We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 Fettler Park Drive, Dumfries, VA 22025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

I went to visit my fiance at the Quantico Marine Corps base twice in Feb and March of 2008, and I stayed at the Holiday Inn both times. This is an excellent hotel. It is brand new. The rooms are clean and comfy. They have flat screen TVs in all the rooms and free internet access. The pool/hot tub area is nice. The staff was very polite and accommodaing. The hotel is very convenient to Quantico (just one exit up I-95) and also the Potomac Mills shopping center. I highly recommend this hotel, it's a great value.

  • Liked — Clean and new
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
15
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I was in the Virginia area as I had a committment at the nearby marine base, and while there are a great many hotels to choose from, this one was a great deal, not to mention it was brand new. I stayed from a Thursday to Sunday. The main foyer is beautiful - adorned in marble and contemporary furniture. There is also a bar and a small restaurant in the lobby, albeit, they appear to be relatively unused as far as I could tell over the course of the 4 days we stayed there.

Our room was a very decent size, with 2 queen beds and a very large flat screen TV. There was also a microwave, coffee maker and good sized fridge for our use.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and very accomodating. For instance, we made tea out of the coffee maker and the water appeared to come out a little dirty (likely it wasn't properly cleaned upon it's last use - no big deal) and we called the front desk to ask for some hot water. They were wonderfully accomodating and got us a lovely flask of hot water for our room.

There is a business center which we were able to access to print out maps of the area, as well as our bording passes, all free of charge. There was also free wireless available in our room and we encountered absolutely no problems in using it.

The hotel also offered a menu of pillows, and if you had a specific pillow preference, they would bring that one right up to you - nice touch! There was no complimentary breakfast at this hotel, although you could get free coffee in the lobby. Since we were staying there so cheaply that wasn't a big deal whatsoever. The restaurant in the lobby did, however, offer breakfast, although we never tried it out.

My only 2 beefs with the room were the fact that the bathroom door always shut on it's own. The fans in the bathroom didn't work very well and so the bathroom really stayed steamed up upon taking a shower. It was a real hassle to air out the bathroom as we could never prop open the door to help the steam escape. Eventually we had to use a suitcase to hold the door open. My other beef was the fact that the smoke alarm above one of the beds was left open and battery-less, which seemed a little careless and likely an oversight (in rushing to open the hotel..did I mention it was brand-new?), but this very obvious safety violation bothers me a quite a bit.

Overall, a very clean, comfortable and affordable stay. Great location and very accomodating staff. They just need to dot their i's a little with respect to some aspects of the room, but other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Good location, clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

New property which was having all kinds of problems during my stay. Water was literally running through the ceiling causing a closure of elevators and resulting in quite a mess. Unlike other local hotels, no free breakfast although a restaurant is on the premises. Room was large with nice large flat screen TV. Cleanliness and maintenance were so-so for such a new property. Staff was not the friendliest but they had problems to deal with.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was an attractive new Holiday Inn, and we were in town for an orienteering event (running in the nearby park). The room was very nice and everything was brand new, but the beautiful hot tub was empty and they closed the restaurant after we sat down, at only 8pm. We had some good food across the street at the Mayfair Family Restaurant. The staff was very nice.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed in Dumfries, Virginia for 12 days for work. During our stay We had one of horrible experience in our life, atleast I did.
The water came through the window while it rained. The AC unit had opening and cricket will come in the room and make noise. The breakfast is not free like other hotels We all had to pay.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Not the Holiday Inn's of the past. Contemporary, roomy, flat panel TV. Nice small bar and limited menu restaurant.
Unfortunately the pool is outside and no lobby coffee.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — No coffee in the lobby
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinholds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Hotel is just off I-95 and about 45 minutes south of Washington, D.C. Restaurants and gas stations are nearby.

This hotel does have a pool and a spa -- both looked nice and clean.

Pros: The hotel is about 4 months old so all of the furnishings and the hotel itself are very clean. The rooms have flat screen TV's and very comfortable beds. Also was a pretty quiet hotel during our stay.

Cons: A very minor detail. This Holiday Inn does not provide a continental breakfast, and the prices in the hotel restaurant were a bit steep. Don't worry, though. The Montclair Family Restaurant right across the street is a much cheaper alternative. Family of 3 ate for $20 -- including the tip. There's also a Cracker Barrel -- not my favorite -- down the street.

Overall: A great location if you are traveling to D.C. from the south along I-95. Could be used as a home base for trips to Civil War battlefields in nearby Manassas. Much cheaper (paid about $95 per night) than other Washington-area hotels.

  • Liked — It's brand new and very clean.
  • Disliked — Lack of a free continental breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center

Address: 3901 Fettler Park Drive, Dumfries, VA 22025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off of I-95, only minutes from the Quantico Marine Corps Base, and just 20 miles south of Washington, DC. Full-service hotel, new-built (2007), 100% non-smoking. Free Wireless and Wired High-speed Internet. On-site restaurant and bar, fitness center, outdoor pool, business center, meeting space for up 120 ppl. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Hotel Dumfries
Dumfries Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.