We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max & Erma's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Max & Erma's
44844 Autopilot Drive, Dulles International Airport, Dulles, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Dulles
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bishkek
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

First time eating there and pleasantly surprised. It was busy, we were seated fast, our server was very attentive and prompt and the food was delicious. Fairly priced (for an airport!!) Will return on my next trip. Harry's Tap Room lost a customer and Max & Erma's gained one :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Cheeseburger and French Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

On Sunday November 10, 2013 at 5pm I purchased a Starbucks hot chocolate at Washington Dulles International Airport near gate B71. I took the hot chocolate into Max & Erma’s. The restaurant was not crowded and I sat on a bench at a table where I could place my purse, backpack and carry-on bag. I liked the music playing, although a touch loud, perhaps to counter the two TVs at the bar playing USA vs. Brazil soccer and a football game. Jonathan, the waiter, was pleasant and helpful. I enjoyed an excellent 10-oz hand-formed well-done cheeseburger with cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, and pickle chip, and excellent freshly cooked French Fries ($11.01). It was served on a nice white china plate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Attitude Stinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My significant other and I were looking for a quick breakfast before boarding our flight. We spotted this place, looked briefly at the menu and decided to give it a shot. We both ordered a pre-designed breakfast. The waiter was cordial. The food came out and it was good. Nothing exceptional but good. As we finished our meals, my SO asked me, "Don't we get potatoes with this breakfast?" I didn't think so but I got up and looked at the menu by the entrance and sure enough it called for potatoes. We had to leave and we were finished. I asked the waiter what happened to the potatoes. He didn't have an answer. He then said, "You want potatoes?" I said not now we had to leave but you can adjust the price to account for not providing what the menu called for. This is where I became upset. He looked at us and said, "You refused the potatoes, so there will be no price adjustment." I was shocked. We didn't refuse when we originally ordered. If we had told them to hold the potatoes then I could accept paying full price. The cook and waiter, who should be familiar with the menu, forgot it, not the customer. Since the waiter had such an attitude, I adjusted his tip -- downward. After two weeks, I had not heard from the franchise at the airport, but I did finally hear from the corporate office. Not much they could do to "make it right." I was not impressed with the help or an even less impressed that after an email the franchise owner refused to call and offer any kind of explanation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast Review.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Bacon, eggs, and fruit were perfectly cooked and served in a timely manner. Waiter was there when needed. He sat me next to the electrical outlet - knew exactly where it was. Good spot for those who stress about missing flight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
680 helpful votes 680 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had the choice of a few fast food places, including Five Guys, to choose from, but decided to try this place since it was a sit down restaurant. I could not have been more disappointed. While the server was pleasant and tried to have fun with his customers, it got a little tiresome and intrusive after a while.

As for the food, I could have gotten the same or better burger at Five Guys for half the cost.

Don't waste your money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Erma's also viewed

Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Max & Erma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max & Erma's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.