We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Firearms Museum

National Firearms Museum
11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA
703-267-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small museum that highlights the long history of firearms.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved how they presented the history of the firearm (hand cannon, matchlock, wheellock, flintlock, etc) and how firearms played a role in American history from exploration to today. Especially enjoyed the Teddy Roosevelt room and the hollywood room (Dirty Harry's gun is there). Stop by the museum shop on the way out, they've got shot glasses shaped and colored like a shotgun shell..a real "shot glass."

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    58
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little boring reading all the info...no docents or guides.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The museum has several galleries with lots of weapons. I found it interesting, but because many of the displays had lots of reading, it was kind of tedious. The displays were very elaborate with lots of mirrors so you could see the front, side and back of the gun. My husband and I both enjoyed the Marine Corp Museum more than the National Firearms Museum.

There is a cafeteria that served mediocre food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I did not expect to enjoy this visit, my husband is the one with interest in antique firearms, but it was so well done and included weapons used in movies that I liked.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
829 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
““We fight to be free” – George Washington, before the Christmas Crossing of the Potomac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Even if you are not particularly interested in guns, you will find this a very educational and entertaining experience. Shooting sports fans would be able to see stories of fabulous great names in gun making and their products. Movies lovers will find the Hollywood Guns gallery where props – costumes and guns – are galore: from John Wayne’s True Grit gun through Alamo’s Gatling, to Dirty Harry’s “Make my day” monster and Tom Selleck’s Magnum P.I. memorabilia, it’s all there!

Plan to spend a couple of hours, it’s very entertaining. Imagine that you can see Annie Oakley’s pearly-handled revolvers and even an authentic fully restored shooting gallery from the old days, complete with ducks and carnival music. Photography is permitted throughout.
Last, but not least, it’s all free, as are most museums in D.C.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational and Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

When I visited I knew nothing about the history of firearms (and had never shot a gun) and was pleasantly surprised by the education I received while at the Museum. It was worth the trip into the NRA and I would recommend it for anyone who is curious - it's a hidden gem in Fairfax.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Firearms Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Firearms Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.