number of school children/teens staying at the hotel during my visit so there was a lot of shouting in the halls and slamming of doors(walls are somewhat thin) BUt I spoke to the management and I guess they spoke to the chaperone because it was more calm the next night. I can't fault the hotel for this(but the idiot chaperones should have told the kids to be more respectful of others late at night(after 11pm) and early in the morning - shouting up and down at 7-8am! )

7. I have to commend the management for promptly addressing any problems and even offering to switch my room because the first one I had was too close to the elevator and I didn't want to be disturbed by people coming in and out of the elevator all night. Even with the issue of all the children and the noise, they offered to move me. But since they were on all four floors anyway, it didn't make sense to swtich.

8. The breakfast was exceptional, especially the coffee and the cinnamon rolls I managed to have one of the mornings I was there. I always look forward to them, as they are delicious and can be ordered from the HIExpress web site!

9. No cable! Just basic channels, so at least I had a portable dvd player to watch some movies I had brought along.

10. As for the portable dvd player or hooking up anything else to that gorgeous television, you'd better bring a mirror of something so you can see which ports are where because the layout of the tv cabinet hinders you from accessing the ports. It was only by the grace of god that I blindly plugged in my a/v cords and got the video to work for the input on the tv. If you have smaller hands, you can reach back there easily, but it was rather difficult for me since I have large hands. Bad cabinet design for this tv as far as accessing the ports.(on the back, left-hand side of the tv)

It was an okay stay, all-around, but I am not sure whether or not I'd stay again as I am on the fence at this point.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Stopped here for just the one night, and, as a frequent patron of HI Express properties, was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were newly and tastefully furnished. It didn't look like an HI property.
Cookies at the front desk, friendly service and a convenient location didn't hurt either. Although a bit pricier than the usual HI Express, given the location, they are clearly pulling in the customers, to judge by the relatively full parking lot and breakfast room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel, conveniently located for Dulles airport and the Metro into DC (provided you have a car - NB parking at the Metro gets very busy during the week). It had everything we needed as we settled in after our flight at the start of a two-week driving holiday. It was nicely furnished, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My husband and I needed a hotel room for a single overnight stay on our way to central Virginia -- thus we didn't need to be closer to DC, didn't want to pay for parking, didn't need entertainment for kids, but did want to have access to the Metro to go into DC for the evening. Basically I was shopping for a cheap rate in a clean room to get a good night's sleep. We got a deal here. First of all, the rooms have been redecorated and they are extremely attractive -- quite contemporary but very comfortable, much more so than most hotel style furniture that feels like it's made to withstand an army invasion. The bed was the most comfortable I have had outside an expensive resort. Then the hotel location is great -- there were lots of restaurants nearby (we ate a charming Italian place about a 1/2 mile away) and the last Metro stop on the Orange Lineis about 1 1/2 miles. We drove there (parking charge -- $4.50 a day or use the meters if you'll be gone a shorter time) and went into DC to spend the evening - much more relaxing than driving. The hotel serve sstandard fare for free hotel breakfasts but the food was plentiful and there was plenty of room to sit. The staff was very friendly. And best of all, I paid $25-$50 less than comparably inexpensive hotels in the area. We will stay here again when we are headed to central Va.

  • Liked — Contemporay room decoration
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This is a clean renovated hotel that is in a good location for business travellers in the Fairfax/George Mason University area. The room was clean and well kept, the service was good, and the location proved to be a timesaver in an area where there is almost round-the-clock traffic congestion.

The TV channel selection seemed a little bit limited for those who like to curl up with some vending machine snacks and watch the tube until 3AM. The wireless internet was slow at times.

You will pay a little more to stay in the Fairfax area so know that before you decide to take a hotel there, but when you don't even to have to get in the car and drive to find a decent place to eat (Red Lobster is literally next door) then the hidden savings becomes apparent.

All in all a nice stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet Service a bit slow
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This hotel is very expensive...
You get a motel experience for a hotel price.

Sadly when the hotel was built they chose not to invest into any sound proofing... you can hear everything for every room.

The service sucked. We couldn't make a phone call because it took over 45 mins to have the front desk 'set-up' the phone just to call outside of the hotel. In the end it still never worked and we just paid the roaming and long distance to use our cell phones.

In my opinion if you are going to stay at a 'motel' you should have the privilege of paying the appropriate price.

Not worth the 'Holiday Inn' pricing.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Address: 10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd, located in the heart of Fairfax, VA, featuring a beautiful rejuvenation of our 79 guest rooms, located off Route 50 in downtown Fairfax City, VA, only 12 mi. from Washington Dulles International Airport and 15 mi. from Washington, DC. This centrally located Fairfax hotel is nestled close to companies such as Verizon, Exxon Mobile, Northrop Grumman and AT&T. We are also located close to George Mason University & Patriot Center which is only 4 miles and Fair Oaks Mall which is just 6 miles. Tyson s Corner with over 300 stores is the perfect show case of what Fairfax County has to offer. Our hotel is only 2 mi. to the Vienna/ Fairfax GMU Metro Station leaving you options of driving or taking the Metro.The Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd. is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort, with refrigerators & coffee makers to help you feel at home in any one of our well appointed guest rooms. It is easy to relax while viewing your favorite movie on a 32 LCD flat panel television. Our rooms ensure your productivity thanks to the spacious work desk and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. We offer Udvar Hazy Air & Space Museum Weekend Packages. Special GMU rates are available. Book now for special discounts! No Pets Allowed, $100 penalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard Hotel Fairfax
Holiday Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.