We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place when on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17470 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Dumfries, VA 22026   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place when on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stay in April 2013 while we where on our way from Canada to Fort Lauderdale. This place was clean, the bed soft and the room was nice with a reasonnable price. The breakfast could have been better but I recommand this hotel while traveling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAdkins, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about our property. We are continuing to make changes and upgrades to our hotel and breakfast. Please stop by on your next trip and experience our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was recently here for a weekend. The price we paid was fine for our room. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat the breakfast there, but it smelled decent. This is a no frills hotel, so if you're looking for a quick stay, this is a great place! Easily accessible from the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I thought it was okay; but, after staying at some other hotels in stafford, VA why stay at this place? I felt that the hotel smelt like a wet dog. It didn't smell so much in the room but in the lobby and the hallways it had an odd smell. The only real good part is that it is very close to Quantico Marine Corps base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It wasn't our first choice but the a/c went out in our first hotel. The Sleep Inn had plenty of available rooms and was still close to my husbands conference. He was there to two weeks (poor guy), I flew in for a long weekend. The place had been refurbished, which was interesting since it looked like it was about due again. We changed rooms twice due to maintenance issues. They staff was very accommodating and willing to work with us. One room had no door jam mechanism so the lock could easily be opened with a card. So we sure to check this on your room. Nearly all the a/c units front venting was broken and some hanging off. We were told this happened during the remodel by the contractors and they just left them. Nice. At least they work. Funny thing, we didn't realize how bad our shower head was in the 2nd room until we were moved again and man what a difference the new one made.

The rooms were all clean and pretty spacious for two people and all our stuff. Small sink area so had to keep my toiletries on the microwave next to the coffee maker, which was fine. There was also a small refrigerator. The breakfast was nice, with coffee & juice, cereals (hot & cold), yogurts, breads, pastries and hard boiled eggs (which I liked). There is a McDonalds around the corner which I walked to one morning for a latte. It's a very busy area traffic-wise, but I felt perfectly safe. There is also a Dunkin Donuts down the hill at Triangle - it's called that because the shape of the intersection I'm guessing. It's about 2 miles maybe, so a good walk if you like. I'm not big on pastries, but the coffee is the best in my book!

I cannot say enough about the staff I met while there. They were all very nice and very helpful when asked. They really seemed to want you to have a nice stay while there. Even after changing rooms twice, they offered to move us again when my husband mentioned the broken a/c vent. We didn't move again, but just the fact that they were completely fine with it. The woman didn't even hesitate, just wanting us to be comfortable. We really appreciated that.

Room Tip: Check out the door jam locking mechanism and shower head flow before unpacking. Nothing worse then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nothing fancy here, but cozy enough for a short stay. Breakfast was good with waffles, cereal, bagels, fruit and yogurt. Staff was minimally nice..nothing extravagant. Would be a good stay for DC travel or just a pit stop!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I needed a motel near the National Museum of the Marine Corps. Just 2.4 miles away. Check in time is 3:00 P.M., I arrived just after 12 noon. A room was avialable so no problem. Room has a micowave and small refrigerator.. Also a cooffe maker.

Bathrrom only has a shower. Sink area is a tad small, but enough space. Two beds with four pillows each. a iron and board are under a area for hanging cloths.

a Philips flat screen tv has about 75 channels. There is a coin laundry, but the washer unit was down, was able to use the facilities washer. Dryer was operable. Cost for each is $2.00.

Each room is smoke free.

The cleaning staff starts soon after 8:00 A.M. Use your Do Not Disturb sign if sleeping in.

For breakfast, the doors open 7:00. to 10:00 A.M. You will have a choice of two dry cereals, donuts, apple/orange juice and coffee. Oranges and apples for fresh fruit. A waffle maker also avialable.

In the lobby is a P.C., with a 20 minute limit.

A Mexicam restaurant is across Jeffderson Davis Hwy, but traffic makes for a difficult crossing. There is a Ruby Tuesdays .4 mile north of Sleep Inn. With an Applebees north of Ruby Tuesdays.

I could have stayed stayed at a lesser expensive motel. The Sleep Inn had good reviews. Also there no foreign accents to deal with. I would stay again without hesitation.

Jack. Syracuse, New York

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had been driving for 8 hours so it was time to stop for the night. Very sketchy area, didnt feel safe so didnt venture out. Staff at reception very nice, breakfast was average, room was clean but basic, and walls were very thin. A/C worked but noisy so very hot at night. But it was fine for one night at €77 including parking, wifi and breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amykeen, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
I wanted to thank you very much for your review. I first wanted to assure you that this area is extremely safe. We are extremely proud to have high profile government agencies as clients therefore our hotel guidelines to safety on a very high level. As for your noisey air conditioning. I do apologize, once it was reported with a problem, we repaired it right away and is quiet again. Thank you so much for staying with us and hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 17470 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Dumfries, VA 22026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Dumfries
Dumfries Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.