We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upscale IHOP -type place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FirstWatch

FirstWatch
9600 Main St., Fairfax, VA 22030
+1 703-978-3421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 360 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“An upscale IHOP -type place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First off--cage -free eggs!! How wonderful. We had Eggs Benedict with Turkey (an option) and Raisin Bread French Toast. The poached eggs were overcooked, but there was plenty of turkey meat underneath. The skillet potatoes were plenty too. The French toast was nice, served with fruit preserves (could have used more, normal serving size though) and powdered sugar. Not until I asked about the table syrup contents did I realize that on the menu there is an option to buy real Maple Syrup in a small jar for less than $2; that is a nice touch. The iced tea was nice and there are Herbal hot tea options. All-in-all, a nice place for what it is. They try with organic yogurt, cage free eggs and turkey items to serve a better quality food. I wish the fresh strawberries were organic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little place but can get crowed around noon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Go before noon so you don't have to wait. The hours are limited to breakfast and lunch so 12-closing is busy. This is a heavy retirement community so many take advantage of this place. Avoid Wednesdays after the local theater lets out, it's seniors mornings.
As far as food, I've always enjoyed everything I've ordered breakfast/lunch. Good value for the food. Service has always been good. Decor is a little too old so the ambiance is lacking. Not a trendy spot but the food is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We eat here frequently for breakfast on the weekends. The pancakes are great and very filling. We particularly enjoy the pancake-egg-bacon combo. The orange juice is fresh squeezed and quite delicious. The wait staff is always friendly and reasonable fast. The atmosphere is like a diner but is clean and pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
hous600 - Thank you for all of your weekend visits! We are so happy our food (especially the pancakes!), service and atmosphere keep you coming back again and again. See you again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast/brunch options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious late morning weekday meal here, while staying in Fairfax. The staff is knowledgeable about the gluten free meal choices and were very accommodating. Although the restaurant was quite busy, our waiter was still attentive to us throughout the meal and did not make us feel rushed. The ingredients are fresh and of good quality. We'll definitely visit this chain again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So much better than IHOP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Based on the good reviews here, we decided to give First Watch a shot and it was worth it. We had about a 15 minute wait on Memorial Day morning but once we were seated the service was quick and efficient. Everything is fresh and the pancakes, French toast and waffles were all light and fluffy. Eggs were cooked perfectly. The Floridian French Toast was a real treat as it was piled with fresh fruit. Carrot cake pancakes were a delight. Absolutely worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Flash F - Thank you for spending part of your Memorial Day weekend with us! We are happy you had a wonderful first impression and enjoyed our wide selection of breakfast offerings. Hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FirstWatch also viewed

 

Been to FirstWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FirstWatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.