We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the "Oarmeal" because its not” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Potbelly Sandwich Works

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Potbelly Sandwich Works
22035 Dulles Retail Plaza #100, Dulles, VA 20166
571-434-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Dulles
Restaurant details
Germantown
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Avoid the "Oarmeal" because its not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Potbelly do sandwiches and do them well. However they seem to have jumped on the breakfast wagon and in an attempt to compete with all the other breakfast providers have added "oatmeal".
It is not oatmeal. Clearly out of a package with water added and stirred into a gruel that is tasteless, lumpy and unpleasant
Big mistake IMO to try and fail so badly. Better to. It offer it than diminish the brand

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unusual, delicious sandwich shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lots of choices, fresh ingredients, customize your sandwich if you wish. Location was great -- in shopping center with lots of stores. Bread was fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great sandwich shop while waiting for a flight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I flew into Dulles (Washington DC) from Los Angeles for a three day business meeting. After landing I knew we had a three hour bus ride to our destination so wanted to grab something for the road. An associate who had flown into Dulles before suggested Potbelly and I'm glad he did.

The shop is small and has a two-price structure. No matter what sandwich you order the small is one price (about $5.90) and the large is a bit more. They also have salads as well. The set up is similar to a Quiznos in that you order the sandwich and chose bread and cheese. The sandwich is then toasted ending up where you choose what other toppings you want on your sandwich. They have bottled drinks (water, sodas, teas, and beer), a wide variety of chips, and some of the largest whole pickles I've ever seen.

I ordered the Turkey Breast while others in our party other kinds (Tuna, chicken breast, etc.). All of us agreed the sandwiches were very good. I liked mine enough that when I flew out a couple of days later I bought another to take on the plane. If and when I fly again into Dulles I will have no hesitation to going to Potbelly again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a couple of vegetarian options. Not the best I've ever had, but a solid choice for lunch. In the Wegman's shopping center.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really good sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I'm not a huge sandwich lover but I easy pleasantly surprised at their sandwiches. Warm, toasted and fresh.
Liked the live music at lunch time, too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potbelly Sandwich Works also viewed

Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Potbelly Sandwich Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potbelly Sandwich Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.