We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mateo's Santa Fe Cafe

Mateo's Santa Fe Cafe
5081 Waterway Drive, Dumfries, VA
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 47 restaurants in Dumfries
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this one!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went based on the recommendation of some friends, and we were not disappointed. Excellent southwest Santa Fe style, not many get it right, but this place definitely does. Love the Kokopelli motif! Well done classy restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    5
    4
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Mateo's based on recommendation from a friend. We started with the Eight Layer Nachos which included some of the best guacamole I have ever tasted. I had a very good Chili Relleno with a delicious corn pudding, and my friend had the Shredded Beef Enchiladas, with a choice of red or green sauce. We choose the red, the hotter of the two, which was very flavorful but not too hot. We were impressed! The service was quick and friendly, and we will definitely dine there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Its worth trying - there is nothing like it in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have eaten here once and usually get the food to go. The food is good, service just average. I don't care for the layout of the restaurant. I don't think it is especially great for families with small children. They do not have draft beer if your a beer drinker. Prices seem a little high for the portions served. I agree with one of the previous reviewers that this is okay once or twice a year. They have a few tables if you want to sit outside. It is located in a shopping center.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Southwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The experience here has definitely evolved since they opened up, they are constantly tweaking the menu, flavors, tableware and portions. There are some nice things on the menu, and it's fun to choose from a large variety of authentic southwestern items you don't see from most casual dining restaurants. Free chips and salsa. The jalapeno cheese soup is very good, has a kick to it, and is great for dipping with your free chips. The soup used to be spicier, we think - they may be responding to comments about the heat. The portions seem to have gotten smaller, but seem to be in line with what you'd get at a Friday's, Ruby Tuesday's or places like that, if not a bit more generous. Like the margarita here, good variety, full service bar. We will probably eat here 3-4 times a year. With the evolving menu and presentation, agree with a previous reviewer that it often has the feel of "we just opened" and some of the waitstaff seem a bit inexperienced at times, but they have always been pleasant and helpful, and will make every effort to make things right. We like this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not A Bad Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The southwestern menu is decent. There are several nice choices and they are usually good. The service has never been impressive. It's ok once or twice a year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mateo's Santa Fe Cafe also viewed

Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 
Dumfries, Prince William County
 

Been to Mateo's Santa Fe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mateo's Santa Fe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.