We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March break at Forks in the Trail B.& B.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast
478 Bass Lake Sideroad West | Oro Medonte (Horseshoe Valley Between Barrie and Orillia), Horseshoe Valley, Ontario L0L 2E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“March break at Forks in the Trail B.& B.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay. The place was like an oasis. The owners are amazing people. The breakfast was one of the best ones in my life. The house has a charm, so do the owners.There is a lot to do in the area: We enjoyed snowtubing at Horshoe Valley Resort, which is located five minutes drive from Forks in the Trail B.& B., the next day we hit the trails of cross country skiing at Hardwood. We would consider going back any time, I strongly recommend the place for familys and couples as well.
Judit, Aurora,Ontario.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Tricia, Doug, and their lovely black lab, Buster, made us feel very welcome and gave us valuable tips from where to eat to places to visit. The hot tub was a great treat after a day skiing (and falling down). I really regret not having booked a massage though. Our weekend at the B&B was perfect and relaxing. We look forward to coming back on summer to enjoy the nice weather by their beautiful swimming pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We met up with friends for a reunion and had a wonderful stay over two nights. We had lots of room to hang out and chat in the spacious living room. Our hosts were most hospitable. We felt like teenagers, hanging out talking, while all our needs were being taken care of! Luxury.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a fantastic afternoon, evening and morning. After putting our things in our room we headed outside, snowshoeing through the trails. We got a little lost, and a had a lot of fun! Once we found our way back it was straight to the hot tub where we soaked up the heat and the sunshine before heading in for tea & cookies. We had just enough time for a glass of wine (or two ;) before the cooking class began. Tricia & Doug were so welcoming and hospitable and have a beautiful B&B…all kinds of activities to enjoy and enough space to be alone. After a wonderful day & night we awoke to a delicious breakfast!
Wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: I think there's a large room with a jacuzzi…didn't get it this time but will next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Tricia and Doug made us feel very welcomed into their home/B&B. It is a gorgeous building with a beautiful property. They were very helpful in recommending a restaurant in Orillia for us, Art stores to visit the following day and trails to hike. It is a great place to be if you like the outdoors. Tricia was even kind enough to open her yoga studio for just the two of us. It was fantastic. The breakfast was wonderful, the food delicious and the conversaton even better. I would recommend staying here and even trying one of their cooking classes (they sound like a lot of fun). Tricia and Doug are a very interesting and warm couple. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent this past weekend at Forks in the Trail B&B and it was a fantastic experience! It was a birthday present from my family; needing a little escape from those daily life stresses! And we definitely got the break and relaxation we needed! Trish and Doug were fabulous, offering recommendations for activities in the area and restaurants to try for dinner! The healthy breakfast Trish prepared was delicious! And the house is absolutely breathtaking! We spent quite some time admiring the woodwork throughout! Despite the cold, snowy weather, we were still able to enjoy a relaxing experience in the hot tub, as well as the sauna! We would love to come back another time and will recommend this to others! Thanks again to Trish and Doug for a terrific weekend :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Trish and Doug were very welcoming and gracious hosts. Outstanding hospitality, very spacious accommodations and numerous amenities. A great place to stay for any type of trip. I was there with a group of six guys while another couple was enjoying their stay as well. There was plenty of space to do any leisure activity you felt like, including outdoor facilities with a hot tub and heated pool and hiking trails. Multiple large open sitting areas including a large fire place and picturesque views. Gorgeous view in autumn. Incredibly spacious lower level with lounge area, bar, yoga studio and sauna. We took advantage of it all. Certainly a great place that I plan on staying at again with the family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast

Address: 478 Bass Lake Sideroad West | Oro Medonte (Horseshoe Valley Between Barrie and Orillia), Horseshoe Valley, Ontario L0L 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Horseshoe Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horseshoe Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast, an extraordinary 100 acre estate nestled within Horseshoe Valley and adjacent to the Ganaraska Trail. Custom built by the owners Doug and Tricia Frost, the home is a blend of wood and stone featuring local artistry. Guests may choose from a number of recreational amenities including a salt water swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, exercise room, yoga, nutritional cooking classes, and private trail system. The Forks is minutes away from Horseshoe Valley Ski and Golf Resort, Mount Saint Louis, Hardwood Hills, and many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.