We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would die before returning!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Fresno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would die before returning!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Hear ye! If you are the type of traveler which does not mind paying an atrocious amount of money for a second rate hotel and extremely poor customer service then HERE'S YOUR SIGN!

To begin, the hotel is badly in need of rennovation, the room no bigger than my closet and by all means if you do stay here do not ask the staff to go above and beyond, it is beyond their understanding and capability.

If given the option to stay at this particular hotel again, I would choose homelessness. In fact, my experience was so bad I plan on ruling out choosing a Marriott at any location again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    123
    76
    31
    13
See reviews for
50
61
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma_Calif
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We arrived in the early morning after a redeye. And like another reviewer was given a non smoking room on the ground floor that reeked of smoke. We were then given room 3410 which was fine until we took a nap between 11:30 - 4 pm to recover from the jet lag,etc. There was an intermittent screeching sound like a heater trying to start every 30 minutes. My husband was able to sleep and tune it out but since I was closer to the sound, I rested but could not exactly sleep. At shower time, I realized the noise came from beyond the bathroom walls, perhaps from the water starting. The bathroom was clean, but trying to figure out how to turn on the water and the right temperature for the shower was a feat in itself. I went to get the robe in the closet- soft, clean, but strange no belt! I was glad to find the snack shop downstairs. i'm glad I didn't order any food at the restaurant after reading the reviews after we arrived home. We typically love the Marriott but this experience would be categorized as a bit strange.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

We had a very early flight from IAD, and decided to stay at this hotel to maximize our sleep the night before. The park and fly option was about $120 including tax. For that price, you get the room and up to 2 weeks parking. The money you save on parking can just about pay for the hotel (or maybe more than pay for the hotel....). The hotel is on the airport property. They run a shuttle every 15 minutes. We found the shuttle to be very prompt. It takes about 2 minutes to get from the hotel to the airport. The hotel was clean, the room was nice, and the check in was easy and friendly. There was plenty of parking available. I would definitely do this again and use the same hotel. (NOTE: There is another Mariott hotel in Herndon, but not on the airport property - we met some people who booked the wrong one by mistake -- if you are doing the park n fly and want to be at the hotel located on Dulles Airport, make sure you get the right one).

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

This hotel is literally at the airport - was very convenient for a late night arrival and picking up a rental car the next morning. The hotel was clean and very well-appointed. The beds were dreamy! The only two small disadvantages were difficulty understanding the international staff over the phone when asking for direction and in person at the desk AND the shuttle from the airport was difficult to catch- did not pass by every 15 minutes as promised - but may have been an isolated incident. We got a great price on this hotel through priceline and were very satisfied with our stay- a lovely hotel and good value.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms in a convenient location
  • Disliked — Not a destination hotel, but great stop over.
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead about meeting the hotel shuttle.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

We stayed here on Christmas day for a Park and Fly. The lobby was festively decorated. Our room was fine. The staff were nice considering they were working the holiday. We also received a free pay per view movie; we chose Madagascar which is now a favorite. Nice Bath & Body toiletries. Only comment was the lobby dining area smelled smoky even in the non-smoking area. Shuttle was on time. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

Boring, standard hotel. Had to move from my first non-smoking room as it stank of smoke. My second room was comfortable and fairly spacious. Room service dinner was adequate. Ridiculously expensive for the quality.

Location is great, though - shuttles every fifteen minutes to the airport, and it's only a five minute journey, although most other local hotels have shuttles too.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

I arrived late from another US city, stayed one night and departed early the next morning. Given the comfort of my room I was sorry I could not stay longer. The furnishings and other facilities were first class ( I have an impression of a major recent makeover), and the only minor gripe was the distance which I had to wheel my suitcase from reception. The van pickup from the airport and back to it the next morning was friendly and efficeint. The price was very competitive for the convenience and level of comfort involved - perhaps I got an especially good rate as my stay was on a Saturday night. As hotel airports go, this is one of the best I have stayed in. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Marriott Dulles
Dulles Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.