We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging course and exceptional training facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1757 Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1757 Golf Club
45120 Waxpool Road, Dulles, VA 20166
703 444-0901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Dulles
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Challenging course and exceptional training facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a challenging course that was slated to be an extremely high-end private club until the economy bottomed out. The training facility is world class and it's hard to find a better short game practice area. There is also an excellent club-fitting facility and plenty of good instructors. The lighted driving range means you can practice after work and when the weather's nice they have live music on the patio. The indoor lesson facility has state of the art cameras, etc. that make it several notches above the typical lesson experience. There's even a place in there for corporate parties/lessons. Plus it's right by Wegman's so I usually swing by there to pick up food for dinner after playing golf. A perfect day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A frustrating experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I played the course yesterday and was not pleased with the layout. It is not a good course for the average golfer- even a reasonably good strike can result in trouble or even a lost ball. There are simply too many holes where a reasonably good shot is not rewarded because of bad bounces. The practice facility is first rate as is the clubhouse, but unless you really want to be challenged or frustrated, I would look elsewhere. Try Westfields in Centerville- an excellent course that is always in good condition and gives you a fair shot at hitting greens in regulation from the appropriate tee boxes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Challenging course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

1757 is a challenging course that rewards those who keep it in the fairway. Went out the fist time as a guest, a few weeks later purchased the Player's Club card and a few weeks later joined as a 7-Day member. I have heard it can get a little backed up but to date I haven't had a t time after 8am so pretty safe. Practice facility is amazing!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slooow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As others have stated the practice facilities are good but the pace of play on the course is literally the worst I have encountered anywhere. For the first time in my life I called the clubhouse to ask for a ranger as a par three on the front, which took nearly 3 hours, had 4 foursomes on the hole (one on the green and 3 foursomes on the tee box). Can be $100. Although farther away take your cash to Raspberry Falls or Bull Run.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“best driving range around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

1757 is an immaculate driving range and golf course. Bit expensive but worth it! feels like a high-end private club.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1757 Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to 1757 Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1757 Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.