We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, local stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4129 Lankford Highway, Exmore, VA 23350   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & Earn 2x points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable, local stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We opted for a chain hotel vs our normal B&B stays because we desired more autonomy and space. The Hampton Inn was fantastic! Our room was well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The staff were helpful and efficient. The location, about 20 minutes from Cape Charles and 20 minutes from Onancock, was perfect! Everything was a short drive and we were centrally located on the Eastern Shore and able to see all of our favorite places!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    49
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
75
50
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Exmore, as we usually stay at the Holiday Inn. Wow, what a difference! We had to leave the Outer Banks due to Hurricane Arthur and arrived a lot earlier than the 3pm check in. Unfortunately, our son with autism was very nervous because of the storm and was sick to his stomach. Thankfully, we were greeted by hotel employee Rita Simpson who spoke with her manager, Shannon, and made it possible to have our room ready earlier. Rita, you are an absolute angel! Thank you to you and Shannon!!!

The hotel itself is unbelievably clean, and the staff is most helpful and friendly. The suite we had was huge and beautiful and the breakfast was surprisingly very tasty. The beds are comfortable and the hotel was very quiet despite it being sold out. Also, a big plus was the pool is a fresh water pool--no chlorine!!! Because of the high winds, we decided to stay an additional night. So nice to know we were in a nice, clean place.

We will definitely be returning to this hotel every year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the Exmore Hampton Inn over the July 4th holiday. We were traveling back and forth to Cape Charles to visit an elderly family member. I've stayed in many Hampton Inns and am an HHonors member. The only available room for our stay was a King suite. The first night was free because I used accumulated points, the next two nights cost $350+ The roominess of the King suite was terrific, but it goes sour after that. The room had an odor like old dirty socks. The shower curtain had pink mold on it. The vanity is wide open to the room with no way of closing it for privacy. The shower and toilet had a door, but it was so large, you almost had to stand on the tub to close it while you were in there. The refrigerator couldn't get any smaller, and like the microwave, you needed to do a deep knee bend to get to it. The mattress was as hard as a board; worst I've ever slept on. Maybe it had something to do with the size of the King. My wife asked the front desk for an extra pillow to compensate for the hard mattress, and they didn't have one, huh !? The complimentary breakfast was horrible, and when the attended made the coffee too weak, she just left it until it was gone. She was more concerned with smoking. Practically every employee smoked, and the office person was normally outside smoking rather than attending the desk. Upon check out, I was charged for calls to Cape Charles, just a few miles down the road. It's also amazing that a big chain hotel like Hampton Inn doesn't have a paved entrance. You have to navigate around rocky back roads and enter from the side. Weird. We stayed on the second floor, and we could here every foot step above us. I will admit my wife and I are picky, but we've stayed in Hampton Inns much better than this. One last thing, the Exmore Diner is terrible, try the Sage Diner if you want breakfast. FYI

Room Tip: Rooms below the top floor are noisy. You hear every step above you. If you are in one of the rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmore, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

On our trip from NC to OC MD we decided we would find a hotel after crossing the Chesapeake tunnel in the middle of the night. This was the first hotel we came across that appeared safe & clean. It was wonderful! Everything was clean & quiet. The staff was nice, and the breakfast hit the spot. Great hotel for a great price!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Standard HI fare. However, however, reservation request for adjoining rooms (teenage children) were not honored. Manager worked out the kinks and it all worked out. We are fortunate that the hotel was not fully booked so room issue could be remedied. Also, access off main highway is poorly designed and confusing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beats all others in Exmore I have read all reviews for Hampton Inn.The food was greatbhad extra towes。new and spotless clean。also very quiet have stayed in manny motels and this is as good as thebBest Western in Santee where we have stayed forbover 25 years

Room Tip: I guarantee you will like it. The hot breakfast was all one couldbwant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great Hampton Inn with good location to local activities. Salt Water outside pool was amazing and a good end to a long day. Local (versus chain) restaraunts can be a little drive (20 minutes) but through pretty country and are worth it. Only stayed a night but wished it were more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore

Address: 4129 Lankford Highway, Exmore, VA 23350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Exmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore Hotel Exmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.