We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sage Diner
Rt 13, Exmore, VA 23350
7574140049
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Exmore
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Chose this place because it was next door to our motel, it was late evening and we weren't very hungry so we decided to order from the 2 for $16.99 menu, BIG MISTAKE. The crab-cake was mushy and overpowered with rosemary. fried frozen shrimp straight from the box, clam chowder again overpowered with rosemary. Waitress could not have cared less, brought clam chowder instead of crab soup. dropped plates on table and disappeared, no tableware, no drink refill. I had to go to the host station to get tableware and again to get the check. Bad food and bad service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Service fast and friendly. Good selection on menu and good prices. Ordered two appetizers and was disappointed at the quality - they didn't appear to be made on the premises; tasted as if they were packaged. Meal and portions were very good including quality of sides.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food & Quick, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The Sage Diner was a welcome reprieve from the night in hell we spent at the Budget Inn nearby. The service was quick and friendly, and the food was delicious! Next time we pass through the area, we'll stay at the Best Western next door and get breakfast here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Restaurant Jewel on the Eastern Shore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've eaten at this southernmost diner a couple of times. There are two of the same name on the peninsula. The food is always good and the service impeccable. I have found the staff to be very friendly and courteous. Prices are reasonable and the menu is more than varied. I will continue to return and believe it is truly a jewel on the eastern shore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family restaurant with great food and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are looking for a place that offers a variety of food, good food, friendly staff and easy to get to then the Sage Diner is the place for you!! My mom and I had breakfast here and it was a pleasant experience!! The waiter was very friendly and on the top of his game! We never felt like we needed to ask for anything because he brought the ketchup, etc right away. I will eat here a lot when I finally live down here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sage Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.