We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and loud AC/Heater under window” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16959 Old Stage Road, Dumfries, VA 22026   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Agana, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old and loud AC/Heater under window”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed a couple hundred nights with Hilton brand hotels over the last 2 years and I tried to like this Hampton and the one at the Stafford exit but couldn't. The staff is fantastic and the place is clean. This one still has the loud old style heater/ac under the window and it wasn't on a thermostat. It drove me crazy. I moved down the road to the Staybridge which is great if you are staying for more than a couple nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. At the Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico we strive to make every guest's stay a comfortable and satisfying experience. Thank you for noticing that our staff was friendly and our location was clean. I'm pleased you were happy with that aspect of your stay.

Regarding the packaged thermal air conditioner (PTAC) in your room, I'm sorry this type of system did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance team regularly performs routine maintenance of these General Electric units and I regret that this system was not as quiet as you desired.

In an effort to continually review and improve our operation, I have shared your information with our ownership team. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you the best in all your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

Todd Patterson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
43
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I should have written a review the second time, but I was pleasantly surprised enough with our first stay to repeat it two months later.

We had a king size bed, with micro-microwave and small fridge, enough for our needs. Of course, there is free internet, but it is available both via wi-fi and broadband. AT&T customers will find their appropriate devices automatically connect, once you're within range, on that wi-fi network. The room was comfortable upon our arrival, in spite of the cold weather outside. There are restaurants nearby, but nothing really preferable within walking distance.

Our previous stay showed us how dynamic the free breakfast can be. Very nice dining area with several small couple tables and a large, bar chair community table. The front desk clerk called up to our room, shortly after our arrival, to check on us, which was nice. Of course, she was also quite pleasant.

I would definitely recommend this hotel again, and if I weren't moving into the immediate area myself, I'd use it again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. The staff at the Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico makes every effort to make our hotel your “home away from home,” and offer great customer service to each of our guests. We love having you here! I did want to point out to readers of this review names of restaurants that are within walking distance of the hotel. They include Cracker Barrel, Waffle House, Montclair Family Restaurant, Tiziano’s Italian Restaurant, IHOP and Subway. Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My business requires I travel to Quantico, VA several times a year. Travel is expensive and I wish to maximize the value I get out of the whole requirement. For a place to stay that means Hampton Inn Dumfies/Quantico. The facilities are outstanding the breakfast both in the dinning room or a bag to go serves me well, the staff is outstanding always friendly and helpful when needed. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to the Dumfries, Triangle, Quantico, Stafford area.

Room Tip: I like them all and believe I have over time gotten to use each category / building location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very clean and comfortable not to mention close to everything, especially Quantico. Don't recall the managers name, but she was a hoot, and obviously liked her job! Morning breakfast very good and tytpical of Hamptons. The only problem I can think of is the glitch in the cable, as some of the shows would get pixilated while I watched, but that had nothing to do with the hotel. I will make this my place to stay while in Dumfries in the future,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in July looking for housing for our cross-country relocation to the DC area in August. Our flight had been delayed and we did not arrive until 11pm. At check in our reservation could not be found (just a computer glitch) and the there was not a king room available as we had booked. The woman at the front desk was very kind and we decided to grab a late-night dinner across the road while she worked on it. When we got back the staff had cleaned a King Executive Suite for us (an upgrade) so we could have a king bed as requested. They also sent us up with snacks and water bottles. Above and beyond and very much appreciated!

The hotel itself was spotless. Very comfortable bed, free and great in-room wi-fi connection, large fridge/microwave in room, very large bathroom with huge vanity area, large flat screen tv in the room, clean pool area, nice workout room, great business center area with printers, and hot breakfast every morning and cookies in the evening were excellent. Parking was free and this hotel is very convenient to I-95. Even in stand-still rush hour traffic it only took us about 35 to 40 minutes to get to downtown DC.

I just can't say enough good things about this property. I have traveled extensively for work and I have always had a great stay at Hampton Inn's. However, the staff at this Dumfries location are what make this hotel outstanding. In high school and through college I worked front desk and housekeeping at hotels in WI Dells, WI. Since I have been in their shoes I have high expectations. Every front desk person, maintenance staff, breakfast attendant, and housekeeping person were polite, friendly, and welcoming.

Another example of their great customer service is our last night at the hotel We were supposed to check out on Sunday and had a last-minute flight change to Monday. It seemed like every hotel room in the DC area was booked including our current hotel for Sunday night. I asked about availability at breakfast (was told they were full), walked up to our room, and received a phone call that they had worked it out so we could not only stay one more night, but we could keep our same room. Outstanding! When we move this month we hope to bring the kids and stay here until our house is ready for move in.

Great job!

Room Tip: We had 216. An oversized room right off the elevator on the 2nd floor. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pretty much standard Hampton Inn. Room was clean and quiet, I have a personal peeve about curtains blowing in the airconditioning but that seems normal for some reason. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Recommendations for local restaurants was spot on. Breakfast was just ok.

Room Tip: Consider a King Bed room. The two queens take up most of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APACHE JUNCTION
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much, would recommend to our biker friends. Good location,several popular eateries near by Close to quantico veterans cemetery and other military stuff. We were there for Memorial weekend to ride in the parade for our 3 rd time, saw hundreds of other biker vets and there wives.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico

Address: 16959 Old Stage Road, Dumfries, VA 22026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico Hotel Dumfries
Dumfries Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.