We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is convenient to my work, I have stayed there so many times, and Barbara, Shakhnoza, and Xiomara, to name a few, deserve to be recognized. Barbara is always very, very helpful when I need secure a room. Shakhnoza's pleasant nature first thing in the morning helps to start my day off right, and Xiomara's assistance when being checked in... sometimes I want to check in twice! Thanks to all of you. MC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for being a loyal guest! I will share the kind words with the staff. We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Fairfax and we look forward to serving you again.

Thanks,

Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
27
23
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is less expensive than nearby similar hotels so it is a decent value if you are just looking for overnight lodging. Doesn't appear to have been refurbished in a few years. There is a Red Lobster across the street and multiple other chain restaurants within a mile. My sister who stayed multiple nights returned to her room in the late evening one night and the room had not been cleaned. She had multiple issues with key not working.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear about your experience during your visit. We look forward to serving you again here at the Holiday Inn Express-Fairfax.

Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

During the months of February, March and May 2014, I stayed at the HIE-Fairfax. It is a nice hotel; good location with decent rooms. All that in mind, the thing I appreciated the most about my hotel stays was the excellent service at breakfast. Long story short, I was amazed by the grace and efforts of Shakhnoza. For example, at the hotel during morning breakfast, she greeted everyone with a friendly "hello". Even when two large groups of young adults were in the breakfast area, related to school field-trips, she made sure there was plenty of supplies and food available. Needless to say, next time when I'm in Fairfax, I would look to Holiday Inn Express as my first choice of stay, considering the high level of service and sincerity present there.
Thanks and regards,
Tom H

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure Shakhnoza is recognized for her great service. We appreciate you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Fairfax. We look forward to your return.

Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Overall, this was a good stay.

My first experience with the staff was when I called in the day before my reservation. I was coming into town on a Red Eye flight, scheduled to arrive at 7AM, with a training class to attend at 9AM. I called to see if I could schedule an early check-in, which would allow me to check in and freshen up before the class.

I spoke with Irene (if my memory serves), the sales manager, who told me that the hotel was full, and they would do what they could to accommodate me, but my best bet was to add an additional night to my stay (to the front end of the reservation), which would insure that I had a room when I arrive early the next day. I asked if they had a room available, and she said she would check and call back. A few hours later, I received a call back saying they could add the extra night, which I went ahead and booked. I was happy that I was able to do so, and appreciated the suggestion and help in booking it.

Upon arrival to the room, I noticed two things; the mini refrig was not working at all (warm, if not hot inside), and the desk area had only one power outlet, which was built into the base of the desk lamp. That power outlet was not working.

As I was departing for my class before 9AM, I went to the front desk to see what could be done. There was no one at the front desk, but after a short wait, one of the housekeepers came and asked if they could help. I explained the situation with both the refrig and desk. She said that she couldn't do anything about the refrig, but would see if they could replace the desk lamp.

Upon my return in the early evening, the lamp had been replaced and the power was available.

Breakfast (included in the rate) the next morning was adequate. They had coffee & juice, some dry cereals, microwave oatmeal, basic fruit & muffins, toast, a pancake maker, and some prefab scrambled egg disks, turkey sausage patties, and some dried out biscuits. I opted for the eggs, sausage, and an English muffin, and took it and some coffee to my room. I was leery, but it actually made a satisfying and filling breakfast.

All-in-all, I would say it was a good stay, with helpful staff and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Fairfax. We look forward to your return.

Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked this hotel based on other reviews and since it was close to Fairfax High School. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and they do a pretty good job at their free breakfast. The hotel could use some updating in the color department. Everything worked great in our room so I didn't have any interaction with the hotel staff other than check in. At check-in they were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are glad to that you had a great experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We look foward to serving you in the near future.

-Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We love staying here, just down the road from my brother and his family of 6! The HIE offers us clean, quiet comfort and a nice breakfast in the morning. The room was clean, the area safe, and the breakfast staff is always kind and obliging. We added a night at the last minute, and the front desk staff handled it with no trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax. We look forward to serving you and your family in the near future.

Paul Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked a room with Holiday Inn Express, Fairfax, to visit a dear friend. I booked several months in advance and chose the cheapest possible rate. Due to illness, my visit was cancelled. I am not sure how many online chat reps, email reps and phone reps I have spoken to with Holiday Inn Express so far ... but I have been refused a refund by every single one. They have been rude, not understanding and unwilling to work with me. They offered to re-schedule my trip and I told them I would not be taking the trip PERIOD and if I did decide to in the future, I would not be staying with them. The lack of customer service is appalling and disgusting. When attempting to reschedule, they could not even find a date available in the future and insisted they needed my credit card information, although they already have it. I am done with staying at any Holiday Inn Express if this is the way I, as a "guest," am going to be treated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear lcorrell14,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fairfax.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Address: 10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd, located in the heart of Fairfax, VA, featuring a beautiful rejuvenation of our 79 guest rooms, located off Route 50 in downtown Fairfax City, VA, only 12 mi. from Washington Dulles International Airport and 15 mi. from Washington, DC. This centrally located Fairfax hotel is nestled close to companies such as Verizon, Exxon Mobile, Northrop Grumman and AT&T. We are also located close to George Mason University & Patriot Center which is only 4 miles and Fair Oaks Mall which is just 6 miles. Tyson s Corner with over 300 stores is the perfect show case of what Fairfax County has to offer. Our hotel is only 2 mi. to the Vienna/ Fairfax GMU Metro Station leaving you options of driving or taking the Metro.The Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd. is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort, with refrigerators & coffee makers to help you feel at home in any one of our well appointed guest rooms. It is easy to relax while viewing your favorite movie on a 32 LCD flat panel television. Our rooms ensure your productivity thanks to the spacious work desk and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. We offer Udvar Hazy Air & Space Museum Weekend Packages. Special GMU rates are available. Book now for special discounts! No Pets Allowed, $100 penalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard Hotel Fairfax
Holiday Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.