We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging out on a summer afternoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tim's River Shore Restaurant and Crabhouse

Tim's River Shore Restaurant and Crabhouse
1510 Cherryhill Road, Dumfries, VA 22026
(703) 441-1375
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Dumfries
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hanging out on a summer afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food was good just the meal I got wasn't more than good. I will go back, it's a nice place, sometimes a little hurried if you know what I mean and that's when it turns average

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VaGoldVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steamed shrimp anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tim's restaurant is a little tricky to find by car but well worth the search. If you arrive by boat via the Potomac River it is right on the Virginia shoreline east of Dumfries. Tim's offers a variety of seafood items, including hardshell crabs (in season) but in my humble opinion the steamed shrimp that Tim's serves is by far the best I have ever tasted. When you go to Tim's, and you should, order what appeals to you, it's all very good, but please do not leave without trying the steamed shrimp. Dress is casual and the setting is quite relaxing. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labatteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“CRABS CRABS CRABS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Quality of crabs was great, and they kept on coming--hot from the steamer. Finally a place like maryland diner which serve on the water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ourtake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beachy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nothing fancy here! It's a great place to go eat seafood, play a little Keno, and watch all the boats come in. Very casual place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carsicknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looks like this could be fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this restaurant using an internet search. It's definitely off the beaten path but looks like it could be fun in season! We were there on a Tuesday night in September and it felt like "end of the season." Good food and the waitress was very pleasant. It's right on the Potomac so there is a waterfront feel to it. Inside eating and outdoor decks and tiki bar. There was a huge sandy area with what look liked a bonfire pit and stacks of outdoor chairs. I bet this place is hopping in the summer; there are boat docks attached so I'm assuming that they get boating customers too. The interior was sort of nautical, random, organized disarray theme - one of those with an intentionally unconventional feel. The food was good. The only weird thing is that a train goes zooming by periodically and some of the parking is on the other side of the tracks. Wouldn't want to have a few drinks and then attempt to traverse that train track. I would recommend this restaurant for a fun evening out where atmosphere is more important than the actual food. My friend had the all you can eat crabs for $20 (the special was only if you paid cash). I had stuffed shrimp. Very good. The waitress let me sample a brew they were offering which was a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim's River Shore Restaurant and Crabhouse also viewed

Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 
Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 

Been to Tim's River Shore Restaurant and Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing