We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap if you book early” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheap if you book early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of a road trip, the advanced price we got was cheaper than local "budget hotels". Hotel was very clean with the advantage of a pool. We went for a swim and joined an aqua aerobics lesson which was interesting. The jacuzzi wasnt working and was a horrible colour but everything else was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Nickyboy77,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our guests.

We are glad to hear you were able to get a great rate with our advanced purchase rates online on our website. They can really help our guests save more on their room than through other online sites. We are glad you enjoyed to pool and hope that the whirlpool spa being out of order didn’t cause you too much inconvenience. That should be fixed very soon.

We are looking forward to another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    83
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
37
36
34
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

Great value when I stayed. Very close to the airport. Bar was very expensive... $7+ per pint

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Hi magicdad,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay at the hotel. We are very happy that you felt you received a great value and that our location near the airport was convenient for you. You are right that $7 is expensive for a pint but you may have received a “tall” which is what we call our larger glasses.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for an inexpensive "stay and park" prior to an early flight out of Dulles and thought this hotel would suffice. For the price, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, comfortable and up to date. There is a great sports bar O'Malleys where we all cheered for the Giants on numerous televisions. The shuttle to the airport runs every half hour. Great find!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear liliVirginia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel! We love to hear from our guests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great Park and Fly package. It’s great to also hear that you enjoyed your Giants’ Victory, it was quite a game!

We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I booked this hotel using my priorty points for the frist night of my stay in america it was so much better than the average airport hotel the room was clean quiet and huge although a little way from the airport and the lady on the desk was so nice that it put me in a very positive mood about the country the bar and resturant were also much better than average

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear alan252,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you were comfortable and that our staff was able to make you feel welcomed. We really hope that you enjoy your time in the US and that we get a chance to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nothing special about this one. Did have a hot tub but it was not very hot. In my room there was a tub mat pealing up and a very black ring of junk under and around it. There was also an outlet falling off the walls. Not something I expect from Holiday inn. Service was lacking. One morning despite the do not disturb sign on my door about 8:30 or 9 am someone knocked but before I could reach the door inserted a key, the lock I had across stopped the door and the person took off promptly so I could not see who it was. I have never had that problem before and I travel often. Back entry #2 where my room was does have keyed entry however the door has to pushed hard to lock it so every time I came to go outside it was open. Basically its more for looks of security that it is secure. Bottom line I am use to much better from holiday inn. It was clean enough for a night but I would not want to stay there on vacation or for any other reason. I think this must be a franchised property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hello Roll-About,

Thank you very much for providing some very insightful and detailed feedback about your stay. We take all of our guests’ comments very seriously so we can always improve.

We apologize for the experience that you had at our hotel and we would like to assure you that your experience is certainly not typical and is definitely below our standards. The issue you experienced with the housekeeper will be addressed immediately. We will also be sure to have the engineers fix the temperature in the hot tub and address the issue with the door. During the month’s where the temperature fluctuates so much all doors will experience a little expanding or contrasting in the frame and door itself which can sometime make them stick open or closed.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can do it right and provide the best experience possible.
Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed one week here. The staff was very friendly, we called ahead of time to let them know we'd be checking in late since our flight landed at 11pm.

However, when we checked in, the first room they gave us still had someone's dirty laundry in it on the luggage rack. They immediately gave us another room, but we lost our upgrade because of availability.

The restaurant is decent pub style food. The salads are actually good, so I'm not sure if they've changed them since previous reviews or if they were having an off day before. Some of their other items are priced and described as more "gourmet" than they really are. I would stick to burgers and easy stuff instead of trying their supposed Irish entrees.

The breakfast is your standard Holiday Inn breakfast, nothing spectacular. The waitress didn't seem to understand that we wanted the menu and not the buffet, though.

The rooms are comfortable and our second room was very clean.

The insulation is better than other hotels we've stayed in, so we were both able to get a good night's rest each night we stayed.

I had an issue with smelling the chlorine from the pool all the way into the hall and the restaurant, but I was also 8 weeks pregnant when we stayed and it might have just been my oversensitive nose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear jlnotary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and provide us with some very helpful feedback. We love hearing from our guests and do everything we can to correct any issues they have experienced.

The team is very happy to hear that you felt welcomed during your stay. We are sorry that the room you first went to wasn’t ready; we are addressing the issue with housekeeping and the front desk teams. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pub! We have been working very hard to improve the entire experience of the pub recently and we are glad to hear that our guests are noticing the difference.

We are glad to hear that you also got a great night’s sleep as that is the most important part of staying at a hotel. We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times using their Park & Fly service. I am a Priority Club Member so I was happy to get an upgraded room, which was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was average to poor. There are no options for Gluten Free meals, even the salad was questionable. I had Fish & Chips which tasted old. We needed the 6 a.m. shuttle service to Dulles Airport for our flight, and were bumped for a flight crew. They did bring another van about 10 minutes later. They are doing construction so many parking places were taken with construction vehicles. The area where they told us to park was on the opposite side of the building from our room, and there were no spaces available. It was a hassle to deal with and I worried about my car being towed my entire trip. This is a very convenient location, but I think I will stay elsewhere until the construction is completed. And I will never eat at O'Malley's again.

Room Tip: Parking is a hassle due to construction vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Vacation-Loca,

Please let me start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. As a repeat Priority Club guest, your opinion is extremely important to us, so thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

At O’Malley’s we pride ourselves on having an environment of “great food” and “fun times,” so we assure you that we will share your feedback directly with the pub manager and director of food and beverage. We only serve fresh food in all our food outlets, so if something didn’t taste fresh, we will get rid of it immediately. Also, thank you for the feedback about our lack of gluten-free items; that is great information for us to have. We will most definitely look into providing some gluten-free options on our menu.

Regarding your shuttle ride, I apologize you were bumped off the 6 AM shuttle; we will address our shuttle service at peak times so that don’t have to bump any guests that are on time constraints. And about your parked car specifically, though parking may have been inconvenient, we assure you that a guest’s car is never in any risk of being towed while on our lot. We deeply regret that you were concerned about that. I know how unsettling that must have felt while you traveled. While there isn’t any construction at the hotel we apologize for the temporary inconvenience of the utility contractor trucks that are in our parking lot.

We hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are flying out of Dulles so we can show you that we are truly dedicated to providing the best experience possible for our guests.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport

Address: 45425 Holiday Drive, 1000 Sully Road, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Washington’s best hotels, the Holiday Inn Washington Dulles International Airport provides lodging accommodations in Northern Virginia near Washington Dulles International Airport and 25 miles from Washington D.C. Holiday Inn Dulles Airport is convenient to Dulles 28 Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport Hotel Dulles
Holiday Inn Dulles
Dulles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.