We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgiving for average golfer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1757 Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1757 Golf Club
45120 Waxpool Road, Dulles, VA 20166
703 444-0901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Dulles
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Ivins, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unforgiving for average golfer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Im a mid handicapper and it can be a frustrating experience. Balls seem to find their way into the water or the ruff even on decent shots, everything slopes to the water. This was designed as a private course for very good golfers and it shows. Moving up to the whites does not solve the problem. We came back to play on a rain check that was given because when we were there the last time they were an hour behind, a complaint echoed by others . The good, the personnel are friendly, the proshop pointed out as a senior I should have gotten a $33 discount which they gave me and the restaurant is excellent, filled with a lot of nongolfers. It you start out with the assumption you will score high and will lose a lot of balls , you'll do fine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“Overcrowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Do not play this course at the weekends, the tee times are eight minutes apart and they cut tee times to four minutes, they squeeze in guests on the back nine which causes more delays on the first tee. I had to wait 1 hour before i could tee off, my tee time was 11am i did not tee off till 12.10 pm then it took me almost 6 hours to play my round. Felt sorry for the starter as he was taking so much hassle from frustrated guests. The G Manager needs to be replaced by someone who knows what they are doing!!!!!!!!!!!! Will not play there again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice, varied. challenging track; reasonably priced; great practice facilities

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“go for the lunch bucket of balls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The course is short and full of water, For good golfers, it is a great place to work on irons and 3wood shots. For newbies and occasional players, the water will frustrate you. Bring plenty of balls. The driving range is superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent golf destination -- with some reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Well-maintained and friendly golfing destination, not far from Dulles Airport. Facilities are excellent, esp. the Driving Range next to the Club House. We had to be very patient waiting for our turn on the tees, even on a weekday. We do not attribute blame to the Course Marshalls and Starters whom we found professional and understanding. Main problem seems to be the disparate mix of players: ahead of us, family with 2 young beginners, one of whom was equipped with only one club; and an over- fussy person in our group who wanted each and every ball on the green to be marked!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1757 Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to 1757 Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1757 Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.