We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visa Gift Card Package!
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Met my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This HIE is an older property, but it is clean and offers everything that is expected at HIE brand. Water pressure is good and instant hot water. Breakfast is okay and the front desk person at check-in (Ruth) was very polite and friendly. Overall, our stay was comfortable and the hotel met my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue24060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and also for sharing your comments and experience with us. We are please to know that your stay was to your satisfaction and we are honored to be at your service. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gilbertsville, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, was greeted by the desk clerk, Ruth, who made me feel immediately comfortable. She processed my registration and explained how to get to my room, breakfast services in the morning, parking options, and a multitude of services offered at the inn. For the length of my stay, Ruth remembered my name whenever we had the occasion to meet. Will stay at the inn again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know that we appreciate your business. Knowing that you had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax is a reward to all of us. We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night here on Oct 5 to visit our son at George Mason University. Very convenient location a couple of miles from campus. They were doing some work on the entrance when we arrived but it didn't interfere with our stay at all.
Hotel staff person was very friendly and welcoming. We were initially provided a room that was being worked on---door was propped open and a ladder was outside the door. Staff person promptly met us there and provided us with new room keys. No inconvenience at all.
Room was more than adequate. Flat screen TV, nice bureau and wardrobe, a mini frig hidden in the bureau. Sink/vanity. outside of the bathroom which is easier for getting ready in the morning. Bathroom was very small though. The ceiling tiles in the tub area looked old and mildewy or something but otherwise bathroom was clean.
I like the beds at HI Express. No comforters. Feels cleaner and everyone slept well.
Minor, minor complaints: wish they had Splenda and flavored creamers for coffee in the morning.
Definitely would stay here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You had a choice and you chose us so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. It is a reward to us to know that your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax was to your satisfaction. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Front desk clerk was friendly and nice. Room had a some updated features, but it was overall a beat-up, run-down place. Wouldn't offer the pillows on the bed to a guest or my children. Fitness facility was down to nothing. Have to be better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our facility. I would like you to know that we have made updates to our facilities since your last visit and are continuing with our updating. Despite of the concerns you've mentioned we are still happy to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Team. We hope that you'd give us another try to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
281 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

PROPERTY: This is an older property which has had some updates over time. I stayed in room 419 a king room. This is an odd mix of good and bad, overall it rates barely average
.
ROOM: The room was smaller than many in this class. I’m sure it’s due to the age of the property. The décor was fresh and upscale for an HIE with nice accessory items. The room had its own, window mounted A/C unit which worked hard to cool the room and was noisy at high speeds. A 32” flat screen and refrigerator but no microwave. The tile bathroom was small but clean.

BEDDING: The bed was clean and comfortable. The pillows were cheap and lumpy.

WORK AREA: The work area was OK with a decent size table. The work chair was thinly padded and cheap. Only ½ of an outlet to power electronics! WOW what a miss. Lighting was good.

RATING: Overall I would give the property a 75/100 and 70/100 for value. I would not likely stay here again as there are many other choices with more amenities for the money.

PRAISE: location, upscale décor for HIE, clean
COMPLAINTS: older property, smaller rooms, smoky smell, no pool or whirlpool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. We greatly appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its location to DC, metro, and Trip Advisor ratings. Glad we did. The room was large, clean, and nicely upgraded. We loved the extra sink outside the bathroom. The room also included several mirrors and had numerous extra outlets in the base of each lamp which was great for all of us to recharge our phones. The only problems we had were getting a roll-away bed. We requested one and only got it after four calls over 3 days. The other problem we had was getting service for a clogged toilet, they finally they sent a plunger and we had to unclog it ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clogtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and for sharing your comments and experience with us. Guests like you are a pleasure and we were delighted to be of your service. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Neede hotel for 5 days. The room (212) was very small--actually seemed to be an afterthought next to the elevator. The bathroom was OK but no tub. Staff very friendly. Breakfast typical for hotels

Room Tip: stay away from room with ..12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad you found the cleanliness and service of our hotel acceptable. I am sorry the room condition was not up to par to your expectation. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
#10 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard

Address: 10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd, located in the heart of Fairfax, VA, featuring a beautiful rejuvenation of our 79 guest rooms, located off Route 50 in downtown Fairfax City, VA, only 12 mi. from Washington Dulles International Airport and 15 mi. from Washington, DC. This centrally located Fairfax hotel is nestled close to companies such as Verizon, Exxon Mobile, Northrop Grumman and AT&T. We are also located close to George Mason University & Patriot Center which is only 4 miles and Fair Oaks Mall which is just 6 miles. Tyson s Corner with over 300 stores is the perfect show case of what Fairfax County has to offer. Our hotel is only 2 mi. to the Vienna/ Fairfax GMU Metro Station leaving you options of driving or taking the Metro.The Holiday Inn Express Fairfax Arlington Blvd. is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort, with refrigerators & coffee makers to help you feel at home in any one of our well appointed guest rooms. It is easy to relax while viewing your favorite movie on a 32 LCD flat panel television. Our rooms ensure your productivity thanks to the spacious work desk and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. We offer Udvar Hazy Air & Space Museum Weekend Packages. Special GMU rates are available. Book now for special discounts! No Pets Allowed, $100 penalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard Hotel Fairfax
Holiday Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing