We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Firkin & Fox

Firkin & Fox
1 Saarinen Cir, Dulles International Airport, Terminal C, Dulles, VA 20166
(703) 661-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 49 Restaurants in Dulles
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is NOT pub food. It's pub atmosphere but the food is reheated and served cold. The hot cocoa was the only thing hot. Ugh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A new low in food - Don't waste your time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I ordered a bowl of the clam chowder soup at this place and the appearance seemed OK, but upon tasting the "soup" it was white water without any flavor. If there was a clam in there, I would have been shocked. There were some numbs they called potatoes, but the whole dish was without any flavor - i.e. white colored water.

I fly out of Dulles almost on a weekly basis and I will never go back to this place. I haven't eaten at all the restaurants in the world, but this is the worst one I have encountered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Worst food experience in an airport - EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had one of the most miserable airport dining experiences at this restaurant in the Dulles airport on Friday, 4/4/14. Listed under "Fine Fare" on the Specials section of the menu, I ordered the Firkin Fish Wrap described as "Crispy Beer-Battered Fish in a wrap stuffed with Lettuce, Avocado and Chipotle Mayo. Served with a Caesar Salad!" for $11.99 The fish, what there was of it, was far from crispy. A few small pieces of soggy fish crammed into a wrap with tons of lettuce and a few strips of avocado. The accompanying "caesar salad" was a poor example with brown lettuce and tasteless bread cubes. Not only was the food disgusting, it was way overpriced considering how bad it was. Furthermore, I chose this restaurant because I thought I might be able to get a decent beer with dinner. The only craft beer that was listed on the menu was not available. This place is a major disappointment and not recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst meal in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Food was a big disappointment , French fries tasted like cardboard , wings where barely cooked and table service was just terrible . Our host Jeaneth C was rude and unprofessional . Don't believe ? Give it a try !

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very good for an airport restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Surprisingly, this place was very good for being in an airport where quality and service are typically poor. The place was packed but the service was very brisk and friendly and the portions were huge and tasty. Lots of typical English food choices. We were impressed with the overall operation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firkin & Fox also viewed

Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Firkin & Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firkin & Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.