We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with "Concierge" room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't bother with "Concierge" room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here the night before a 6 am flight. We booked a concierge room as we probably wouldn't be having a big dinner and usually the concierge room has "heavy" hors d'oeuvres. At first we given a room that was in another wing of the hotel and to get to the concierge room (very small for the size of the hotel) we had to take the elevator down, walk across the main floor, past the restaurant, lobby and front desk then take another elevator to the 2nd floor, a good 8 minute walk. We asked to be moved closer as I was recovering from surgery - this was done but with a bit of an attitude.
With a concierge room you are supposed to get bathrobes (there was only one) and better amenities - however we got the same ones we had in a Courtyard a few weeks before. We had the feeling that the "concierge" rooms are the same as regular ones and they just give you access to the lounge - not worth the difference in price unless you need the room for a meeting.
There is free WiFi in the lobby but you have to pay for it in the rooms.
Even though we have stayed at many Marriott Hotels this is the first time I have had such bad bed linens. The bed itself was fine, but the sheets on the bed were so small that they didn't even tuck in. We had to move to the other double bed in the middle of the night as the sheets had pulled completely out of the top and bottom of the bed. The 2nd bed was the same, but at least we had a couple of hours before those eventually pulled out.
We would not stay here again as it was much more expensive than other hotels just outside of the airport and the advantage of the location is not worth the price. We also were not made to feel very welcome, this is definitely a hotel that acts more like a revolving door than a place of hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    138
    84
    34
    17
See reviews for
59
68
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here overnight after arriving from the UK, as we didn't want to pick the hire car up until the morning, and it suited our needs perfectly.
The free shuttle bus from the terminal runs every 10-15 minutes and it is only a short journey to the hotel. The hotel is large with nearly 400 rooms, it seems bigger because it is only 3 storeys high, so covers a lot of area.
We got a nice corner room on the third floor - very well appointed and very clean. It was quite a trek to the concierge lounge, but once there the lounge was very nice - it served a nice pasta meal in the evening and a very nice breakfast in the morning.
We got a good nights sleep in the great Marriott bed, and weren't bothered by aircraft noise at all.
If I have any niggles, they are that the indoor pool was COLD! and that there isn't much else around the hotel - the latter is completely unsurprising, given its proximity to the airport. I understand that they do offer a comp shuttle to nearby shopping facilities, but we were only the the one night, so didn't take them up on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton,nv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We spent 2 weeks driving the east coast. Rented a car from Dulles airport and returned it to Enterprise the night before flying home. Got a shuttle that took us right to the hotel. And a shuttle from the hotel took us right to the airport-it was very easy and relaxing after a lot of driving. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Wonderful restful place to stay. Nice little lagoon to relax by. Only problem,some very noisy people in the halls late at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I booked this hotel because it offered a shuttle from Dulles Airport and the price was very reasonable. ($99/night for 3 people with breakfast in the restaurant included). Our stay was very good. The rooms were clean. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. The pool was a big hit with my 11 and 22 year olds.--The only complaint I have is the location. The hotel is not within walking distance to anything. We were on a trip to visit our son who is in the Army stationed at Ft. Meyer (40 mins away). The nearest shopping or food or ANY attraction is at least 10 miles away. DC is a 45 minute ride on the freeway. He had a car so we were able to do things but it would be very difficult and expensive to have to take a cab literally EVERYWHERE except the airport. So it would be beneficial to add the cost of a rental car to your budget if you plan to stay in the area more than overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was thoroughly disappointed with this hotel.

It was a 10 or 15 minute walk to my room, the cielings were extremely low, the only plus was that was it cheaper than the other hotels....

I would stay away

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had about 12 hours to unpack luggage from a three-week stint at a summer college program, do laundry, repack, get dinner, get some sleep, and get my kid on a plane to another college program, and all this after driving 8 hours (the last 1.5 on 270 and the Belway--yuck). Among many different hotels close to Dulles Airport, I had chosen the Dulles Airport Marriott because we had stayed there last Thanksgiving in the course of picking up friends from the airport, and it had an easy and peaceful air. We booked two rooms this time. Summertime can be not so easy and peaceful as Thanksgivng at this hotel, I discovered. Lots of families with kids on a Saturday afternoon and so many people sitting near the front desk complaining into their cell phones that it felt like a combination of day camp and disaster headquarters . Getting our voluminous luggage in from car to room was a bit chaotic (the desk clerk did it for us when he got back from delivering someone else's--there did not seem to be a bell captain or staff). I was impressed to see the shuttle bus driver jump out to help him (in order to expedite the moving of my car from the roundabout I imagine) as the luggage cart became overloaded. Our rooms were quite a shlep from the front desk, it turned out, and after all the luggage was in our rooms, I had to go back and stand in line again and ask a clerk if there was perhaps a place to park the car by an exit nearer our rooms so that we would not have to make the long trek back to the car with all our luggage the next morning. There was, but I wish someone had given me the pertinent information during my first go-round at the front desk. I returned to my room, read the hotel guide, found no mention of the coin laundry the existence of which I had relied on when I booked the rooms, and called the front desk to ask where it was. The clerk told me (the other side of the hotel from my room) but somehow failed to mention that the washer was broken. This I found out only after I had carried the laundry across the hotel to the appointed location. So again I stood on line at the front desk. The clerk said he knew the washer was broken and offered to make a call to the engineer to see what time it might be fixed. (This was the same person who had carried my luggage to my room--he was wearing a lot of hats and with lots of grace). But when he then turned and asked the other desk clerk if the engineer in fact had been notified about the washer at all, I started to imagine myself on the Dulles toll road at midnight looking for a local laundromat, so I asked him if the hotel laundry could, as an exception, wash a load of laundry so that we could pack and,long story short, he ARRANGED FOR IT and saved the evening for us. So, on the basis of his action and the bus driver's cooperative spirit, I give staff top marks. Also top marks should go to the computer/printer set-up located just off the front lobby to allow for the printing of boarding passes. It would be great if the front desk could provide guests with maps not just of the hotel parking lot set-up but also the route to and, more important, BACK FROM the airport.
The rooms were fine, clean, no fridge (I probably could have asked for one), an okay bathroom, nice beds, and a serviceable coffee maker. Warmest water I could get in shower was tepid. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby and restaurant only. After my early morning airport drop-off, I was able to return to the hotel before check-out and get an hour's swim in the very nice peaceful indoor pool (there is also an outdoor pool) and de-stress before returning home (for more laundry and unpacking)!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here the night before our early flight to Cancun, with our children, and it was great! Very close to the airport and the shuttle service was great! I did my research online prior to booking & the one thing that definitely sold us was their good reviews for their shuttle service. We really didn't want to worry about waiting around w/2 young children, and we only had to wait about 10-15 minutes. We did eat dinner there, which wasn't too over priced, the food was good and the service was good as well. Would definitely stay there again if catching a flight out of Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.