We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treetop Trekking Barrie

Treetop Trekking Barrie
1101 Horseshoe Valley Road, Horseshoe Valley, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
705-835-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treetop Trekking is an aerial obstacle and zipline park. We have 3 locations in Ontario - Barrie, Ganaraska and Huntsville. Please give us a call or visit our website for more details.
Aurora, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“With Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I can't believe that someone would write something negative about this experience. We had a great time I went with twin 5 yr old plus a 8yr and the staff where amazing. Very helpful. Recommendations, don't go on a weekend or holidays and expect great service, bring bug spray they can get bad. Pack lots of water and snacks for the kids. It's a very lay back atmosphere.
Also as a adult don't expect to be able to complete all the courses they take time, no matter how fast you are it will take 2 trips.
My only dislike is the ridiculous waiver, they need to rewrite it. Not the fact you have to sign a waiver but the content of the waiver. ie: In red "By signing this document you waive certain legal rights, including the right to sue. Please read carefully!!!" beside it initial. Are you kidding...

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    19
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High in the Trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you are afraid of heights you can still enjoy the senery, be the photographer and walk through the trails. If you want to challenge yourself to overcome your fear of heights or you love soaring through the trees then this is the place for you. We booked in advance through a phone call with Horseshoe Tree Top Trekking. It was problem free to do this and we arrived at the appointed time finding plenty of parking however we did arrive first thing in the morning and it was a cool day. There are washroom facilities at the hut where you sign in and you can always make your way back to this central location as you play the games in the trees. A small camera that would fit in a zip up pocket would be a nice asset, bring bug repellent and thin fingerless gloves or borrow the free ones from the hut. We were very thankful we had worn the gloves. The experience was exhilarating to say the least. From the beginning instructions, to the can do attitude of the staff to the Big zip line at the end it was so worthwhile. Be prepared to have a few sore muscles the next day unless you are in tip top shape. We went as an adult family and our son would have stayed all day if he could. Give it a try and you will gain new confidence in yourself.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Adventure on Wires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We took our nephews last year July 2013 for the treetop trekking adventure, and what an adventure it was. Among us were a few that were afraid of heights, and by the end they all did well, both adult & youth, and everyone had a wonderful time, and has not stopped talking about it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horseshoe Valley - Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I drove 90 minutes to arrive at Horseshoe Valley, with the sole intention of spending our money at their Treetop Trekking. Their website recommends making a reservation, so I phoned the day before, left a voice mail & sent a follow up e-mail.

When we arrived at 1330, we were told that since we did not have a reservation & the last climb went out at 1300, that we could not climb. 4 others from a separate group were told the same. I attempted to explain that I made every effort to book a reservation & no where does there website say that reservations are mandatory. We turned away disappointed & discouraged. It was a beautiful day to try something new.

Next time, I think we'll take our money to a competitor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Physically and mentally challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I recently took a group of young adults to the Brampton location and their experience lived up to their expectations - it was very positive.

Finding this location can be a bit tricky, as you park in a parking lot a few hundred meters away and then follow a number of paths into the forest to the information wooden house where you register. (Not visible from the parking area). Plan to arrive early and give yourself plenty of time to park, walk, register, get set-up with your equipment, etc. There are toilets at this facility, despite it being in the forest.

If the weather is warm consider starting in the morning, as the course if physically challenging. Facilities for food/drinks are limited on site,consider packing a lunch to eat at one of their outdoor tables, upon completion of the course. Since this is located in the a forest, having bug spray with you is also a good idea. Its possible for those who are not doing the course to follow along on pathways, underneath the tree-top obstacle course. Wear comfortable shoes if you are a spectator as you will have to walk a fair amount. (It is totally manageable, even for those who are much older).

The day started out with a safety briefing and then the instructor watched as each participant tried their hand on a very low-level rope and obstacle course, to ensure that the participants understood how to operate the carbines and that the safety rules were understood and being followed properly, before they were allowed to the actual course. I thought this was very valuable and quite important as well.

The adventure consists of several different color coded levels and one progresses from the easiest level on-wards until the last level (optional) which is an advanced level obstacle course. This last level was the most challenging of course and also very physically demanding, but extremely rewarding once completed. There are multiple zip-lines spread throughout the course, and one "big" zip line.

If you have never done this sort of activity before, be prepared to have an adrenaline rush and to experience a new sort of fear as you make your way across ropes, through tunnels, around obstacles etc, all while far above the ground and often while balancing only on a thin wire!

A great, fun, challenging activity for the adventurous soul.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treetop Trekking Barrie also viewed

Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
 
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
 

Been to Treetop Trekking Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetop Trekking Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.