We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Firearms Museum

National Firearms Museum
11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA
703-267-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History museums, Specialty museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small museum that highlights the long history of firearms.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

The collection of firearms is incredible. The most amazing thing was all of my kids, who had shown zero interest in firearms to date, were enthralled with the collection. They actually spent time reading the display cards. My kids were dragging me around the museum, and I was the one who finally had to end our visit.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    47
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NRA does it right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This is a really good museum if you are into firearms, particularly American firearms. Goes back to the revolutionary period. Lots of beautiful 19th and early 20th century pistols and rifles that were "presentation" items and truly works of art in their own right.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good way to spend a 1-2 hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This is a self guided museum. Lots of things to see. There is plenty to read. Wish that they had tours as it may be a little more interesting. There are some really good and neat guns to see. The kids enjoyed it

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Took my dad again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Every time my dad comes to visit, he wants to go here. If you like guns, the history of guns, and how guns played a role in making our history, this place is a must see. There are so many things to see and read. The best part is, its free!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm retired Army and interested in guns.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Well, you can't beat the price - It's free! They must have examples of every kind of firearm that was ever made. I'd like to see more about how different innovations functioned, say the development of a trigger (hands-on models?), and determining and combining parameters such as barrel twist to ammunition.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Firearms Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Firearms Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.