We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't get much better..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast
478 Bass Lake Sideroad West | Oro Medonte (Horseshoe Valley Between Barrie and Orillia), Horseshoe Valley, Ontario L0L 2E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It can't get much better..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a gem. Just got back from a 3 night stay and was blown away by the accommodations we found in this B&B.

Doug and Trish go out of their way to ensure a perfect stay.

The Copeland was the room we stayed in. The breakfasts were perfect fuel for epic mountain bike days at the local trails. Horseshoe, Hardwood and Simcoe forests are all less than a 5 km ride.

Saltwater pool - check

Hot Tub ( in room and outside ) - check

Total relaxation - check

Both Trish and Doug are cyclists and spent a good couple of hours at Horseshoe with Doug.

Will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Forks in the Trail. Tricia and Doug have created a warm, welcoming place to stay. We were running in the Spartan Race being held nearby, so it was a very convenient location. The outdoor shower by the salt water pool certainly came in handy for washing up after the race.

Each room has access to a balcony where you can sit and read or look out to the surrounding forest. The great room has a beautiful fireplace and wood paneling everywhere. When we were sitting at the breakfast table each morning we had a great view of grounds. Both days we saw wild turkeys strolling through the area.

We would definitely recommend Forks in the Trail to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we walked in to the Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast, we felt like we were at home. Not that my home looks anything like this, nor did I feel stressed and pressured as I often do at home. Feeling "at home" meant being at ease and comfortable, and the sense that we had been there before (which we had not). Paul and I enjoyed ourselves immenselly and were unbelievably impressed with the home, the amenities, the surroundings and of course, the amazing hospitatlity we received from both Tricia and Doug. We highly recommend Forks in the Trail.

Room Tip: We were in the Rose Room. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying over at this beautiful and very hospitable B & B. Our bike tour around Lake Simcoe brought us to "FinTTB&B". We knew we were in for a good time when Buster, the black Lab, met us at the door. The house has a chalet cottage ambiance with intriguing architecture. Our room, so very comfortable. The forest setting presented many trails to stroll along or to follow Buster, the trail guide. Tricia and Doug, an attentive and engaging couple, who are cyclists themselves, provided a nutritious and delicious breakfast to fuel our ride and recommended cycling routes for us and directions to our next B&B stop along the journey. Secure bicycle storage and repair tools were available to us. We look forward to returning to discover the routes around Orillia and Midland and at sugaring time. Forks In the Trail is at the top of our list of B&B's to stay at. Thank You Tricia, Doug and Buster.

Room Tip: The on the first floor has a Jacuzzi tub and a large private porch/deck. Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port perry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a terrific weekend getaway! What an ideal location for such a wonderful spot. The first night we enjoyed the hockey game downstairs, and then, sat upstairs in the amazing great room beside the fire place talking. The next morning had a fantastic breakfast, were fuelled up for the toughmudder only a couple minutes away. After spending the day on the ski hills, we came back to relax in the back yard beside the pool and had a much needed hot tub!
On Sunday we enjoyed a special Mother's Day breakfast (healthy granola, fancy French toast with home made maple syrup).
I can hardly wait to return in the winter for skiing.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and had our balcony, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thank you Trisha and Doug for making our tough Mudder experience so very memorable two years in a row. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The company was charming and delightful. Your recommendations for dining and shopping were right on the money. Breakfasts were outstanding, you are amazing.

We recommend forks in the trail highly and often
Denise and Jeff Lucken

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We whole-heartedly agree with all the other reviews. What more could one ask for; wonderful company in a lovely, spacious home. We were truly well looked after and it was great to feel so relaxed. Forks in the Trail sets the gold standard for bed and breakfasts.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast

Address: 478 Bass Lake Sideroad West | Oro Medonte (Horseshoe Valley Between Barrie and Orillia), Horseshoe Valley, Ontario L0L 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Horseshoe Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horseshoe Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast, an extraordinary 100 acre estate nestled within Horseshoe Valley and adjacent to the Ganaraska Trail. Custom built by the owners Doug and Tricia Frost, the home is a blend of wood and stone featuring local artistry. Guests may choose from a number of recreational amenities including a salt water swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, exercise room, yoga, nutritional cooking classes, and private trail system. The Forks is minutes away from Horseshoe Valley Ski and Golf Resort, Mount Saint Louis, Hardwood Hills, and many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forks in the Trail Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.