We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loacation, Looks Good, but Needs a Lot of Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Denver
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Great Loacation, Looks Good, but Needs a Lot of Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, looks great, but nothing worked right during our stay…mostly the thermostat in our room was broken and the room temperature was maybe 65 degrees. Also the hotel is under renovation making it difficult to navigate and decreasing the quality of the services we received during our stay. The breakfast was good but served in a makeshift restaurant in a conference room and the restaurant staff was quite controlling which had the same feeling as eating at my mother-in-law’s home. Lastly, to make a long cold night worse someone set the alarm clock at 6:00 AM so we did not even get a full night sleep. Basically, this hotel is so close and convenient to the airport that both the room and staff just felt old and worn out!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    144
    88
    38
    20
See reviews for
62
72
31
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Slept so well here, didn't even roll over in 8 hours. Bed was very comfy. TV was huge. It was nice to be back in the USA after our trip abroad! We did the stay 1 night park 2 weeks package (stayed at the end of our stay, no problem.) It was really close to the airport, and their pick up and drop off for us was smooth around 2 and 3 am even though their shuttle wasn't officially running (we just called and they came for us.)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a night's stopover in Washington. The entire experience was great. Right from the pickup at the airport to a warm welcome in the hotel. The room I got had an excellent lake view and the staff was very very helpful. They even helped me make the most of my time by arranging a trip to the nearby Aviation Museum. The staff was very courteous and made all efforts to make my stay memorable. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Washington.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here the night before a 6 am flight. We booked a concierge room as we probably wouldn't be having a big dinner and usually the concierge room has "heavy" hors d'oeuvres. At first we given a room that was in another wing of the hotel and to get to the concierge room (very small for the size of the hotel) we had to take the elevator down, walk across the main floor, past the restaurant, lobby and front desk then take another elevator to the 2nd floor, a good 8 minute walk. We asked to be moved closer as I was recovering from surgery - this was done but with a bit of an attitude.
With a concierge room you are supposed to get bathrobes (there was only one) and better amenities - however we got the same ones we had in a Courtyard a few weeks before. We had the feeling that the "concierge" rooms are the same as regular ones and they just give you access to the lounge - not worth the difference in price unless you need the room for a meeting.
There is free WiFi in the lobby but you have to pay for it in the rooms.
Even though we have stayed at many Marriott Hotels this is the first time I have had such bad bed linens. The bed itself was fine, but the sheets on the bed were so small that they didn't even tuck in. We had to move to the other double bed in the middle of the night as the sheets had pulled completely out of the top and bottom of the bed. The 2nd bed was the same, but at least we had a couple of hours before those eventually pulled out.
We would not stay here again as it was much more expensive than other hotels just outside of the airport and the advantage of the location is not worth the price. We also were not made to feel very welcome, this is definitely a hotel that acts more like a revolving door than a place of hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here overnight after arriving from the UK, as we didn't want to pick the hire car up until the morning, and it suited our needs perfectly.
The free shuttle bus from the terminal runs every 10-15 minutes and it is only a short journey to the hotel. The hotel is large with nearly 400 rooms, it seems bigger because it is only 3 storeys high, so covers a lot of area.
We got a nice corner room on the third floor - very well appointed and very clean. It was quite a trek to the concierge lounge, but once there the lounge was very nice - it served a nice pasta meal in the evening and a very nice breakfast in the morning.
We got a good nights sleep in the great Marriott bed, and weren't bothered by aircraft noise at all.
If I have any niggles, they are that the indoor pool was COLD! and that there isn't much else around the hotel - the latter is completely unsurprising, given its proximity to the airport. I understand that they do offer a comp shuttle to nearby shopping facilities, but we were only the the one night, so didn't take them up on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton,nv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We spent 2 weeks driving the east coast. Rented a car from Dulles airport and returned it to Enterprise the night before flying home. Got a shuttle that took us right to the hotel. And a shuttle from the hotel took us right to the airport-it was very easy and relaxing after a lot of driving. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Wonderful restful place to stay. Nice little lagoon to relax by. Only problem,some very noisy people in the halls late at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I booked this hotel because it offered a shuttle from Dulles Airport and the price was very reasonable. ($99/night for 3 people with breakfast in the restaurant included). Our stay was very good. The rooms were clean. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. The pool was a big hit with my 11 and 22 year olds.--The only complaint I have is the location. The hotel is not within walking distance to anything. We were on a trip to visit our son who is in the Army stationed at Ft. Meyer (40 mins away). The nearest shopping or food or ANY attraction is at least 10 miles away. DC is a 45 minute ride on the freeway. He had a car so we were able to do things but it would be very difficult and expensive to have to take a cab literally EVERYWHERE except the airport. So it would be beneficial to add the cost of a rental car to your budget if you plan to stay in the area more than overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.