We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Business Hotel near Dulles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Dulles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Typical Business Hotel near Dulles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived late at night to the hotel which is definitely not easy to find. Parking was extremely limited. After checking in you have to walk about a mile to your room. The room was a basic mid level business room. Nothing was special and the hangers were plastic, and attached like a cheap hotel instead of Holiday Inn. The bathroom was small with tiny amenities and worn towels. The front desk staff were very friendly and the lobby area was nicely laid out. The bed was fairly comfortable considering the class of the hotel. Also, the air conditioning barely blew leaving the room stuffy for summer. This was more like an Express property than a full service Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Book close to parking or the lobby so you do not have to walk a mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Pensando42,

I'm sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper regarding the worn towels in the room and the lack of amenities provided. She will be re-training her staff on proper room inspections so this does not happen again. Our Chief Engineer does routine maintenance on the AC units, he will be doing a thorough check of all of the rooms to make sure everything is running properly. The issues that you encountered are not typical of our property. I hope that you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to the Washington DC area. I would love the opportunity to make your next stay perfect!

Thank you,
Zarar Ahmed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    37
    19
    12
See reviews for
32
35
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First let me start by saying that since hubbie and I were only staying one night before an early morning flight, I'm pretty sure they gave us the worst room they had, even though it was a Tuesday night and the place wasn't full.
On the positive side, the room was clean (except for a ladybug which didn't matter), and was a good size. The beds were comfortable and there were a good variety of eating establishments nearby.
Now on to the bad: we could only use our phones and tablet next to the window. The rest of the room didn't pick up the signal. There was only one bath towel for two people, so we had to request that. The hot water handle on the bathroom sink came off in hubbie's hand, and there were only 2 outlets available to charge electronics. Hubbie had to charge phone in the bathroom, which is never a good idea. The lack of outlets in itself and inability to pick up the phone signal were bad enough without the other issues.
Bottom line, we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Summerluv0417,

Thank you for your feedback, I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I have given your comments to our Executive Housekeeper, so that she is aware that there were not enough towels in your room upon check in. I have also brought the cell phone reception issues to our Chief Engineer. He will be doing research to see how this issue can be fixed. We are currently in the process of adding more outlets to the rooms, since we know that many guests have numerous devices that need to be charged. We are hoping to have this issue resolved very soon. I hope that you will consider staying with us again if your travels ever bring you back to the Washington DC Metro area. I would love the opportunity to make your stay perfect!

Thank you,
Zarar Ahmed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our group did a softball tournament and rented 15 rooms for a week. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were very clean, beds were extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows.We also had about 5 or 6 fastptich softball teams at the hotel (another 50-60 rooms), girls that were aged 15-18 and their families. The hotel set up one of their ballrooms with a breakfast buffet for all of us. The best part that it was ready to eat by 5:30 am, which was important when you have to be out on a field by 6:30. It was very appreciated. We had access to meeting rooms whenever we needed them. It was also extremely helpful to us to have a restaurant on the premises. O'Malley's Pub had great food and the waitstaff was excellent. I can't say enough nice things about this full service hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are only 2 floors, any room seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: We found recycling bins available in all rooms. They also have the water saver faucets but the shower was plenty strong.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Clean hotel close to the hotel & with a free shuttle every 30mins very handy.
Based in a retail park type area, plenty of easy food places nearby and a Walmart around the back. Very handy if you're delayed/on a transfer at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had an extended stay at this hotel and found it to be excellent. The hotel staff was so nice and helpful. The lady working in the gift shop was just delightful. The General Manager took the time to check on guests, which is something I admired greatly! I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It is a great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was catered by the hotel and was a little sketchy but other than that, all the staff was very hospitable. The rooms were nice and clean, no complaints! The restaurant was a little pricey, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would recommend this hotel as a stopover for airport or before onward travel. We found the staff very friendly & welcoming. We arrived early and they had our room ready for us so we could check in and go sightseeing. They have a courtesy bus service to airport which is frequent. At Dulles airport stop 2e you can get a 5A bus into the centre of Washington. Get off at LeFont plaza and a short walk from there to Smithsonian Museums, monuments & White House. Would use hotel again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Address: 45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Washington’s best hotels, the Holiday Inn Washington Dulles International Airport provides lodging accommodations in Northern Virginia near Washington Dulles International Airport and 25 miles from Washington D.C. Holiday Inn Dulles Airport is convenient to Dulles 28 Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport Hotel Dulles
Holiday Inn Dulles
Dulles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.