We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what I needed after a long flight. A bit isolated...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's what I needed after a long flight. A bit isolated...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had an overnight connection at Washington (IAD) on my flight from Munich to Cancun.
The hotel was exactly what I needed.
A good warm shower and a large bed to spend the night.
The only negative point was a bad odor that I realized upon entering the room, which soon disappeared.
The hotel also has an Irish bar.
And there is no way to get to downtown DC in the evening. Too bad. Was hoping to see the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Maxim F,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Holiday Inn. I have shared your comments regarding the odor in your room with our Executive Housekeeper and she will be ensuring that rooms are thoroughly inspected before our guests arrive. We would love for you to stay with us again if your travels ever bring you back to the Dulles area. Thank you!

Bob Janis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    88
    45
    23
    13
See reviews for
41
39
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles is a great hotel that I have stayed at on more than 40 occasions. During each stay, the staff was not only considerate but also adaptable to the parameters of my stay. Regardless of my request, whether it be a late checkout or complimentary toiletries, the hotel staff was ready and willing to comply with my every need. In addition, Holiday Inn-Dulles boats one of the best in-hotel restaurants I have ever visited. For lunches and dinners, O'Malley's Sports Pub and Grill is open between 11:30AM and Midnight every night of the week. Though not open for late night drinking, this restaurant/bar is a good eating and drinking location for both individuals, groups of friends and families alike; sporting more than 20 tables as well as a respectably sized bar. Service here is fantastic. Each and every server attends to you as a client within less than five minutes, and returns to your seat or table frequently to ensure your satisfaction. Additionally, they are all personable and fun spirited people who care about you more as a person than as a customer. These ideal qualities in a server are embodied most notably by Joanie, a regular bartender, who takes the time to remember your name, where you come from, and what you like to eat and drink. I recommend anybody who overnights in Washington DC or Sterling, VA to spend their evening at this location. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor rooms close to the lobby for quick access to the hotel shuttle which convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had never worked one of these packages in reverse before so were a little concerned that everything would go right. We shouldn't have been. Arriving about 4 PM, we went to the reception desk and were given a form to fill out and a decal for the car. The car is parked outside in the back area of the hotel, but the lot is fenced. We then got right on a shuttle provided by the hotel for the airport. Everything worked perfectly. Shuttles on our return were picked up with only a short wait and when we arrived at the hotel, they seemed to be expecting us and there was no wait to check in and get our room. This being in spite of a rather large group that was holding a convention at the hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable and had just what we needed for a good night's sleep after a long day of travel. When we woke up the next morning, we had a paper at our door, our bill had been slipped under the door for check out, and we went down to their restaurant for breakfast. The breakfast was either a small a la carte menu or a buffet (possibly due to the group staying there) which worked fine for us. The food was delicious and the price was very reasonable. Our car was in great shape and luckily for us it had warmed up prior to our return - 9 inches of snow from several days earlier had melted away. We will definitely use this hotel as our park and fly option in the future. It's great that it works both ways - park fly stay or park stay fly. Thank you Holiday Inn for getting our vacation off to a good start and ending it on a good note!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stay at this hotel every couple of months when I work at Dulles. It is a very comfortable place when one works "on the road". The staff is welcoming and accommodating. The shuttle service and drivers are terrific. Nothing worse than arriving at the airport tired and having to wait a long time for a shuttle! Their's is so good, it arrives like clockwork with a short wait and no call to the hotel necessary. O'Malley's Pub is great. It has a varied menu which provides a lot of choices. The staff is both warm and professional. A great mix! Joni is so so good, she even remembers my name each time I arrive. I actually look forward to staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We got a discount from UA for this hotel because our flight was delayed so we figured we would try it out. It is 5 minutes from the Dulles airport and there was a free shuttle to and from the hotel. There was a big indoor pool which looked clean and there is hot tub. There was a sign in the washroom that said if you forgot toiletries you could ask the front desk for complimentary ones; we didn't have our luggage so asked for toothbrushes and toothpaste and there were no problems. There were lots of pillows on the beds but they all had small grey hairs on them. The alarm clock did not have a buzzer setting, only radio. The hotel restaurant was very good and great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

As a member of a flight crew, hotel staff often treat us for granted. Not here! The front desk staff has always been most courteous and accomodating. I have seen them going above and beyond for our arriving passengers as well.
The rooms are spacious and nicelly furnished, with all the expected furnishings. High speed internet with no issues. A nice restaurant/bar on site... not fast food, but you will get your money's worth with great service. Of course, free coffee in the morning.
The van service to Washington/Dulles (IAD) is on time and reliable. But if you are leaving at 6 AM, remember that the van doors will close and the wheels are turning at.... 6AM!
A good stay at IAD.

Room Tip: No traffic noise issues. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molokai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed a week at this hotel on business and did not sleep well a single night. From the first moments of the morning until late into the evening, the events in their meeting rooms kept me awake. These were typical meeting room events--speakers with presentations. Unfortunately, the sound insulation is SO poor that I could hear literally every word in every presentation in my room. Laundry service was slow. Restaurants mediocre. And on that topic: Once you are at this hotel, without a car you are stuck. There are no other places to eat within walking distance. The hotel is typical of a Holiday Inn in terms of facilities. And it was clean and the staff friendly. Those things are not enough to make up for the poor sleep quality.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the conference rooms as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDulles, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear wandering_bob231,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that your experience wasn't what you expected. I am sure it was very frustrating to not get a good night's rest during your stay. I have shared your comments with our management staff, so we can address the noise issues, as well as, the food quality. We do offer a nightly shuttle from the hotel to the local shopping mall and restaurants from 6pm-10pm. We have found that our guest's enjoy this service. I hope you will give us another chance, please consider staying with us if your travels bring you back to the Dulles area.

Heather Williams
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Address: 45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Washington’s best hotels, the Holiday Inn Washington Dulles International Airport provides lodging accommodations in Northern Virginia near Washington Dulles International Airport and 25 miles from Washington D.C. Holiday Inn Dulles Airport is convenient to Dulles 28 Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport Hotel Dulles
Holiday Inn Dulles
Dulles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.