We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million dollar view and great hospitality,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hockman Manor House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hockman Manor House B&B
Save Saved
You added Hockman Manor House B&B to your Saves list
16388 Old Valley Pike, Edinburg, VA 22824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Edinburg B&B and Inns
Vicksburg, MS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Million dollar view and great hospitality,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hockman Manor House was a real find for us. The view from the suite was "the million dollar view", overlooking the North Branch of the Shenandoah River. Breakfast was delicious, the home was very warm and inviting with great antiques and furnishings. I would recommend this to all!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The house is a historic landmark. It still maintains its original elegance. Pat and Charlie, the new innkeepers were excellent hosts. Pat claims she chose to be an innkeeper and it shows. she does an excellent job of it. Pat and Charlie are slowly restoring the historic house without disrupting the ambiance of times past. The place is spotless-- everything shines. Pat proudly prepares breakfasts-- honoring our picky tastes. We had something completely different every day.

We stayed there over Thanksgiving and were fortunate enough to be the only guests. We had the run of the house, but were lucky to stay in the Shenandoah Suite. It's really like a studio suite with a mini kitchenette and a huge balcony overlooking the Shenandoah river valley and the Blue Ridge mountains in the distance. It was an exquisite.view.

As we were the only guests, we were invited to park in front of the house.

It was a wonderful experience staying at the Hockman Manor House.

Room Tip: Without doubt, ask for the Shenandoah Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very romantic setting and decor. Food was exquisite and freshly cooked and prepared by our Innkeeper Pat. Sheets were pressed and high thread-count - like sleeping on the softest cotton. The view was outstanding overlooking the Shenandoah River. Lots to do in town which is biking distance for some. Easy parking. Very friendly community.

Room Tip: The Shenandoah is the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we travel for leisure we almost always stay at B&Bs and the Hockman Manor House stands out as one where the proprietors are genuinely interested in being your guides to all that the local environment offers. We arrived on a very wet weekend and were unable to to do the mountain biking and hiking that we planned. Pat and Charles told about an excellent and inexpensive Italian resaturant down the street-- it was just past the Orvis shop. The breakfast was exceptional and headed on to Skyline Drive. This is a B&B that we plan to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was my first B&B experenice and I would have to say I enjoyed it. Pat and Charles were wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts were great. They offered wonderful suggestions for thigs to do ad places to eat. We upgraded to the room with the deck ad were so glad we were able to. It was such a nice quiet weekend trip exactly what this busy mom needed.

Room Tip: the Shendandoh Suite was the only room with a private bath and it has a wonderful deck with an incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we've stayed at. We stayed in the Shenandoah Suite - a charming and spacious room, but the best part was the view. Three sides of the room had amazing views of the mountains and a private porch off the room had the most stunning view of the mountains and river. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, not to mention Pat was extremely accommodating at catering the breakfast to meet special dietary restrictions. It was a delightful place to spend a relaxing weekend and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Pat and Charlie,

We enjoyed our return to your lovely home. We cannot thank you enough for your kindness and advice when we needed assistance with finding a garage to replace the transmission. Your offer to give us a ride, call the garage, and find a rental car was more than kind. Your hospitality is overhwhelming. We have now stayed in every room, we have to say that they are all unique and inviting in their own way. Delicious breakfast to boot. We will always stay at the Hockman Manor House when visiting the Edinburg area. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hockman Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hockman Manor House B&B

Address: 16388 Old Valley Pike, Edinburg, VA 22824
Location: United States > Virginia > Edinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hockman Manor House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.