We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Close to Quantico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 Fettler Park Drive, Dumfries, VA 22025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
Huntingtown, MD
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Close to Quantico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

As the other reviewers noted, the Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center is an excellent new property that is, as the title denotes, close to Quantico, with abundant shopping and dining options near by. Parking and check-in were a breeze. They offered a $95 rate for a standard double with two queen beds, provided you have a Government ID. I've not been on base yet, but Google Maps, MapQuest, and some of the locals have indicated that its about 15 minutes away, even with morning base traffic factored in.

Holiday Inn really did an excellent job with the decor in this hotel. Everything is upscale, from marble everywhere - both on the floors of the lobby, the check-in desk, the bathrooms, and of course, the business center where I'm writing this review.

As other reviewers noted, the rooms are very spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The flat screen television is very nice and works well with basic cable plus all the premium channels and pay-per-view offered. My room has a well appointed work desk with connection for high-speed internet and a nice reading chair and lamp to read by. My room also has a refrigerator and microwave for leftovers or that extra bottle of water.

As with the bedroom, the bathroom area is spotless. Very clean. Plumbing all works well.

Having had a long day and a long drive, I didn't feel like going out for dinner or kibutzing in the Quantico Cafe & Bar restaurant. I ordered a club sandwich off the room service menu. While a club sandwich is a no-brainer, they did it well. It was delivered to me in under 15 minutes with a smile for $8.95 plus tip.

As a priority club member, I received a bottle of water at check in along with a ton of what appear to be Easter candies. With Easter approaching this coming Sunday, its nice to see that the hotel staff are creatively thinking about the how to take care of their guests.

All in all, I give the Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center very high marks - its an excellent place to stay, a good value and affordable, and close to Quantico.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
15
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brunswick, me
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This was a great hotel, just one exit north of base gates. Nice place to stay, with large common area in lobby and restaurant/bar. We did not eat at restaurant, but did have a few nightcaps with those in our party after a full day at Marine Corps base for a commisioning ceremony. I think the bar closed at 10 p.m. but the area is adjoining the common area and we were able to finish up rather lesiurely. The rooms were a nice size and clean. We had 3 between our party. The staff terrific and made all attempts at requests for early check in, room locations, and directions around town. There is not much to do at this exit, but again, it is close to base, which makes for limited traffic on 95 South to worry about. Three exits north (easy to do) there is an IKEA and a mall and any of the chain restaurants you could want. We ate at Macaroni Grill one night (terrific food but unusally strange service experience). At the hotel exit there is a Crackel Barrel and a Waffle House across the street. We tried both on our last day for breakfast. Both had incredibly long waits. We ended up trying The Montclair Family Restaurant (also across street from hotel) and were delighted to have the best breakfast, probably better than either of the others would have provided. The service was great. The food was terrific and very reasonable. We waited about 6 mintues compared to 45+ for a table at Crackle Barrel. There were 6 in our party and everyone agreed that it was top notch. As I said, we were in town for a a ceremony and graduation from OSC. After family day event on base we found enough time to go into Quantico center and have a bite of lunch. I can't remember what the name of the place is but it is in an old brick building on the right side coming from base onto the main street. Something "pub." In any case, the food was good and very reasonably priced. Large servings of soup or chili. The place is decorated with Marines Corps stuff, but be warned until December this is a smoking establishment.
After parade and ceremony day we had reservation at the Globe and Laurel restaurant. It is right outside the gate a few miles past the National Marine Corps Museum. Has a bar area and also lots of other dinner seating. Again, nice Marine Corps decor and owned by a retired Marine. Service was great for our party of 13. The food was fantastic all the way through dessert. I did not hear a single complaint from our large group. Overall, it was a nice place and fit nicely with the day's theme as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I was in Quantico for my sons OCS commissioning and stayed 3 nights here. The hotel was very close to the base and to the Marine Corp Museum but traffic was a huge problem. The hotel was very clean and the front desk was helpful. Never tried the restaurant so cannot comment on that. The room was comfortable. There are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

I went to visit my fiance at the Quantico Marine Corps base twice in Feb and March of 2008, and I stayed at the Holiday Inn both times. This is an excellent hotel. It is brand new. The rooms are clean and comfy. They have flat screen TVs in all the rooms and free internet access. The pool/hot tub area is nice. The staff was very polite and accommodaing. The hotel is very convenient to Quantico (just one exit up I-95) and also the Potomac Mills shopping center. I highly recommend this hotel, it's a great value.

  • Liked — Clean and new
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I was in the Virginia area as I had a committment at the nearby marine base, and while there are a great many hotels to choose from, this one was a great deal, not to mention it was brand new. I stayed from a Thursday to Sunday. The main foyer is beautiful - adorned in marble and contemporary furniture. There is also a bar and a small restaurant in the lobby, albeit, they appear to be relatively unused as far as I could tell over the course of the 4 days we stayed there.

Our room was a very decent size, with 2 queen beds and a very large flat screen TV. There was also a microwave, coffee maker and good sized fridge for our use.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and very accomodating. For instance, we made tea out of the coffee maker and the water appeared to come out a little dirty (likely it wasn't properly cleaned upon it's last use - no big deal) and we called the front desk to ask for some hot water. They were wonderfully accomodating and got us a lovely flask of hot water for our room.

There is a business center which we were able to access to print out maps of the area, as well as our bording passes, all free of charge. There was also free wireless available in our room and we encountered absolutely no problems in using it.

The hotel also offered a menu of pillows, and if you had a specific pillow preference, they would bring that one right up to you - nice touch! There was no complimentary breakfast at this hotel, although you could get free coffee in the lobby. Since we were staying there so cheaply that wasn't a big deal whatsoever. The restaurant in the lobby did, however, offer breakfast, although we never tried it out.

My only 2 beefs with the room were the fact that the bathroom door always shut on it's own. The fans in the bathroom didn't work very well and so the bathroom really stayed steamed up upon taking a shower. It was a real hassle to air out the bathroom as we could never prop open the door to help the steam escape. Eventually we had to use a suitcase to hold the door open. My other beef was the fact that the smoke alarm above one of the beds was left open and battery-less, which seemed a little careless and likely an oversight (in rushing to open the hotel..did I mention it was brand-new?), but this very obvious safety violation bothers me a quite a bit.

Overall, a very clean, comfortable and affordable stay. Great location and very accomodating staff. They just need to dot their i's a little with respect to some aspects of the room, but other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Good location, clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

New property which was having all kinds of problems during my stay. Water was literally running through the ceiling causing a closure of elevators and resulting in quite a mess. Unlike other local hotels, no free breakfast although a restaurant is on the premises. Room was large with nice large flat screen TV. Cleanliness and maintenance were so-so for such a new property. Staff was not the friendliest but they had problems to deal with.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was an attractive new Holiday Inn, and we were in town for an orienteering event (running in the nearby park). The room was very nice and everything was brand new, but the beautiful hot tub was empty and they closed the restaurant after we sat down, at only 8pm. We had some good food across the street at the Mayfair Family Restaurant. The staff was very nice.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center

Address: 3901 Fettler Park Drive, Dumfries, VA 22025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off of I-95, only minutes from the Quantico Marine Corps Base, and just 20 miles south of Washington, DC. Full-service hotel, new-built (2007), 100% non-smoking. Free Wireless and Wired High-speed Internet. On-site restaurant and bar, fitness center, outdoor pool, business center, meeting space for up 120 ppl. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Hotel Dumfries
Dumfries Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.