We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is up and down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potbelly Sandwich Works

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Potbelly Sandwich Works
22035 Dulles Retail Plaza #100, Dulles, VA 20166
571-434-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Dulles
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service is up and down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Let me start with I really like Pot Belly, especially when they moved into the Reston Town Centre years ago. I'm a brown bagger most of the time but at times we would leave the office to have some lunch with others and the options are not all that great for just sandwiches. Good price for good food. However, the few times I've visited the location in Dulles - near the Wegman's plaza - the service is at times SO slow when it should not be. There would be 3-5 people in line, and only one person making the sandwiches, with other employees doing other things - and these tasks never seemed to be important. Now, would you not try to get through the rest of the customers instead of talking away with other co-workers? Not that we were in a hurry, but come on. As a previous waitress, we were trained to make sure customers were taken care of asap. So, come on PB! You've got good food - don't ruin it with slow service! We visited this on a Saturday so not sure what it is like during the week. The Reston location works like a huge oiled machine - way to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Germantown
Level Contributor
362 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Avoid the "Oarmeal" because its not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Potbelly do sandwiches and do them well. However they seem to have jumped on the breakfast wagon and in an attempt to compete with all the other breakfast providers have added "oatmeal".
It is not oatmeal. Clearly out of a package with water added and stirred into a gruel that is tasteless, lumpy and unpleasant
Big mistake IMO to try and fail so badly. Better to. It offer it than diminish the brand

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unusual, delicious sandwich shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lots of choices, fresh ingredients, customize your sandwich if you wish. Location was great -- in shopping center with lots of stores. Bread was fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great sandwich shop while waiting for a flight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I flew into Dulles (Washington DC) from Los Angeles for a three day business meeting. After landing I knew we had a three hour bus ride to our destination so wanted to grab something for the road. An associate who had flown into Dulles before suggested Potbelly and I'm glad he did.

The shop is small and has a two-price structure. No matter what sandwich you order the small is one price (about $5.90) and the large is a bit more. They also have salads as well. The set up is similar to a Quiznos in that you order the sandwich and chose bread and cheese. The sandwich is then toasted ending up where you choose what other toppings you want on your sandwich. They have bottled drinks (water, sodas, teas, and beer), a wide variety of chips, and some of the largest whole pickles I've ever seen.

I ordered the Turkey Breast while others in our party other kinds (Tuna, chicken breast, etc.). All of us agreed the sandwiches were very good. I liked mine enough that when I flew out a couple of days later I bought another to take on the plane. If and when I fly again into Dulles I will have no hesitation to going to Potbelly again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArchieMYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had a couple of vegetarian options. Not the best I've ever had, but a solid choice for lunch. In the Wegman's shopping center.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potbelly Sandwich Works also viewed

Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Potbelly Sandwich Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing