We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Completely rude staff and manger, meager conditions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base

Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17005 Dumfries Road, Dumfries, VA 22025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall Completely rude staff and manger, meager conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I checked into my hotel room at 1am and got to bed at 2am only to be woken by a front desk person at 6:00am telling them to move my vehicle for no apparent reason. I was very tired and said "no" on the phone and hung up. They continued to call and call and call until I was forced out of bed. My vehicle was parked in a parking spot at the hotel but they needed a bunch of spots in a row for a delivery. I was extremely upset with only 4 hours of sleep. The front desk did not apologize and the manager (barely speaks english) was even ruder. They did not offer a discount but said I could stay until 12noon. Well, I had to be on the road by 9am and couldn't get to sleep after that debacle. They were rude and didn't care about their customers or customer service AT ALL. There was another person staying at the hotel who had to move his car as well and they actually pounded on his door at 6am. Regarding the hotel itself, the rooms are a decent size but very worn and dirty.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
9
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel has improved now...... You would not find any other hotel at this low price.... I have been in this hotel several times and i did not see any bug there. They have changed there breakfast room.... its more spacious and well decorated now, although they do not have English muffins but their glazed donuts are delicious. I have no complaints with their customer service as well. Its a nice place for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanco,NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here using an I-95 coupon book and expected little but a decent night's sleep. We were surprised to find that though the halls were iffy the rooms were recently redecorated and quite nice. It was clean and had a frig, microwave and free internet. The location was excellent. The only downside was the breakfast - white bread, Fruit Loops, glazed donuts. The addition of English muffins, better cereal, yoghurt, and jam would have made a world off difference to us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Unlike some reviewers, I don't look at a motel charging bottom dollar and expect anything more than relatively clean, relatively quiet, and a bed I can sleep on. I have stayed at this motel several times, and have received just that each time. Not much more, I grant you, but then if I expect much more, I also expect to pay for that - at a more expensive hotel. When I prefer not to do that, I stay here.

Anyone expecting the A/V jacks on the TV or a real breakfast at the rate this place charges needs to take a look at the rate, and decide whether it's worth it to take a very short walk to 2 different restaurants who serve a good, cheap breakfast, with two more a longer walk or very short drive away, or pay a higher rate to get a slight upgrade somewhere else. And I have never had a problem with billing or their front desk personnel, either, except for a bit of a language barrier at times.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

microwave and noisy fridge in the room, with no iron or hairdryer. TV was so old it did not have audio and video plugs so as to connect my media player
enroute we called to make the reservation, but they would not honour the internet rate, so in their parking lot, I logged onto their website and made an online reservation, walked to the front desk and got the 10% internet discount
across the road in a strip mall are an IHop and a new Japanese restaurant - Nori express
request a room not fronting the main road

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our only stop that was not researched and pre-planned during our recent trip. At what seemed like an otherwise safe exit, the lobby was locked at 10pm when we arrived. The hotel was not in very good shape, the door to our room showing signs that it had been pried open at one point. There were several "interesting" people loitering outside the hotel when we arrived so we quickly ushered our two year-old twins inside. The beds were comfortable, but we found both ants and other small bugs in our bathroom. When we checked out the "breakfast" in the morning, all that was available were the drink machines and two mini-muffins in a small plexi-glass container where the pastries obviously sit. Was it worth paying $30 less than the other rooms in the area? It's debatable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

They are not honest peoples. When i check in, they don't give me a receipt. When i leave, they said their computer was out of order . If i want a receipt i have to wait few hours.
So i leave without a receipt and when i check my account on internet, they have bill two days. I ask my credit card to have a refund. And i get it.

Stay away

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base

Address: 17005 Dumfries Road, Dumfries, VA 22025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dumfries
Dumfries Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Quantico Marine Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.