We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Firearms Museum

National Firearms Museum
11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA
703-267-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Fairfax
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small museum that highlights the long history of firearms.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved how they presented the history of the firearm (hand cannon, matchlock, wheellock, flintlock, etc) and how firearms played a role in American history from exploration to today. Especially enjoyed the Teddy Roosevelt room and the hollywood room (Dirty Harry's gun is there). Stop by the museum shop on the way out, they've got shot glasses shaped and colored like a shotgun shell..a real "shot glass."

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little boring reading all the info...no docents or guides.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The museum has several galleries with lots of weapons. I found it interesting, but because many of the displays had lots of reading, it was kind of tedious. The displays were very elaborate with lots of mirrors so you could see the front, side and back of the gun. My husband and I both enjoyed the Marine Corp Museum more than the National Firearms Museum.

There is a cafeteria that served mediocre food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I did not expect to enjoy this visit, my husband is the one with interest in antique firearms, but it was so well done and included weapons used in movies that I liked.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
276 attraction reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
““We fight to be free” – George Washington, before the Christmas Crossing of the Potomac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Even if you are not particularly interested in guns, you will find this a very educational and entertaining experience. Shooting sports fans would be able to see stories of fabulous great names in gun making and their products. Movies lovers will find the Hollywood Guns gallery where props – costumes and guns – are galore: from John Wayne’s True Grit gun through Alamo’s Gatling, to Dirty Harry’s “Make my day” monster and Tom Selleck’s Magnum P.I. memorabilia, it’s all there!

Plan to spend a couple of hours, it’s very entertaining. Imagine that you can see Annie Oakley’s pearly-handled revolvers and even an authentic fully restored shooting gallery from the old days, complete with ducks and carnival music. Photography is permitted throughout.
Last, but not least, it’s all free, as are most museums in D.C.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Educational and Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

When I visited I knew nothing about the history of firearms (and had never shot a gun) and was pleasantly surprised by the education I received while at the Museum. It was worth the trip into the NRA and I would recommend it for anyone who is curious - it's a hidden gem in Fairfax.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Firearms Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Firearms Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.