We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service--and Inexpensive, Too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Barbeque

Log Cabin Barbeque
11672 Spotswood Trail, Elkton, VA 22827
(540) 289-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Elkton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service--and Inexpensive, Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Massanutten Resort last week and ate at the nearby Log Cabin twice. This is not fancy, but a homey, comfortable place with booths and tables and a pleasant atmosphere. More important, the food is delicious and the servers polite, friendly, and efficient. Prices are very reasonable, with dinner plates (generous portions of barbecue meat, choice of two sides, and a roll) starting at just $7.19 and sandwiches at about $4. On our first visit, I had pulled pork with the sweet, tomato-based sauce, delicious hushpuppies, and some of the best potato salad I've had. My husband had the sampler platter--ribs and pulled pork--and also tried potato salad and hushpuppies. I wanted to try their mountainberry ice cream for dessert, but alas, no room! On our second visit, I ordered the barbecue beef brisket with potato salad and baked beans while my husband tried the grilled sausage topped with pulled pork, cole slaw, and fries. Again, delicious and very filling meals! This time, we ordered two scoops of mountainberry ice cream to go ($2.99), and the foam dish and cover enabled us to get it back to our condo's freezer to enjoy later. I certainly recommend Log Cabin and will visit again if in the area. We may even take our daughter and son-in-law to eat there the next time we visit them in VA--and they live two hours' away!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Massanutten for three days and we decided to go for luch. We were a big party (17) the children sat on two tables and the adults sat together. The waitress came and quickly took our orders. Most of us had the sampler platter that had ribs, pulled pork, coleslaw (fresh and delicious), beans and hushpuppies The children had the ribs The food did not take long and We all LOVED it. The ribs were outstanding. We go to No. Carolina every year and this place is way better than any we have tried there. This is fantastic No, Carolina BBQ!!!
We will comeback!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Local Like BQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really enjoy eating at the Log Cabin and have attended catered events as well. The barbecue is much, much better than Hank's down the street so be forewarned, this is the place for BQ if you are staying at Massanutten Resort.

The do offer two styles of BQ, North Carolina (vinegar base) and a sweeter sauce, both are good. Hushpuppies are good too. Suggest asking for a sample of each if you have never dined there before.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Menu said North Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We both ordered the NC style since live there and wanted to see. Got enough BBQ for a sandwich with a spoonful of beans and three hushpuppys. We also got the BBQ sandwich with fries and drinks. $20,00

BBQ was vinegar flavor so added some hot sauce and started eating. Nice place and if back in the area will stop again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you like Carolina BBQ ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Half rack ribs were very tender.
Easy off rte 33. Coleslaw is homemade. Beans are canned but slowcooked w/BBQ. Tasted good. Will stop again when is area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.